We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL!”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOTEL!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel, well located, and the service is impeccable. The staff is so accommodating and really went above and beyond. The beds are also unbelievably comfortable. Definitely the go-to hotel for Maui!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnjaliZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,158
    765
    138
    39
    27
See reviews for
465
1,107
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

The open lobby gives a cool, Hawaiian welcome, the staff is nice, the rooms are new looking, and the beds are super comfortable. This place was also super affordable. We very very pleased with our experience at this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We picked Kihei because Lahaina (the more popular area) seemed too commercial and crowded. Kihei had its charm with the local stores and beaches. We loved the area.

As for the hotel, the staff were very friendly. We had gotten a great deal on this hotel through a website and it was well worth it. However, with Hurricane Sandy in NY, we had to push back our trip a week. When we checked in at the hotel, we were quoted at a much higher rate. After explaining our situation, the front desk honored our original rate with no questions ask. I really appreciated them doing that fo rus.

Our rooms were clean and spacious. The beds were big and comfortable. Overall great stay!!! I would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lingyyyyyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

First time going to Maui and lots of people said to rent a condo on VRBO. We decided to stay in a hotel since we were only going a week. We checked lots of reviews online as there are lots of places to stay and decided on the Maui Coast (our cousin booked before us so we decided to stay here as well). Some Coast properties are dated, but this one is up-to-date and exceeded our expectations. We had a junior suite with 2 queen beds and the room looks like it did in the pictures online. Nice large room with the right amount of space for a family of 4. The pool area was nice, but we weren't impressed with the pool bar/restaurant (evening services was stuck up). Location was central to what we wanted to do, beach was close by. This hotel lets you take the pool towels to the beach or pool - just get them at the front desk (no questions asked). Nice feature - didn't have to bring or wash our own beach towels. In the end, we could have stayed for about the same price in a condo but were hesitant with never being to Maui before. Be prepared for the extra 'tax' of $17.50 per night for a "Resort Fee"...just make sure you add it into the price of your room when comparing properties. The reservation people onsite (manager) was very helpful with extending another parties stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VicTraveler_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberwaltersdorf, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We picked Kihei as the most central location to stay during our "(only) 4 nights on Maui and chose the Maui Coast Hotel through their direct website. During arrival and check-in and later
on at the pool - we appreciated that the hotel kept up to it's advertising promises on the internet.
A very nice beach with wonderful sun-downs is just a couple of minutes walk away.
The only down side: no stores or restaurants in walking distance and the hotel own restaurant
is closed unfortunately. Dinner can be taken at the pool side bar though - as far as we realized
only after we had left already.
The 4:00 am drive from the hotel to Haleakala summit takes apprx 90 minutes and La Haiana is
apprx 40 minutes drive away. Consider apprx 30 minutes by car to or from Kahului airport.
If the Hawaiian Islands wouldn't be so far from Austria - we'd love to travel there more often
and on Maui - we would would have no regrets staying at the Maui Coast Hotel again.
Servus from Austria

Room Tip: Try to get a room far away from the external air condition system which can by noisy and smelly at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerhard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I would like to thank the Maui Coast Hotel for a fantastic stay in Kihei. I loved everything about the Hotel, especially the bed. OMG, fabulous sleep. The staff were exceptional could not ask for more. And a special thank you to Julie, Heather and Jack at the poolside bar you were fabulous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinni_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

While the hotel is not on the beach it is barely 100 yards away, very convenient. The rooms are of a decent size, clean and quiet (it is set off from the highway so traffic noise is non-existent). The staff are friendly and helpful and there is a charming poolside restaurant and bar for breakfast etc.

There is a resort fee but it was pretty reasonable and it included, gym, towels, internet, papers, ... . My wife and I avid exercisers (we are actually Body Pump instructors) and we were delighted with the gym. It is a large space in its own building, fully equipped with a wide range of high quality machines, dumbbells and barbells. The towels the hotel provided for us to take to the beach or pool were large and fluffy - a nice little luxury.

We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank Anchoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Aston at The Whaler on Kaanapali Beach
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#19 of 32 in Lahaina
4,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing