We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MAUI Vacation”
Review of Menehune Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Menehune Shores
Ranked #21 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“MAUI Vacation”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We are staying in unit 510 and it is wonderful, well appointed and beautiful view. The only complaint would be the beds are VERY firm. The condo property has a rooftop area for cooking and eating or sunbathing. The view goes on forever. It is conveniently located to the airport and shopping. There is a Indian restaurant downstairs I don't know about it, i have not eaten there but it does smell really good. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    54
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
80
41
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Yuck. Unit itself was ok, views were great. Property is located in a very sketchy area of town on unusable ocean front and can be terribly windy. Low end feel. Parking spaces are undersized. The pool is a joke for such a big building. Strong smell of curry from ground floor restaurant. Resist the cheaper price and book in South Maui instead.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowySunsets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed in unit 409. It had all the amenities including pantry basics and laundry and dish detergent for the in suite washer/dryer and dishwasher. The building is a little dated but our suite was updated very nicely and it faces the ocean so we get to see the sunset/sunrise daily. The price was reasonable. The building and grass was kept in excellent shape and it had a pool as well as a beach area with volcano rocks to shelter some of the waves on the beach. One of the building manager Jeff was very kind to let me use his phone as I needed to contact the owner for the password for internet. Overall, we would love to come back and stay in the same suite.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Campbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is our 6th trip to Maui and have stayed in the Kaanapali and Kihie areas. We shared a Condo with friends and found the Menehune Shores very pleasant. This is an older but well maintained property. Units are average sized and not air conditioned. But the breezes are all that is required to keep the unit cool. We were in unit 505 and it is well provisioned with everything you need for your stay. The location is very central and parking is usually no problem. We found the both renters owners to be very friendly which is not always the case with condos. Views of sunsets are great and the grounds are well maintained. The prices are reasonable for an older building. Will definitley stay again!

Room Tip: All rooms will provide a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retired200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent our first Christmas away and stayed in #423, a 2 bdr/2bath unit on the 4th floor at this complex in N. Kihei. Our booking was made through Menehune Reservations and K.H. was fantastic to deal with. Rates for the peak season were reasonable and full payment wasn't due until 30 days before, unlike many of the other rentals offered through VRBO.
Although our unit was very dated, the building is immaculate and the staff and service was great. The rooftop grills were kept spotless and the pool area and grounds were lovely. We had west views of the sunsets and listened to the crashing surf each night. This Kihei beach area is not the greatest but we had a car and visited different beaches each day.
There is no A/C in most of the units but there was a wonderful cross breeze when the windows were open and each room had a ceiling fan. My complaints about this unit is that almost everything is 20 years old. The mattresses sag, draperies are on their last leg, the sheets and towels are ancient and shredding and the kitchen supplies were the bare minimum, most seemed like garage sale items but all appliances worked.
This area is very quiet and away from the shops and busy parts of south Kihei. The pool is in the shade for part of the day at this time of year. The Indian restaurant on site has delicious food but is very pricey for what you get. We would definitely stay here again but I would make sure to book a newly renovated unit.

Room Tip: Choose a newly renovated unit. West (sunset) side has the higher numbers but there are great views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbum2635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotchkiss, Colorado
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

I booked our condo about 9 months in advance. I had been corresponding with management about paying on 2 condos (coming in on different days), and they were exceptional ! We had access to the roof for bbqing and watching the sunsets. There is a pool, shuffleboard, and bbq's on the ground as well. It is beachfront and if you have young kids there is a "fishpond" out front kind of separated from the ocean which is perfect for young ones. The one thing we didn't have was air conditioning, which I was a bit worried about, but there were plenty of ceiling fans, lanai and kitchen windows to circulate the air. You can check out the actual rooms at menehunereservations.com. Also, if you are wanting to rent a vehicle reserve it EARLY. We were in Kihei on the busiest weekend of the year and people were waiting on vehicles. I will absolutely book with Menehune again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We rented a 3 bedroom 2 bath condo on the fifth floor of this ocean front condo building. Menehune Shores #527. The unit was recently completely renovated and gorgeous! We watched Maui sunsets nightly either from our condo or the rooftop picnic area. There was a pool and easy beach access. This was a perfect place for our family of 5 to relax. Ali'i resorts is the company we used to rent our unit.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliekmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.1 mi away
Koa Lagoon
Koa Lagoon
#17 of 62 in Kihei
135 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kauhale Makai, Village by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Kihei Bay Surf
Kihei Bay Surf
#25 of 62 in Kihei
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Kihei Kai Oceanfront Condos
1.1 mi away
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
Aloha Aku Inn & Suites
#27 of 62 in Kihei
23 reviews
1.5 mi away
Maalaea Surf Resort
Maalaea Surf Resort
#24 of 62 in Kihei
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menehune Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menehune Shores

Property: Menehune Shores
Address: 760 S Kihei Rd, PO Box 1327, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7515
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Menehune Shores 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Vacatia and HRS so you can book your Menehune Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menehune Shores Hotel Kihei
Menehune Shores Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing