We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Junor suite - peaceful, good location, clean...”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Junor suite - peaceful, good location, clean...”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We enojyed a junior suite. It was spacious, quiet, clean. The hotel was nicely located in Kihei, close to the beaches, restaurants/bars and local parks. Our room was a bit in the back, but parking is surrounding the hotel, which meant that we never used the main entrance. The atmosphere is low key, which was also reflected at the elevator service...one elevator was out already when we arrived and 5 nights later, it was still the same...that meant sometimes waiting a bit for the only elevator, but hey - you're on Maui, who cares??? There was a local feel to it which we liked very much. We relaxed a lot at the Makena beach - 20-min drive from the hotel...beautiful, very much local and spacious beach, the best at Maui.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,151
    760
    138
    39
    26
See reviews for
461
1,101
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Great location, across the street from the beach park. Great place to watch the sunsets. A lot of locals and travelers walking or running in the early AM or PM. Gym better than average. Didn't eat at the restaurant. Only downside was the room wasn't ready by 3 PM and Kihei Ave is dimly lit and very dark at night.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time to Maui and glad we chose the Kihei area and the Maui Coast! The hotel has a morning reception where they give you an overview of the island and excursions which was really helpful because we did not plan anything ahead of time. The concierge made all our reservations for our excursions and collected payment so we were prepaid.

Great location and loved the hot tub. The resort fee covers pool towels and bikes you can take down to the beach. Our room had a small fridge and we were given 2 bottled waters each day, which was a nice touch.

The only downfall is the air conditioner was really loud so bring your ear plugs!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffany000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed here before and enjoyed it so much we came again. Not much more to add to my first review. We were upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was great. Very spacious. Also very good customer service once again at the front desk and concierge. We rented from Dollar and had a problem with the reservation at the airport because we had a free driver that was not honored. At the Dollar desk at the hotel they straightened that out right away. Lastly the pool service was excellent. All of the bartenders and staff were great. Can't speak about them highly enough. When I return to Maui I will stay here once again for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel early October and enjoyed the excellent location for beach, restaurants and shops. The room was comfortable with a very comfy king bed. The pool and poolside service was great. The free shuttle service was vey convenient and the drivers friendly and helpful. We were only there for 4 nights and would definitely stay longer next time and spend much less time in Honolulu where everything is over commercial and busy. Maui is a much more relaxing experience and the locals are a lot more friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was good choice. I stayed at the Maui coast hotel for 3 nights in Oct, 2013. Generally I was satisfied with this hotel.

I chose this hotel considering value for price, location, room condition and reviews.
Hotel rate is reasonable, even though resort fee would be added when you check in. (but resort fee is mandatory all around Hawaii.)
Room was clean and cozy, but little smaller than I expected…but I loved balcony I can enjoy drink beers and wine every night. Especially hotel bed was so great! It was soft and comfortable. I still miss the bed.

It takes 30min. from Kahului airport and I can reach the Kamaole beach park(It was awesome!) by walk. You can enjoy beach with the picnic park. It’s really good to go anywhere – Lahaina 30min, Wailea and Makena only 10-15min.
Mostly I liked the laundry facility, I used it every day. Don’t worry about detergent. There are vending machines you can buy it.

If you get 1st ground room, please ask changing room at least 2nd floor. (Some rooms on 1st floor look like basement.)
If I visit Maui next time, I would like to stay here again.

Room Tip: -Avoid 1st floor ( Some rooms on 1st floor look like basement.) -prepare your own breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollyseo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for 8 nights with an 8 month infant. They were kind enough to upgrade us to a one bedroom suite, which had more than enough space for my husband and me. The bedroom comfortably fit our baby's playpen. The hotel room was cleaned every day, and even when we were walking around all day it seemed like it was constantly being cleaned.

The pool is nice, didn't seem too busy so had more than enough lounge chairs for everyone. The food at the bar beside the pool was great, and the servers were very friendly.

The location of this hotel is great too, right in the middle of everything - Wailea and Makena just a few minutes drive to the south, and Lahaina and Kaanapali a 30 minute drive away. When you're in Kihei, grab food from the Foodland, or any of the cute little restaurants around that area. Check out Cafe Kihei - we went four times in the week we were there - great breakfasts, large portions and friendly service. I am already craving their Papaya Delight!!

I have to agree with a previous reviewer's comment - be mindful of the $18 resort fee every day. While we did find the wireless in the rooms useful, as well as the bikes for rent and the access to laundry, it really did add up especially as we stayed there for more than a week.

Overall, great hotel and would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reexloves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
3,987 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
3,960 reviews
21.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing