We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Third Stay!”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Our Third Stay!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

The Coast is a nice little hotel right in the heart of Kihei. A great location close to restaurants and directly across the road from 3 (yes 3) wonderful beaches.
Our Junior Suite was spotless upon our arrival. The marble tile bathroom with a tub/shower combo was clean and had plenty of towels. The compact livingroom included a small refrigerator, sink, microwave, and small counter along with the couch, table and nice big cable TV. The bedroom, although small, had a dresser and big flat screen TV. The king bed was relatively comfortable, but hopefully they will replace the mattress before our next visit.
The concierge desk was a big help with activities and the woman there was fun to work with. The pool and bar area were clean and quiet.
Be aware of the $18 "resort fee." I have no problem with paying for my entertainment. However, I really dislike the era of add-ons. From airline tickets to rock concerts, to ballgames, and now hotels, nobody will give you the REAL cost of your purchase. Please guys! Just tell me how much it costs UPFRONT and I'll be happy to pay that amount. Just saying...
The Coast is a good hotel and a good value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ORTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    765
    138
    39
    27
See reviews for
465
1,106
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in a junior suite which was large in size and extremely clean. The bathrm was large with a deep tub. Microwave, wet bar, and small refrigerator. 2 bottled waters put in refrig every day. The hotel has a good location-easy walk to shops, restaurants, and the beach. The afternoon happy hour and live bands by the pool are a nice touch. The pool is smaller and not many lounge chairs but when in Maui I would rather go to the ocean. There are bikes available and towels at the front desk to use for the beach or ocean. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Wailea side, as the front desk referred to it, higher up have a glimpse of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great hotel with great resort amenities. Yes there is a 1$17.95 per day per guest resort fee but I thought it was well worth it. In the fee there is a shuttle service that will take you anywhere within 3 miles of the hotel. There is also the use of bicycles included in the fee. Probably the fastest Wi-Fi I have ever experienced anywhere. I was able to download a movie on my ipad pretty fast!. The list goes on. A souvenir store is there as well with all kinds of drinks, food, snacks, etc. I stayed in a Deluxe Suite which had everything I needed, a coffee machine, microwave, etc. If you need it, there are connecting rooms as well. Very quiet area. Shops, restaurants and beach are all within walking distance. Wailea is a 10 minute drive away. A 15 minute drive to/from the airport makes it very convenient. Friendly check-in and very smooth. Would I stay here again... Yes!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RDMWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Second time at this hotel, just as great this time around! Rooms are great, clean, nicely decorated. Pool was nice, not very many chairs though. Great location. Very friendly staff, check in was quick. Wifi wasn't very good, poor signal. We booked excursions through the hotel. Great location, close to a nice beach, restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen-Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed here on business for only one night. My travel plans unexpectedly changed at the last minute. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating! They allowed me to check back into my room and gave me a late check out also! Rudy, the hotel manager, was excellent in making my short stay great! I was especially thankful for the free shuttle to take me to the store. I will definitely come back here for vacation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_T331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We chose the hotel for its proximity to the Maui Diving center and beach. The location was also within walking distances of several reasonably good and diverse restaurants. However although we had a junior Suite with separate lounge the balcony was tiny and spoilt by the sound of a large air-conditioning outlet below us which also gave out fumes unless we kept the door shut. The staff appeared very bored and hardly smiled or said hello although we have no complaints about cleanliness or room cleaning.

The nightly music by the pool bar was fun but tired and the use of plastic cups for the drinks didn't help the lack of atmosphere on the hotel generally.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonAB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen tx
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton on my last trip to Maui. The Maui coastal room was just as nice, and 1/2 the price.
Pool was nice, great happy hour and nightly musician playing. Very convienent area, great bed, minimal noise. Over all great stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KellIe0414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,031 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#17 of 32 in Lahaina
3,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing