We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice room and facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
522 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Nice room and facilities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed here on a family vacation and got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite. The room was large, clean, and well equipped. In addition the facilities are nice as we used the hotel pool and they have two hot tubs next to the pool. We also took advantage of the pool side bar, which was hugely convenient. The hotel is well located, with many restaurants within one mile, and the beach is a 100 yard walk across the street. The hotel is not what I would consider a 5 star resort, but we were very happy with our stay and would most definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    748
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
452
1,085
79
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a fantastic time here. All of the staff went above and beyond to be friendly and helpful. From catching local buses to finding restaurants. The hotel was very clean and beach and pool towels were given freely. Also a good location to access restaurants and some of the best beaches especially big beach but also close to big hotels in Wailea if that is what you want.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have some good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a good time at this hotel despite the discrepancy of rates between hotels.com and this hotel. I booked this hotel using hotels.com for a speicific rate and apparently there was an additional $18/day resort fee that was not disclosed to us by hotels.com. The rooms allocated to us were also not what we had requested (we got a king bed as opposed to two queen) . Regardless of that we enjoyed our stay here. Nice facility with Pool, Gym, Bicycles and also a tennis court all included with the resort fee. We took advantage of all these for the 4 nights we were here for. Really close to the awesome beaches (Kam I, II, III) and tons of restaurants in the area. Parking spots are a bit tight (we drove a mini-van). Pool is very nice. Hotel decor is also decent.

Overall very good hotel with clean facility.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AshishH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in early January 2014. Our room was very spacious and tastefully appointed. There are enough parking spaces near the rooms, which is very convenient if you have a rental car. Beaches are nice and a short walk from the hotel. Elevators are annoyingly slow but that's a small complaint. The property is nicely laid out and well kept. There is an ABC store 3 mins walk away on the next block to the left when exiting the Hotel, wich is also convenient. We didn't particularly enjoy the 'ahi 'ahi Restaurant, but that's personal taste. The only real complaint is the resort fee (which we knew about when booking), we wish this would be factored into the room rate (we are happy to pay the 17 USD but we feel it's hiding a part of the cost of the stay).

Room Tip: Sea-side not much better than landside as (at least on the 4th floor where we were) you don't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Code2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We paid a little over $180 AUD per night to stay here (including all taxes and fees). I cannot find much to fault with this hotel. It's in the central Kihei district, with plenty of restaurants and shops nearby (Wailea is less than 5 minutes drive away) and service staff were extremely friendly and helpful (especially Edwin, who should be commended for his excellent service skills). The room itself was clean and more than spacious for two people. The beach is just across the road from the hotel and there's a nice pool/bar area with pool chairs if you just want to relax with a drink. Highly recommended if you're after a good hotel in a good location.

Room Tip: Ami Ami restaurant at the hotel does good breakfasts for a reasonable price, but dinner is pretty ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a junior suite on the 6th floor toward the back of the building. It was very quiet. The room was spacious and clean. The decor is clean and simple. There was a lot of room on the bathroom vanity which was great too. Kamaole I is right across from the hotel and is one of the best swimming and playing beaches in Maui, it is a large sandy beach with soft sand as far as you can walk out. There is no ocean view from most rooms, although it looked like Rooms 601 and 604 had views. There was a lanai'i but it isn't one you would want to spend time on since it overlooks the condos next to the hotel. The hotel is also really close, a five to ten minute walk to most of the main restaurant and shopping areas in Kihei.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Clean, spacious and comfortable rooms. Amazing grounds and amenities. Maui Coast provides bikes so you can cruise around town. They have the largest, most complete gym I've ever visited on any Kihei property. It kept us motivated to workout everyday during our week stay. Great pool for the kids, awesome happy hour and very warm hospitality from the entire staff. Great location to abc store, beach, shopping and restaurants. My wife will only go to Maui Coast now when we are visiting Kihei because of the great value and Aloha. We took a huge trip with all the Ohana. We had five different rooms everyone was happy. Looking forward to revisiting this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBigChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing