We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Kihei”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our honeymoon from July 5 to 12. We booked directly through Coast and got a good rate (with one night for free) into a standard room (we told them it was our honeymoon when booking) and got upgraded to a one bedroom suite.

The suite was really nice - completely renovated - and had a wet bar and mini fridge in the living room area. The living had a flat screen TV as well as the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and the air conditioning worked great in both the bedroom and the living room. The patio was a bit small, but had two chairs and a table on it - we could see the ocean when looking over one side of the patio, but it generally wasn't an ocean view.

The service at the front desk was great - they were friendly and helpful. There is a $15 per day resort fee (they mention this when you book), which covers things like the gym, the pool, the beach towels, parking, a shuttle (within 3 miles of the resort), etc. There are three computers in the lobby that you can use for free (good for checking e-mails and printing off flight confirmations), but you have to pay for Wifi in the room ($10 per day).

The pool area is really nice and has two hot tubs and a kiddie pool area attached to the main pool. There were a lot of lounge chairs and umbrellas whenever we went to the pool, but this was July so there might be more of an issue with this during the winter months. There is a pool bar that has happy hour from 3 pm - 6 pm everyday and live music from 6 pm to 9 pm every night.

There is a restaurant, Spices, on the property. We did not eat there after reading the reviews and only saw a few people in there on any given night.

This hotel is well-located in Kihei, with the Kamaole I beach just across the street. The property isn't beach front, but it's a less than 5 minute walk to the beach. There are restaurants and shops within 5 - 10 minute walk in both directions. Kihei has a Southern California beach town feel to it, but it's definitely not the same resort vibe as Wailea or Kaanapali, but it's nice for the budget conscious traveler. All the major attractions on the Island are easily accessible from this location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mr_and_mrs_a_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,698 - 1,704 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2010

This review is of a stay almost a year ago. Nevertheless, my wife and I feel that this hotel deserves a nod.

I spent hours searching for an affordable, safe and comfortable hotel near Wailea. The Maui Coast offered a room and car deal that suited us.

I wouldn't say we had low expectations, but we realized we weren't going to be staying in a Wailea resort either. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every respect: the room was large, clean and modern and the location was just a few minutes drive to Wailea. My wife was so pleased that she even took photos of the room. It was like we were staying in a 4-star hotel at a 3-star price.

Service was friendly but, after all, it was to be expected since we were in Hawaii.

The hotel has a laundry room, which came in handy. We were running around the island so much, that we didn't have a chance to dine at the hotel. But with all of the choices on offer on the island, for us there was no reason to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkk_kd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We got a vacation package direct from the hotel website that include the room, rental car, and daily breakfast. It was a pretty good deal, considering Maui is a more expensive island to stay on. We would have liked a room with a king size bed since we were there for our anniversary but all that was left was double beds. The view from most of the rooms is unimpressive! The staff was just okay. They forgot to give me my breakfast vouchers so I had to ask and it was as if they didnt want to give them to me. The hotel and pool were very nice. We had a nice waitress at the poolside bar. Short walk to a great Kihei beach. Hands down the best sunsets I've ever seen happen on Maui! I'd stay there again because the property was nice..but I might look elsewhere for more charming staff.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hardinmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Nice rooms, modernised and clean, and good service. We had a small problem with our first suite, and there was zero fuss about changing rooms (and in fact we got upgraded to a superior suite). I would recommend the Coast as a good place to stay.
Restaurant is average, but there are plenty of other options in the neighbourhood.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smudgeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We were only going to be in Kihei for a few days and didn't want to bother with a condo, so we looked for a hotel. This really exceeded our expectations. Great location, very good value, comfortable and contemporary rooms.

We arrived early, way before check in time started, but called to see if a room was available for early check in and it was. We got to the hotel and instantly noticed the nice landscaping and well-maintained grounds. Parking was easy - anywhere you like! Front desk reception was instant and we were off to our room. The room felt nice and recently updated. There was a nice big flat screen TV, wifi, super comfortable bed, mini fridge, and microwave. The only minor downside to our room was that the bathroom was a little small and made for getting ready at the same time not possible.

The pool area is nice and there is a little bar there for our mai tai fix. The hotel is in a very convenient location across from Kamaole I beach. PLUS, there's an ABC Store just across the street! We never ate at the onsite restaurant, Spices, because there are so many great local restaurants in Kihei.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryan120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I recently stayed here for two nights on a business related trip. I also stayed here about 4 years ago or so. "Budget traveller" conjures up images of people who will forgo many ammenities and ignore the negatives b/c they know they are getting a good deal for thie money. However, it's almost unfair to use the word "budget" in the title of this review because for a nice and NON-chain resort hotel, they do it pretty well!

Perhaps on the "negative" -- It's not ON a beach (across from Kamaole Beach I), the parking lot is pretty darn tight, the bathroom is pretty tight, the closet is small....but if you're the kind of traveller that isn't looking to stay in your hotel room (which its not bad, just maybe smallish) and you will be out exploring the Island all day and need to save money, consider this place.

The staff were all very friendly, check-in always goes smoothly. The main entrance is even set up with an open-air style Hawaiian hotel lobby. Furnishings and flooring make you feel like you are in one of the pricier Wailea resorts as you first arrive. They even have laundry facilities on site.

The pool is decent, nice people at the bar attached, too. They have bands for happy hour. You are not a long walk to other shopping, restaurants, etc. in the tourist-y Kihei area (but I still like it here for deals).

Bottom-line: I would recommend for 5 nights or less. Anything more, I would get cramped sharing hotel room with someone or kids. That's when I prefer condos on Maui to a hotel stay (more than 5 nights) as to me that becomes a better deal but it's hard to beat the deal you can have here and not feel cheated. But that's me, plenty of people stay here longer and enjoy it, considering what you're getting for the price (AND not getting nickeled and dimed like other resort hotels).

Other notes:

-I'm "bed picky" -- had a King and it was awesome -- very comfortable place to put your head every night (great, soft bed, nice pillows, clean bedding)
- small fridge, small microwave, coffee pot, desk, little couch and coffee table, dresser, small closet, very small bathroom with the one i had
-No real views to get excited about -- view of parking lot on North side, view of greener grounds on the other (backside of other condos)
-Clean and looks updated (decent carpet, clean, updated furniture)
-UPdated flat panel TV
-Quiet enough

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlipperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2010

As a hotel, it's pretty good. The rooms are nice, with comfy beds, big HD TV, and nice bathrooms. The parking is easy and the resort fee ($15) is pretty reasonable. The gym is really nice, free business center/internet access, the pool is only OK (it's kind of small and it's essentially in the parking lot).

The only problem is the location. It's not on the beach and Kihei itself is like a trashy Southern California beach town complete with overpriced chain restaurants and strip malls. If that's your thing, it's a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4,330 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
2,654 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort - Marriott, Maui
21 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
20.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $267 - $1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing