We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried and True”
Review of Menehune Shores

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Menehune Shores
Ranked #17 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I have stayed at Menehune Shores many times and will be returning later this month. It's a great location for day tripping. It's a fantastic waterfront location for the price. It's not a great beach but the views are amazing.

Parking if free but the spaces are not reserved, so if you arrive back late at night you won't get a prime spot. There are 2 elevators, one for each "wing" and a nice rooftop sunbathing and BBQ area, which is also a great location to watch the sun set.

I have always found the units to be clean and functional, not luxury, but nice enough. The large lanais are great for morning coffee and dinner al fresco.

I always book through Menehune Reservations and was sad to hear about the passing of their reservations agent Sam this spring. And after a few minor hiccups with his replacement, I have booked my 2 bed/2bath condo for my mother and sisters for a girls getaway. Looking forward to being lulled to sleep again by the sound of the waves.

I love this place for it's price, consistency and location.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AUTSFDTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 212 reviews

Reviewed August 31, 2011

Some of the rooms in the complex are by the pool, some by the highway. This room is right by the ocean so the soothing sound of waves can be heard all day and night which help put us to sleep. The room is on the 2nd floor making it easily accessible by the stairs which was nice since the elevators in the complex can be a bit slow at times. Lots of gear in the room placed by owners including snorkels, body boards and beach chairs. Will be back. Room kept in great condition and very spacious.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
3  Thank genble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Great place to stay, older but well maintained. Careful which unit you rent, all are individually owned. Some are right by a very busy road with traffic of all kinds very late into the night and early morning. Units at the ends are very noisy. So if you value peace and quiet find a inner unit away from the road. The owner of unit 501 that we rented for two weeks fails to disclose this information in anyway. She suggested we use ear plugs. close the windows and turn up the ac. We moved to another unit with no refund at all.

Room Tip: Talk to onsite management about which unit will suit you best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nica-Guapo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I love these condos. Could they maintain them a little better? Yes! BUT the public areas are pretty nice and they are working on making everything even better (ei. New kitchens in some condos) We stay here because it is right on the ocean (pretty much every condo has an ocean view), and its in the middle of everything.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bobbi81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We have stayed at Menehune Shores for 4 vacations now, in February during the mainland schools' midwinter break. The first year we stayed in unit 114, which was convenient as it was on the ground floor, but the year after that it wasn't available so we changed to 314 and have stayed in that one ever since. Overall the condo is in very good shape. Occasionally we will leave a note for the management that we noticed such-and-such needs fixing, and either during that visit or by the next time we go, it's been fixed and is fine, so they seem very responsive to requests. We are going in July of 2012 so it'll be interesting to see how we fare since there is no AC in this unit. It's always been fine if we open both the laiai and front doors to get a nice cross-breeze (gust, gale, whatever) going through. Occasionally we will look for items in the kitchen and find they are no longer there; the owners of this unit say that often, groups of friends staying there but in different units have "moveable parties" and stuff gets mixed between units, kind of a hazard of rental condo living, I suppose. All of the appliances work reliably; we really like that there's a washer and dryer in the unit. Having a pool there is nice; we do most of our swimming at the beach (snorkeling) in the mornings, and other activities in the afternoons. We swim in the condo pool in the evenings just before it closes, just as a little relaxer before TV or whatever. It's great for that, and at that time of day there's hardly anyone in it and usually no kids. The worst thing I say about MS is not about unit 314 itself, but that two of the years when we stayed there, there were extremely noisy large parties staying in units above or below or next to us, who were rowdy and very loud until really late at night. Not a lot to be done about that; we just always hope for considerate neighbors! We foresee coming back here for as long as we are able to, and hopefully to unit 314. It's right in the center of the building, so it has a great view for whalewatching. If we don't want to drive down to one of the other snorkeling beaches, we can go around the rock wall to the strip of beach next to the condos and swim there. There is a project to refurbish the rock walls on the old King's Pond right in front of the condos, on alternate Saturdays in the morning, rebuilding the little breakwater from damage caused by time and heavy surf. It's great to see, every year when we go back, how much progress has been made since the previous year. We will greatly miss Sam Wilson, who has managed the rentals for many years, but look forward to meeting the new manager(s) when we return next.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MamacitaSu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Menehune Shores in Kihei the week of June 12 - 19, 2011. The weather was great with a constant breeze which was welcomed. Lots of sunshine and no rain. Our unit did not have AC , which at first we were concerned about, but with a screen on the front door and a screen on the sliding door we could keep them both open and the ocean breeze would just pass through. There were also ceiling fans in the living room and bedroom so that helped to keep the condo cool. The beaches on either side of the condo are great for walking, which we did each morning. The open waters were a bit cloudy and not to active with swimmers, but very active with paddlers and sail boats going by. There is a small sandy beach area right at the condos which was great for little ones. Many people staying there with small children seemed to use that beach and play in the waters.
You cannot beat the mornings and evenings on the lanai. It was so wonderful being right on the ocean. You can sit for hours just listening to the waves, watching and listening to the birds and sitting watching activity on the water.
The Menehune Shores is an older building that is kept up very well. The grounds are extremely well maintained and many of the condos have been updated. We noticed that if we left any food out on the counters that very tiny bugs would appear, but that seems to go with warm climate areas, so we just made sure that we never left any food out and that solved the issue. We had a washer and dryer in our unit and that was great. We didn't have to bring a whole lot of clothes. You don't need much in the way of clothing in Maui!
The one bedroom units have the bedroom on the backside of the building, not ocean side, which was a bit of a let down for us, but wouldn't stop us from going back there. It just would have been nice to wake up and see the ocean or have your bedroom window open at night and listen to the waves. The price was right for the one bedroom, so that helped us to get over not having the bedroom on the ocean side!
There is an East Indian Restaurant on site at the Menehune Shores Condos. We did not go to the restaurant so cannot comment on it, but it did have patrons for lunch and dinner every night, so it must be good.
Menehune Shores is located at the north end of Kihei and not within easy walking distance of anything. You definitely need a car to get around, although we did see a transit bus every now and then and I do believe that they are trying to improve the bus system on the Island. Car rentals are inexpensive, compared to other parts of the world that we have visited and there are lots of rental agencies to choose from. The roads, for the most part, are great, but be aware that there are some drives that turn into one lane windy roads that can be quite nerve wrecking if you are not expecting it.
Menehune Shores has a fenced off pool area, which is not huge but more than adequate as most people seem to go to a beach or on outings for the day, so we never found the pool area to be overcrowded when we did use it. BBQs are set up on the ground level overlooking the beach and also on a roof top deck area, which is huge and has fantastic views to look at while you are waiting for your dinner. Picnic tables are also available if you want to eat outside. However, we enjoyed every meal on our lanai as the views from there were so fantastic.
We had free internet in our unit and there is free parking for all staying at the condos - although during the high season I believe you can only get one parking stall, probably would not be a problem in the low season as there seemed to be an abundance of parking spots available when we were there.
We were surprised at how spread out everything is on Maui and the amount of driving required to get from place to place. The beaches are unbelievable. Big Beach was wonderful for jumping waves/body surfing, boogey boarding and just relaxing. Next to Big Beach is Little Beach which is clothing optional, so that was interesting! Black Rock in Kaanapali is great for snorkelling and when we were there the sea turtles came in and swam with us - nothing can compare with that! The town of Paia is a little surfing town with funky shops and restaurants and has a great surfing/kiteboarding beach at Hookipa Beach Park, with lots of parking available (fun to watch the surfers). Keep your eyes open for the turtles bobbing up and down in the waters with the surfers!
The road to the Haleakala Crater is long and windy, but what a sight at 10,000 feet up! Takes your breath away (literally!) Great hiking trails also on the way up to the Crater. Watch out for the bikes coming down as a fast pace, as you drive up. You can get a drive to the top of the crater and then ride a bike all of the way down - looked like fun. Bring a jacket or sweater as it does get cold when you are up that high.
Costco is close to the airport with great food and booze prices, if you plan to make your own meals. There is also a Safeway and two other major grocery stores in Kihei so shopping for food is easy with lots of selection.
Lahaina is a fabulous fishing town with great art stores. Fun to just walk from one end to the other and poke around all of the shops. Wailea is a gorgeous area with an upscale shopping mall.
There is much to do in Maui, if you don't mind driving around. Kihei has some wonderful beaches and seems quite laid back. Everyone was so friendly and we talked with many locals when we went for our morning walks on the beaches located on either side of the Menehune Shores.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank waterlogged23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

I have stayed at Menehune Shores various times, in different units. We always return because of the 3 bedroom, ocean front, great value for your money condos. Back bedrooms can be noisy from the street outside. This time, I stayed in unit # 414, a 3 bedroom with my 2 sisters and our 85 year old mom. Menehune Shores is a great spot for someone like my mother.....there is an elevator and once inside the condo, everything is on one floor. The sunsets from 414 were awesome as this unit is right in the middle of the "U" shaped building so the sunset views are great. Sunsets from the buildings rooftop are panoramic and incredible. A nice touch is the blowing of the conch shells at sunset from the rooftop patio. I only noticed the curry odors from the Indian cafe a couple of times but if you don't like the smell of curry and if your unit is close to the cafe, book elsewhere.
UNFORTUNATELY..there was a full construction renovation occurring in the condo RIGHT next door to ours so 5 days a week, we had noise. LOTS of noise. There was no apology or reduction in rent for this inconvenience. I know owners have to renovate but some of us save long and hard for our holiday time, only to have it ruined by construction noises coming from next door.
Also, unit 414 has its perks, like a huge flat screen tv in the living room, but we found the unit in general to need a good cleaning and updating. The dust accumulated under the single chair in the living room was indicitive of how long it had been between thorough cleanings. The mattress covers were thread-bare.The pillows all had stains on them. The dining room chairs, on wheels, were extremely dangerous for my elderly mother to get in and out of: once, she almost tipped out onto the living room floor. There were extra foam pads placed on one of the queen beds, so clearly, a new mattress was needed.
Although we appreciated all the beach chairs, boogie boards and beach umbrellas available to us, all this stuff took up an entire closet so there was little room for our clothes and luggage.
IF unit 414 did a good cleaning, replaced their kitchen chairs/thin mattress pads etc, I might consider staying here again. As long as there was no major construction next door. You still can't beat the sunsets from this unit. And you still have to drive to get to a good swimming beach. It is hard to find a 3 bedroom for the price of that at Menehune Shores so we keep coming back. Shame on all/any rental units who neglect to tell future renters about possible construction noise that may affect their stay. (We walked by the Whalers in Kaanapali to see that building wrapped in scaffollding and undergoing construction. I wondered how many renters were told about THAT when they booked.) Had we known about the construction at Menehune # 412 we likely would have found a more expensive, but quieter, place to stay.

Room Tip: ASK QUESTIONS, lots of them, before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank carolann1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
2.8 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,180 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#3 of 60 in Kihei
540 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sugar Beach Resort
Sugar Beach Resort
#4 of 60 in Kihei
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.6 mi away
Nona Lani Cottages
Nona Lani Cottages
#18 of 60 in Kihei
173 reviews
3.4 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menehune Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menehune Shores

Address: 760 S Kihei Rd, PO Box 1327, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7515
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $264 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Menehune Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Menehune Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menehune Shores Hotel Kihei
Menehune Shores Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing