We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maui Coast Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$479
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Andaz Maui At Wailea Resort(Wailea)
$589
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$409
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Residence Inn by Marriott Maui Wailea(Wailea)(Great Value!)
$364
$319
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$488
$419
Waldorf.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$699
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$599
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Reviews (2,207)
Filter reviews
2,207 results
Traveler rating
1,206
782
147
42
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,206
782
147
42
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsresort feepool barjunior suiteacross the streetfree shuttleshuttle servicebike rentalswet barhotel restaurantpool towelsper daypool sidewithin walking distancemini fridgeabc storefitness centerhousekeeping staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,289 - 1,294 of 2,207 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Basic rectangular hotel with no view located across the street from the beach and in close proximity to shops and restaurants. Clean, comfortable, good location, semi-quiet rooms, friendly hotel staff. I booked this as part of a Travelocity package and the Hotel hit us with a daily "resort fee" for basic amentities such as pool towels and internet. I was not happy about this.They have bikes and a pool, but otherwise I would not call it a resort. We looked into the Hyatt which actually has resort amenties and found that the price was really not that different.

Save yourself the trouble and skip the poolside cafe. The service is bumbling, slow, and the staff act as if you are inconveniencing them by merely showing up to order. The prices on the board special were not what we were charged, and waiting for them to fix your order or your ticket is not worth the headache. Try Cafe O'Lei just a short walk/drive down the street for better menu, food, quality, service, and atmosphere.

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the parking lot or the garden area next to the neighboring hotel. If you came for a nice view, this is not your hotel.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunriseFitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had a really difficult time deciding where to book in Maui. I'm really glad we decided to stay in Kihei because you really get to experience Hawaiian culture here. It has a smaller town vibe (especially compared to Lahaina) but we really liked it. The beach was right across the street and there were tons of things to do around the area (lots of little souvenir shop stands).

The Maui Coast really made out stay. From the minute we walked in, the staff was always helpful and pleasant. Our room was really nice and far surpassed what I imagined it would be for the price. It was such a good value, you cannot go wrong with this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

This hotel had the best rooms from our 11-day Hawaiian excursion. Beautifully appointed, large modern rooms, with a large bathroom and great shower. Large comfortable beds and a quiet balcony with a partial ocean view. Staff was very pleasant and the pool is nice although its on the small side and there are not enough lounge chairs around it. Food options are limited to the pool bar and cafe and it is average at best, but the hotel is centrally located, walking distance to a lot of shops and restaurants. And the room rates were very reasonable when comparing to other hotels, perhaps because it is not directly on the beach. Would definitely recommend, to sum it up: -4 star rooms in a 3 star hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fm442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not right on the beach, but it is across the street. Wonderful staff who are always helpful. Access to bicycles made it easy to explore the area around the hotel. The bed was comfortable, and having access to a small refridgerator and microwave was nice as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisatarheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

When we go to Maui, we don't go to stare out of a window or sit around a pool. We can do those things at home! I go to hike, bike, snorkel and swim! My husband goes for business with a day or two of active fun!

We just need an affordable hotel that's clean, comfy and centrally located in which to shower and sleep eight hours (or less)! We always have a rental car but there are shops, restaurants and three beaches within walking distance. Plus they have bikes and a free shuttle for hotel guests.

This was our third stay at Maui Coast. We actually had a complaint this time about the service at the pool cafe. Jonah patiently heard our complaint, agreed with us and immediately resolved the issue to our complete satisfaction.

We will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews