We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Kihei Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
New Westminster, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Kihei Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed here in a one bedroom suite for 10 days over Christmas 2012. I booked this in late December 2011 and due to a glitch on their website I got 7 of those nights for a steal. I have to give Coast Hotels head office a pat on the back as they stepped up and honored a rate that was an obvious mistake. This is a great little hotel (and not that little I suppose, 250 rooms and suites or so) but not a huge resort style hotel. Every inch of this property was spotless, the room was great and very quiet, extemely comfortable bed, nice pool area, we had breakfast out there several mornings and every staff member we came into contact with was fabulous. Top notch service Coast Hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MBH250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    748
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
452
1,085
79
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

The room was big and very clean. There was a microwave and a refrigerator where we found a fresh water bottle every day. The hotel is close to a nice beach, about 3 min walked. They have bicycles so you can take one any time you want and bike around Kihei. We enjoyed a beer in the jacuzzi downstairs every night when we came back to the hotel. There are enough parking places for everyone. We definitely will love to go back because we loved it!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cristina_rus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We just came back from our stay at the Maui Coast Hotel which began on Christmas Day (or night, by the time we made it in!) and ended on New Year's Eve. The junior suite room with two queen beds was bigger than any room we've ever had for our family of four. There is a refrigerator (which we took advantage of) and a microwave (which we did not take advantage of), plus a balcony for some fresh air. The entire hotel was very clean. There was very good Internet access for planning activities. Also, no road noise from outside allowed for quiet sleep times. The entire hotel staff was extremely friendly and attentive to our requests, especially housekeeping and the front desk. The hotel atmosphere was very laid-back and accommodating, just like all of Maui. We enjoyed the hotel location, which allowed for short walks to the beach and to casual shops and eating places, as well as evenly spaced drives to West Maui, North Maui, and South Maui. We definitely will come back here on our next trip to Maui!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 20854Dave_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

It was our second time being in Maui and I did not hesitate to choose Maui Coast again. Nice staff, perfect location, clean rooms....the list can go on and on. This time we saw the parking space was very limited so parking at the late hours was challenge . Other than that the hotel is one of the best hotels in Maui. Strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MilenSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We came to Maui strictly for a dive vacation with our son. You could not beat the accommodations at the Maui Coast for the price. Dive shops and shore dives are close by. We chose a room with a double queen bed. The set-up of microwave and refrigerator allowed you to save some money by buying takeout food for breakfast and some dinners, to make the trip affordable. The pool and hot tubs are clean and well maintained, with one semi-private area that has a hot tub for a smaller crowd. The grounds around the pool are nicely landscaped. The food was tasty, not too pricey and good proportions. Friendly service made this a special stay.

Room Tip: Review the room set-up of the hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurelW507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

A beautiful, clean and unpretentious hotel close to everything. We had a one bedroom suite and it was just perfect. Room service was super fast even when full house. In short, this is by far your best alternative to overpriced resorts in Kannapali.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arjun34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Maui coast for 10 days. For the cost of hotels in that part of Maui I find the Maui Coast to be a good value. You can borrow bikes to get around short distances and they have a shuttle to take you to and from the beaches, if you get tired of the beach just a 1/2 block away.

As for amenities, the gym is actually larger and more well equipped than some of the larger chains I've stayed at. The restaurant is so-so. They don't have room service, we had to go down and order and bring up the food to our room.

The first room we got the microwave smelled musky and the carpet was mildewy. We asked to be switched to a different room and was accommodated by the hotel staff. One thing to point out is that the hotel on the south facing side is facing a condo complex which can have some very noisy guests. Also, with the balcony door open there is very little privacy, so we moved to the north facing side, which opens out to above the parking lot and to an undeveloped lot.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeijoGitanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,888 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing