We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ocean Front Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Punahoa Beach Apartments
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Covina, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ocean Front Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We used VRBO in our search for a rental and found this wonderful place. Rented unit 403 in April 2013. It was our first visit to Maui and our lodging didn't disappoint us. The ocean views are beautiful! The unit is perfect for two people. My husband and I were very comfortable. I can see why the units book easily. The neighborhood is nice and there are plenty of eateries and shops to visit. There are also beautiful beaches nearby. The manager was very helpful and would give us great tips on sites to visit. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We enjoyed 2 very happy, peaceful weeks staying in a studio apartment at the Punahoa. The apartment was equipped with everything we needed. We were very comfortable, the apartment was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. The apartment had a 2-ring burner cooktop and a microwave-convection oven. The communal bbq on the main floor was nearly always available and kept very clean, except on one occasion. We loved the perfect, unobstructed ocean views from the lanai, the living room and the Murphy bed. I miss going to sleep and waking up to the sounds of the ocean! No street noise from the S Kihei Road, We appreciated that the Punahoa is a peaceful place, where all guests and owners are very respectful of other guests, and no one is disturbed by others' noise. Most fortunately, it was just one evening during our stay, guests in an apartment just below us had invited friends over who obviously very excited by the lovely views. They were too noisy and excited for us to read quietly on our lanai or to enjoy a quiet supper watching the sunset. Thankfully, this was a once-off occurrence. That said, the Punahoa, being a peaceful place, is very well suited to singles and couples. It does not have the activities and amenities, like swimming pool, tennis courts etc that would appeal to children and teens. The staff at Punahoa are all lovely: so friendly, kind and accommodating, and take pride in maintaining an excellent standard and very pleasant atmosphere at the building. Like other reviewers, one is reluctant to write how lovely a spot this is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amigadelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairbanks, alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

I hesitate to even write this review for fear of this complex becoming even more popular than it already is. This is my husband and my 3rd year staying at Punahoa. There are about 14 condos in the building, which is right on the ocean. It is located on a short side road, eliminating the noise from South Kihei Rd. We can spend hours on our quiet lanai enjoying the sound of the ocean, snorkel right in front of the condo, or walk a block or 2 to our favorite coffee shop. There is no pool, but with the ocean right there, this is not a problem for us. The steps down to the beach might be difficult for those with accessibility issues. The new manager, Holly, is very friendly and helpful. We are already hoping and planning to return next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank greenwoods50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

We found this place via VRBO and got an amazing deal! We were in town for a wedding s needed to be in Kihei and this place did not disappoint! Penthouse with air conditioning, massive terrace, lovely views, granite in the kitchen... A great week in paradise that was close to everything. Parking can be a bit tight, but never had an issue parking our Jeep. Would definitely recommend this place...snorkeled with turtles just off the beach, beatiful sunsets and palms swaying in the breeze...

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank PhilipFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Loved our unit top floor 403, huge balcony, beautiful sunsets and great views. Apartment was well presented, had everything we needed, stayed 2 weeks. Loved being able to get up and walk straight out into the water and snorkel with the turtles and beautiful fish. We would be back for sure.

Room Tip: Our room didn't have an aircon but we didn't need it, we were glad we picked the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WendyH883L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very nice place. Our unit (#201 I think) was full of useful things (cooler, ice packs, beach chairs, beach towels, condiment, etc). There is a very nice common area patio with a beautiful view where we ended-up dining every night with the sunset in front of us. We had originally planned to go to restaurants more often but with such a view ... cooking was not a problem. You have access to a BBQ.

Although the cleaning crew had forgotten stuff in our room (nothing gross ... just mops, soap etc) and the beds were not made (the sheets were clean but not on the beds); they compensated us for this human mistake so it ended-up really not being a problem.

Terry the GM is very nice and like I said before, very comprehensive.

Great location and next to a huge park and a public beach where beginners (like us) could take surfing lessons (probably the best spot on the island to learn surfing)

I recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Kihei is a good central location and has nice beaches. The Punahoa is on a quiet street and the property is well maintained. There is a very nice common area patio with a beautiful view and the beach just outside your door is really pretty. Wear swim shoes and watch for rocks. The condo we stayed in was 201 and it's really nice.

Room Tip: No a/c in 201
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaGOklahomaCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.6 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#2 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Mauian
Royal Mauian
#40 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shores of Maui
Shores of Maui
#45 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#27 of 62 in Kihei
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kamaole Nalu Resort
Kamaole Nalu Resort
#51 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
2.5 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#19 of 62 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punahoa Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punahoa Beach Apartments

Property: Punahoa Beach Apartments
Address: 2142 Iliili Rd, Off S. Kihei Rd., 100 yards from Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-8733
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Punahoa Beach Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Punahoa Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punahoa Beach Apartments Hotel Kihei
Punahoa Beach Apartments Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing