We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Nona Lani Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nona Lani Cottages
Ranked #14 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my second time staying at the Nona Lani Cottages, recently and 20 years ago. The grounds are beautiful, the people friendly and gracious. The cottages are a throwback to simpler days and are very nice. I love this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Aloha Peggy,

We so appreciate the time you took to review our property. We loved reading that the cottages allowed you to experience beauty, grace and friendliness. That is a real compliment!

It is so nice to know people take the time to "unwind" when they vacation. Though doing tourist sights and activities are great, one of the real beauties of Nona Lani Cottages is that it is peaceful, accessible to a great walking, swimming, and sunset viewing beach, and simply relaxing.

We are so thankful for guests who come back over and over again. We look forward to another of your returns in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 171 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

First of all, it was quiet and you could hear the ocean at night. You felt like you were out in the country with the birds singing as we had breakfast and coffee on the deck.
Along with a great location and the ocean across the street what more could you ask.
Yes, and the staff was excellent.

Room Tip: Our cottage was in the back and really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JiJi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Aloha JiJi,

Mahalo for taking the time to post a review for Nona Lani Cottages. I too love listening to the birds while sitting in the lush grounds at Nona Lani Cottages. It is very relaxing. We also thank you for the response about our great staff. They are so very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

What a great stay! Such a great price, a steal really for your own little paradise! Just a quick few steps across the road to the beach, outdoor shower to wash the sand out from between your toes, and clean cottages equipped with everything you need! Will definitely be back! Slept so well each night, even with the cottages right near the road (beach view) the road noise does not keep you awake at night, all you hear is ocean waves :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha Shannon,

Mahalo nui loa for taking the time to post your thoughts about Nona Lani Cottages. We are so glad you found our accommodations a great value. Besides giving great service, our other aim is to provide great value to our guests.

So nice to hear you enjoyed Kong's Cove Beach. Great news is that by this Fall, we will have a web cam set up and then you can see "your little piece of heaven" while you are at home. We look forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I was not able to make the trip to Maui this time with my daughters, they called me and told me they were in Kihei and asked if I would look for a place for them to stay (05/18/2013) I searched around and found Nona's site on Yelp. I called spoke to Catherine to find out availability and found that she had something for the girls and would give them a reduced rate!!

My daughter Meghan contacted me, said that the place was beautiful and the owner was awesome, the owner said that she was going to help my daughter to make a lei to put in the ocean for her Dad, we lost him 2yrs ago our last trip to Hawaii he took us to Oahu for a week he passed away 4 months later. I cried when Meghan told me that the owner would do this for her (us), it means so much to us that Meghan is able to honor her father this way, he loved the Islands and took us back every year while he was alive.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart, I know that when all of us are able to go as a family we will be staying at Nona's.

Sincerely,
Elizabeth Malley and Family

Room Tip: Not a bad cottage on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth_94509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Aloha Elizabeth Malley & Family,

We are so grateful for your Trip Advisor review. We most especially want to say thank you for letting us help in the celebrating of your loved ones life. It is a personal moment, and though with mixed emotions of joy and tears, your daughters allowed my mother to be a small part of it. As humans, we all have the same wants (to be recognized, appreciated and treasured by others, even if a stranger) and needs.

My mother, the owner, is the person your daughters met. She too lost her husband David Sr. about 2 years ago (Nov. 2011). Your special occasion reminded her of the blessing her business is and gives and creates more joy to share. It is a wonderful legacy of the business she & my father built together.

And we are so glad we had an opening in one of our suites that we could offer you a special rate. We usually do for persons arriving that same day.

We look forward to hearing from you in the near future. If you bring your whole family along, we can have a luau or at least a BBQ together!

I want to wish you and your family "Mahalo & Aloha" from the David & Winona Kong Family.

Sincerely,

Cherlyn Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We loved our stay at these cottages. We are not luxury type people. We love simple, friendly, feels like home places and this fit the bill beautifully. The owner, Nona and her family are welcoming and helpful. The other guests were friendly and we got great travel tips from some who stay here regularly. We loved making our own breakfast and enjoying it on the deck. Great to walk the beach in the morning. We never turned on the A/C as the night breezes cooled off the cottage and we were able to hear the waves at night and the birds in the morning. There is a fair amount of traffic on the road during the day but it quiets down at night. We were close to Kihei which made shopping and food purchase easy. We had to go to a lovely alcove bynthemoffice to get free wifi, but that meant we met more people. The gardens are spectacular. We wish we had had more time to enjoy this wonderful place. We will be back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank su-etravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Aloha Su-etravel48,

We so enjoyed reading your review of wanting a simple and friendly home atmosphere and found it in Nona Lani Cottages!

Yes we do agree that our mother Nona, is so very welcoming, helpful & kind, along with all the other staff and vendors that make Nona Lani Cottages a wonderful place to vacation at. They keep the grounds beautiful, the buildings in tact and cleaning of units in tip top shape and our office staff and everyone else does a great job of welcoming our guests and keeping them happy. All of this makes Nona Lani Cottages the very special and unique property and experience a "local" one.

We are happy to hear you met some new folks, & our return guests (we call them "our groupies") as they also make Nona Lani Cottages a place to feel like you are home, having fun & enjoying your day. I mentioned in a previous response that one of the things that makes traveling a great experience is to meet other travelers, as well as the locals and their foods.

The cottages and grounds offer so much for those who want to wander, as well as having Kong's Cove Beach to enjoy especially at sunset. Glad you were comfortable at our guest waiting area that offers free wi-fi. We decided that having an outdoor "waiting room" surrounded by plants and seating was a nicer touch and other guests have complimented on this as well.

We are grateful that we have done our job well enough that you plan on returning to Nona Lani Cottages. Hopefully that will be in the very near future!

Sincerely,
Cherlyn Kong, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the cottages during our honeymoon last August. (We have been meaning to write a review for some time. In fact, this is my first review EVER!) Originally, we were going to stay here 2 nights "on the cheap" to save up for a more luxurious stay the remaining nights. However, we soon decided to stay here the entire time. The place is not luxurious, but it makes up for luxury by warmth and authentic hawaiian experience. The family who owns the property couldn't have been more welcoming, and the flower and fruit trees on the grounds were simply amazing. We really didn't need to buy any fruit the entire time. We grilled out and ate breadfruit (first try for that!), papaya, figs, grapefruit, passionfruit, mulberries, limes, bananas... We had fruit with our breakfast every morning and watched the birds from the front porch. We got a kick out of the francolins -they hurl their fat bodies straight up to reach the low hanging fruit and make the strangest noises in the morning! At night, we walked the grounds and marveled at the geckos, anoles, and HUGE toads lurking in the garden ponds. In the morning, we were able to walk right across the street to the ocean beach. It gets quite windy later in the day, so if we weren't able to get out and about until later, we would swing on the hammocks (multiple on the grounds) in the afternoon. Oh, and we are from Seattle (sushi snobs) and LOVED the sushi place within walking distance, too. If we ever go back to Maui, and I hope we do, then this will be our first stop. It will always hold a special place in our hearts.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back garden area are a bit more intimate. I believe we had cottage 8, but I'm not e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Aloha Laura,

It is never too late to write a review! And on top of that, we are so lucky that you are still thinking about your stay at the Nona Lani Cottages almost a year later!

We are so grateful to have guests like you that enjoy the "luxury of nature that we have here at Nona Lani Cottage grounds. They are a wonderful spot to lazy around in, aren't they? Oh, and about the fruits... you are one of the lucky ones who were here when many of our fruits are in season. Yum!

Well the added good news regarding the grounds... By the end of this year, we will have our new vegetable & fruit garden available at our Home & Garden shop! This is primarily for our guests to shop at for fruits, vegetables, baked goods & misc. Hopefully our laying hens (located out at the back end of the 2+acre property) will be producing like clockwork and add to our items for sale. :) We think this little shop will be a wonderful addition for our guests so they can buy local goods that are organic as well as not get into their car to pick up items for a meal!

We hope that you will return for an anniversary trip to Nona Lani Cottages in the near future and will create many more happy memories like the ones you are carrying with you now! We so appreciate you sharing your very special time of your honeymoon with us!

Sincerely,
Cherlyn Kong, Mgr.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Recently found a last minute stay between travel reservations at the Nona Lani Cottages.
Selection of cottages in nice grassy well spaced property in the South Kihei region. Just across the road from the beach and north of the congestion of Kihei itself. Lovely cottages in well maintained property run by a family. Very relaxed and friendly feel. Avoid the rooms in the main building, whilst large and comfortable, the cottages are a nicer touch

Room Tip: Stay in the cottages, some are back a little from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathangalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherlyn K, Manager at Nona Lani Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Aloha Jonathan,

Mahalo for taking the time to do a review of Nona Lani Cottages. We see that you have done some traveling and love the ocean and so we are glad you "happened" upon Nona Lani Cottages which is close to a lovely beach, we've named Kong's Cove.

We do like that you enjoyed the cottages (as you got to see the Suites). While both the Cottages and Suites offer something different for everyone the cottages are a much nicer touch (as you say) as they are like little houses near the beach.

However, our Suites do offer a large & comfortable stay with a price point difference appealing to larger families traveling with a bit more folks (like grandparents) that cannot fit into the cottage.
(Just so as not to confuse our readers, we do not advertise our 3 Suites on our website because each of them is different and they are very popular with our return guests).

We do wish you great travels and again, we do appreciate your time to let others know of your experience with Nona Lani Cottages on beautiful Maui!

Sincerely,
Cherlyn Kong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
3.4 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,174 reviews
4.0 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
4.7 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 61 in Kihei
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui,
4.7 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
4.2 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#15 of 61 in Kihei
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nona Lani Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nona Lani Cottages

Address: 455 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $194 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nona Lani Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nona Lani Cottages has been here since Kihei's growth in the 1970s, yet has always remained genuine to its aloha spirit. We've been providing guests with the true Hawaiian experience ever since -- laid-back, low-key, and relaxing. We're the perfect romantic getaway from everyday life. You'll have your own authentic plantation-style cottage to enjoy your vacation. By day, you can soak up the Hawaiian sun in our hammocks or journey to the beach for an adventure and surf lessons. At night, you can grill out and enjoy your meal by our gazebo as you reflect on the excitement of the earlier day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nona Lani Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nona Lani Cottages Hotel Kihei
Nona Lani Cottages Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing