We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel...got married in Maui!”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here from April 5th to April 16th 2013. Arrived before check-in time & room was ready so that was great. Stayed in a junior suite, so had the 2 tvs, fridge, microwave etc. Found the staff to be generally accommodating & friendly but not as much as I had expected, from reading previous reviews. We got married in Maui on April 9th. The hotel were aware of same as I had been emailing them prior to arrival about restaurants etc - found it somewhat annoying that they placed us in a suite at the end of the hotel - nice long stroll in a full wedding dress down 3 stuffy corridors, edging past cleaners carts, to get to the lift to go down to meet the limo!!! Hotel gave us a bottle of champagne which was nice, but staff didn't really take any notice of us - going & coming from limo, passed staff but didn't hear as much as a congrats...
Found the poolside cafe (located across the driveway) to be mediocre - the food was just ok, and the drinks weren't top notch. Some staff were over-bearing (Shaun) whilst others were very nice (Darcy). It closes at 10pm sharp, and has music every night for 3 hrs - would have to say it was not very exciting for us, but seemed to be more appreciated by people 40+. Locals do come in, found some to be nice enough while I saw other hotel guests leave due to listening to obscenities. We went into Kihei town most evenings - Dog & Duck pub was fun(being irish!!), as was Three's.
The area suited us (even though we didn't rent a car) - were across from beach, few 100 metres to abc stores & some ok restaurants, but never walked into Kihei town (not a lover of walking - easily a mile or more). The shuttle came in handy almost every day.
Overall the hotel was nice, but in hindsight, we probably wanted more...

Room Tip: Ask for room nearer lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,148 of 2,174 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

At first I was disappointed with this hotel. Whilst we did pick it because of the price I began to think we should have paid a bit more and stayed somewhere else. The rooms are a good size but rather drab and not somewhere you want to hang out in for any length of time. We were in a room that overlooked the carpark which runs the length of the hotel and as you can see from the video I uploaded it can be noisy.

The pool area on the other hand is lovely, it is just a shame it is situated slightly away from the hotel so no rooms benefit from the view. The poolside cafe is superb and we had some excellent meals there.

Kihei isn't the most inspiring of towns and is largely a sprawling complex of supermarkets and the odd below average restaurant. We were disappointed there were few good restaurants within walking distance. None of the restaurants were on the waters edge so you couldn't dine with views of the sun setting over the sea.

I preferred Kahaina however Kihei definitely had a better beach, just across the road from the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avid_traveller33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Maui Coast Hotel! They do the little things really really well! They have bikes at the Hotel that are free to use and that is wonderful. Say you want to go to Nicks Fish Market Restaurant with your loved one and want to have a couple of cocktails without worrying about driving well The Maui Coast Hotel offers free Car service within the Kihei and Wailea areas.The staff is friendly and nice and always greets with a smile as they really treat you like you belong. They have a nice pool with a poolside cafe and bar thats outstanding! If you are looking for great quality for the money this is your Hotel! I highly suggest this hotel to anyone! We cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephenJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

For Canadians - this Coast is no longer part of the Coast chain effective April 1st (hence you can't collect Coast points).

Hotel is well located, only a 5 or so minute walk from convenience shops, gas, restaurants and other necessities. It is right across the road from Kamaole Beach I.

We had a standard king room for 5 days. Main part of room was spacious and bed was comfortable. Entryway with closet, small frig and bathroom are very small and even for two people, it was hard to move around in. Our room had a fan and AC, plus little deck to sit on. Generally seems to attract a mixed but quiet crowd.

Poolside restaurant had okay food and good service. Pool area was nice. Comp beach towels (good ones) daily. Comp bikes.

Not a criticism but two things to note: safe in closet opens backwards so is awkward to access (you basically have to step into the closet); bathroom amenities (soap, shampoo, etc.) are very fragrant and not in a good way (at least to me - too much lily or something).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaBiscuit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We were able to get back to the Maui Coast Hotel in December'12/January'13. Things are just as good but there are a few changes one might want to note:
1. There were 2 tennis courts: one is now covered with solar panels, as is an expansive area of the lobby roof. While I applaud the hotel's decision to become relatively energy independent, one court is gone.
2. In April we were notified that the hotel is NO LONGER a part of the "Coast Hotel" chain. That means if you earned chain reward points and haven't used them, the hotel won't honor them. Instead, they announced they would have some kind of arrangement with Hawai'ian Airlines and Alaska Airlines. You'll need to check into that but for those of us east of the continental divide, we rely primarily on United and Delta and no plans were announced to have any awards relationship with either airline. We were lucky that we had points for our most recent stay; that saved about $1000. As a result while we still consider the hotel to be a great choice, and they do have other packages (room/car), we may have to rethink our length of stay on future visits unless room rates are adjusted accordingly to offset the loss of the "points" program.
3. When we left, "Spices" had closed down and the hotel said it was renting the restaurant to "Café O'Lei", which is a well thought of restaurant just down the road, which was in the process of remodeling the space. The restaurant did take over the pool concession while we were there, and the product was distinctively better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We have been to Maui 3 times in the passed 3 years, for business and we always stay 3 days prier to our event at another hotel, we try something deferent every year and deferent part of the island. Maui Coast is across from the beach, but you can hear the waves, the hotel is clean and very nicely manicured, what we look for in any hotel, is that the rooms need to look and feel very clean, and Maui Coast had that, loved it and defiantly would stay there again, no questions asked, we even had a refrigerator and microwave, for the times we wanted to munch on something, the restaurant was very nice, I love all the greenery that is everywhere, makes it so private. The staff got us a room 3 hours before we were to be able to check in, no issues. My husband enjoyed the bed, compared to the one at the Ritz, it was like sleeping on a cloud, it was great

Room Tip: Large balcony, plenty of sun, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 53Ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to Maui and we made sure we went back to the Maui Coast Hotel....Clean, quiet, great location!! Just across the street from the beach! The only drawback is that you do not face the beach/ocean....But...it is quiet...the food is good, and the rooms are very very, nice. There is a pool if you don't want to swim in the ocean, and you can walk or take a short drive to lots of restaurants and stores.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is above the main floor so that you see more than just the shrubs planted next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,212 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,607 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
2.6 mi away
Residence Inn Maui Wailea
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $246 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splitty, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing