We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This hotel was in a great location, right across the street from the beach, close to many restaurants/shops and other beaches. The room was large, clean and comfortable... pillows were fantastic! The staff was always friendly and helpful, day or night. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acmiller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

998 - 1,004 of 2,184 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff was welcoming and accommodating. The room was spacious,clean and the bedding and pillows were superb.We enjoyed the pool, free bicycles,beach across the street and restaurants within walking distance.The laundry is on site and free, beach towels are provided along with pool towels.This hotel made Maui my favorite island!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueskiesNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This part of Maui is perfect if you want to get away from the touristy parts of the island. Maybe I'm naive about the island, but it seemed more local to me than the other areas with the huge hotel resorts.

The location is perfect. The hotel is right across the street from many beaches, there are beach shops nearby where you can rent chairs and umbrellas, there are food and drink stores within walking distance, and the high end resorts and beaches are only a ten minute drive away.

The hotel is really nice and clean, and they have a nice pool area with a bar and restaurant. There aren't very many lounge chairs, so get there early if you want to lay out. There are also happy hour specials and live music on some nights.

The room we had was a suite, and had a separate living space from the bedroom. There was a nice balcony off each room, but it looked into the parking lot.

Everyone was so friendly here, and the location was perfect. I would definitely tell my friends and family to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoysInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a great hotel for a family. We had the best vacation of our lives and can't wait to come back. The hotel far surpassed my expectations. The grounds are gorgeous and it is so relaxing.
The location and value of this hotel can't be beat. Laundry on site, everything within walking distance. Already planning a return trip and can't wait!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

When my wife and I booked our flight to Maui, we had a few hotel candidates in mind. We searched TripAdvisor and came across this hotel. We added this to our "to consider" list along with a few brand name hotels, especially because it had more positive reception than many Wailea hotels. I decided to phone our top three hotels, and Maui Coast had the best customer service, most Aloha spirit, and biggest bang for the buck. It's also centrally located and within walking/biking distance of an array of beaches, the ABC convenience store, and many of South Maui's best places to eat. So in March I booked 10 nights at the Maui Coast Hotel.

Fast forward to October 24, the day we escaped Snow-hio and came to paradise. When we arrived, we were promptly greeted by staff and had a pleasant check-in. Jeff, Edwin, and Kim did an excellent job. The room was very comfortable, and the lanai had a breathtaking view. The $17 per night resort fee was well worth it for the amenities that this hotel provides. We got complimentary bottled water every day, a safe to store our valuables, and free laundry (just pay 75 cents for detergent). Our two favorite amenities were the complimentary shuttle to anywhere in Kihei/Wailea and the bicycles. Mark and Gus are very hospitable drivers who really get to know guests and make the shuttle ride personalized. We were excited about being able to take out bicycles 3 hours at a time. Instead of 20-year-old Huffy bicycles, we rode great quality 21-speed bikes; some even had baskets if you wanted to take a few knickknacks. If you want to drive a car for a couple of days, there is a Dollar Rent-A-Car on-site open 7-3 every day.

The pool is really nice, too. There is a pool bar with reasonably priced food and drinks. Happy hour, which is between 3 and 6 PM, offers $5 specials on drinks such as Pina Coladas, Blue Hawaiians, and Chi Chis. They also have a few Hawaiian craft brews. Service was outstanding; we especially liked Steve and Shane.

I saw a few users complain about the elevators being slow. I know what slow elevators are, and Maui Coast certainly does not have slow elevators. Maybe you forgot to push the button!

If we come back to Maui, we're definitely staying here. We miss it already!

So end your search for Maui hotels and book the best deal on the island - the Maui Coast Hotel!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room with a partial ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billluc1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights while visiting Maui for the first time. Our room was great (junior with a king bed) and the staff was amazing. The location was great and just across from the beach. There is a convenience store a block away, and and surfing two block away. Our room was ready when we got there, and they let us use the amenities after we had checked out at noon since our flight wasn't until 9:30pm. There pool side restaurant is great, quit and their drinks are always poured with a heavy hand.

The only downfalls where that the bathroom was pretty small and the Ami Ami restaurant which is attached to the hotel. The food was over priced, bland and tiny potions. You can tell they are trying to be elegant, but it just isn't working for them.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We used the hotel for one night while we were waiting to get into our time share. The hotel staff was very friendly. We were greeted by everyone we met. Our room was quiet, well appointed, clean and had coffee pot, microwave and fridge. All is all, we were very satifsfied.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,284 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,633 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
21 mi away
The Westin Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $258 - $801 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing