We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice hotel and friendly staff”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I spent five nights at the Maui Coast Hotel and enjoyed every minute of it! All of the staff is very friendly and helpful. We utilized the van service to go to dinner one night and the service was flawless. Great location in Kihei!

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get one of the rooms on the upper floors looking towards the beach...the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha! It is always so nice to hear great feedback! Thank you so much for your review! I am so happy to hear that you and your enjoyed your five nights with us. The Hotel Shuttle is definitely a exceptional service that we provide! We wish to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 2,172 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had our vacation on Maui planned out months ago, but something went wrong and we could not get into our condo. At midnight my wife, son and I arrived at the Maui Coast Hotel, Madeline at the front desk sensed our exhaustion, her positive welcoming face and quick processing of our check in together with giving us a very nice room (the last available room in the hotel) at a very reasonable price really helped to make us feel better, knowing how tired we all were and needing some time to correct the problem we ran into, she graciously agreed to extend our check-out time. Thanks for the Five Star treatment Madeline.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kayakjoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha! Thank you very much for your wonderful comments! I am so sorry about the challenges you experienced with your condo, most especially during that hour!! We truly try our very best to provide that 5 Star Servce and I am thrilled for the recognition! Madeline, along with the rest of the team are true assets to our Hotel! Thank you for choosing the Maui Coast Hotel and we hope to be of service to you on your next trip to Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 6 nights in this excellent hotel. The 1 bedroom suite was spacious and comfortable. The bed was perfect. The maid service was excellent. The price for what we had was excellent. The beach across the street is great. The front desk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul128100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo for your review! I am pleased that you found great comfort in our your accommodations! The staff truly takes pride in their work and we thank you for the acknowledgement! We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I just returned from two weeks in Maui, staying at the Maui Coast Hotel. Though we arrived a bit late at night, we were quickly checked in and very soon nestled in what turned out to be the absolutely most comfortable bed we've ever slept in! The abundance of super comfy pillows was a welcome change from the usual lumpy rejects most hotels offer. Our room was spacious, modern and kept very clean. We made good use of the mini fridge and the in-room safe. The location is wonderful, just across the street from Kama'ole Beach I and within easy walking of lots of little shops and restaurants. The poolside bar has happy hour each day with drinks at just $4. I highly recommend their Margaritas! The pool is kept the perfect temperature to cool you off when you get too hot laying in the sun. There's more than adequate parking, though, like most of Maui, you'll want to keep your rental car on the small side, as spaces can be on the narrow side. The gyms are excellent, with awesome treadmills in the large gym and a quiet space to stretch in the smaller one. We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beth_Kemnitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha Beth! Thank you for choosing the Maui Coast Hotel for your 2 weeks on Beautiful Maui! The beds are truly one of the many features that we are recognized for! Comfort is definitely important during any vacation! I am happy to hear that you were overall pleased with you entire accommodations and wish to host you once again! MAHALO!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We traveled as a group of four adults, including my parents, in September 2012, and we stayed in two separate suites. My parents had a separate suite of their own at the Maui Coast Hotel during our stay on Maui. My spouse and I stayed in our own suite, which had a quite lovely and unexpected view of the ocean, from the 5th floor.

A year ago, we traveled to Maui for our honeymoon, and we really enjoyed staying at the Maui Coast Hotel. We enjoyed it so much that we decided to return to the Maui Coast Hotel this year on our 15-day trip to the islands of Hawaii!

Although this is not a full-scale, five-star resort with unimpeded access to the ocean, the rooms at this hotel are actually nicer than at some of the "fancier" name brand hotels on other islands in Hawaii. For example, the rooms are actually much nicer in most respects than at the Marriott at Poipu Beach in Kauai. The biggest pluses of this hotel are the beautifully-renovated rooms and the quite clean swimming pool. The swimming pool is beautiful, though a little on the small side if you are expecting a swimming pool that is the size of a Vegas hotel's swimming pool. However, most swimming pools at most properties in Hawaii tend to be small, from my experience traveling in and staying at various hotels in Hawaii. Therefore, the size of this pool is "just about right" for Hawaii. Plus, a wonderful beach with some of the best swimming in Hawaii is right across the street.

Each couple had a beautiful hotel suite at the Maui Coast Hotel during our stay.

The rooms were clean, and the beds were quite comfortable in our suites.

The only possible negative is the $17 per day resort fee for each room. Because we booked two suites, our party ended up paying about $35 a day for a resort fee. That's a fair amount of extra money over a vacation stay.

A couple of additional strengths of this hotel property are the friendly and professional staff and the beautiful workout facility/gym. The gym is one of the better ones that I have seen at a hotel.

Overall, I would not necessarily recommend this hotel for a honeymoon or romance, since, although it is a beautiful hotel, it is not the most romantic in terms of setting or scenery in the surrounding neighborhood. This is in the heart of Kihei, a small beach city that has plenty of options for dining and bars, but not a lot of romantic settings for a honeymoon. On the other hand, if this is a family vacation or couples' vacation, then perhaps this would be the ideal hotel for your stay, since a lot of things are within walking distance, and people could go down to the beach on their own. In conclusion, I certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who visits Maui, and I also recommend staying in a suite at the Maui Coast Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha Dan! A BIG MAHALO for being such a Loyal Guest!! We truly appreciate not only for frequent visits, but also for recommending our hotel to others!! Thank you for your wonderful commendations! Please let me know when you plan your next visit to Maui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you are loking for a good hotel that is well located to visit all of Maui's key attractions, then this is an excellent choice. It is not a resort, so do not expect lagoon pools, multiple restaurants and bars, but the rooms are large, clean and well-equiped and staff are very friendly and accomodating.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travel_Jan95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Aloha and Mahalo! I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable visit with us! Thank you for your business and we wish to invite you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed our honeymoon stay at the Maui Coast Hotel. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was friendly and the Poolside Cafe had good food for a reasonable price. The hotel was across the street from some public beaches and close to places to shop. The area around the hotel was not as crowded as West Maui, but had everything you needed.

Room Tip: Let them know you're honeymooning as they worked to find a better room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrChrisF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Aloha! Thank you very much for choosing the Maui Coast Hotel to celebrate your Honeymoon! I am happy to hear that we had everything you needed and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would be delighted to welcome you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
22.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,605 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
21.4 mi away
Royal Lahaina Resort
Royal Lahaina Resort
#18 of 32 in Lahaina
4,123 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range: $246 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splitty, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing