We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very clean and friendly staff!”
Review of Maui Coast Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maui Coast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, very clean and friendly staff!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I spent two nights at the Maui Coast hotel this month. It was very convenient to reserve a room and a car all in one booking. Picking up and returning the car at Dollar Rent-A-Car was effortless. The hotel itself is in a very convenient Kihei location, right across from Charlie Young's and Kamaole 1 beaches. Upon check-in at Maui Coast and all throughout my stay, I found the staff to be very friendly. The housekeeping staff greeted me with a smile and a hello everytime I passed them in the halls. I was very impressed and pleased with the size of the room - it was very spacious, modern and clean. The king bed and pillows were very comfortable. The only drawback was the closet and the bathroom vanity. The bath counter top was extremely small. There was hardly any space to set my toiletries and belongings. Also, the bathtub drained very slowly. The closet was so small it barely fit my carry-on bag. In spite of that, I have no complaints about the room and would stay there again for the room itself.

The only real problem I had with this hotel involved the pool area. When I got to the pool, there were no available lounge chairs. We had to wait for someone to vacate the area before we could get comfortable. For a property as large as this, I was surprised by how small the pool and pool area was. You can't assume you can relax by the pool, because there may not be any space for you! But then again, you are right across one of the best beaches on Maui. So, enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank titademaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for sharing your experience here on Trip Advisor! I am am delighted to see that you had a good time and our services and location were beyond your expectations!

On the other hand, I would like to extend my apologies for the challenges that you did encounter. I take it that you were booked in a Deluxe room where the bathrooms are not as spacious as the Junior Suites and One Bedroom Suites. I also regret that we were not given an opportunity to assist you with the slow draining bathtub. Lastly, I am sorry for the wait at the pool area, yet am glad that you were also able to enjoy the beautiful white sand beaches just across the way!

Nonetheles, I am elated to read that the staff contributed to the enjoyment of your stay! It will be a pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon! Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,143
    754
    137
    38
    26
See reviews for
457
1,092
79
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week on Oahu and then a week on Maui. We were looking for a hotel and chose this one. We booked two months early and chose the room plus rental car option. I kept an eye on the price as we got closer to the date and twice was able to get them to lower our reservation to a lower price. We saved a few hundred dollars. When we arrived they knew it was our anniversary and upgraded us to a jr suite. I think next time I would want this as the wet bar was a great addition. The room was spacious and the bed comfy. We enjoyed the pool too especially during happy hour. The best part was staying in this part of Maui - Keihi. It was more laid back, less tourists and more independent places to dine. Particularly liked Tiki Lounge, Keihi Cafe and Three. Liked having the beach across the street and very easy to drive everywhere. We would stay here again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Aloha and Thank you for choosing the Maui Coast Hotel to celebrate your anniversary! It is always a pleasure to assist in any way possible to make your special occasion exceptional!

We hope to welcome you back next year!! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fells Point, Md
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel was in a very convenient location and close to some of Maui's nicest beaches. We stayed here for our 1 year wedding anniversary.

Pros:
*Kamaole I beach is across the street
*Gym was larger and nicer then I expected
*Poolside Bar was reasonably priced, had great drinks and was a nice way to end the day
*We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival
*Suite was very clean and roomy and the bed was very comfortable
*Staff was very friendly and helpful
*Beach chairs and umbrellas can be rented for like $2/day (this was welcomed because we paid a ton in Waikiki for an umbrella)
*Lots of Parking
*Cleaning staff left 2 bottles of water a day

Neutral
*Small Bathroom for suite
*One of our TVs broke; however, they replaced it in like 5 minutes

Cons
*Not a beach front view
*$17/day resort fee (covers parking, gym, etc.)
*Not many "nice" restaurants or bars close by

Room Tip: Try to get a room above floor 3 with a Lanai facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrickbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Aloha Patrick! Thank you celebrating your Wedding Anniversary with us!! I really appreciate you taking the time to write such a detailed review on here. We certainly hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

my husband and i stayed at maui coast for our honeymoon. we enjoyed our stay. i think people keep coming back to this hotel because of the staff. very friendly and accomodating. on our second day, we decided to rent a car, and we asked one of their staff where we could rent a car. i believe his name's edwin, he called the rental car company for us. he even gave us champagne after he found out we were honeymooners. this location is not too far from the beach. the hotel itself is not out dated, but i think the real gem and assest of this company is the staff. Aloha!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LVgirl702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Our staff certainly takes pride in the service that we provide! It is our goal to truly provide you with the ALOHA experience!! Thank you for taking the time to write this generous review!! Edwin along with the entire staff look forward to welcoming you back on your Anniversary!! MAHALO!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

My son and I spent a week here and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is pretty, clean and the staff is very friendly. There isn't much of an ocean view or patio but, we were hardly ever in the room except to crash at night. It was nice to come back to a cool, clean room. The use of the bikes was a nice touch. We spent the day riding around and shopping. The location was perfect and close to everything. We actually walked too far one night and the hotel was more than happy to come get us, for FREE. We usually stay in Kaanapali but decided to try the quiet side of the island. It's about a 20-30 min drive to Lahina. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the upper floors. The views are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZigiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Aloha and Thank you for posting your positive feedback following your recent stay at our Hotel.

I was delighted to see that both you and your son enjoyed your time at the Maui Coast Hotel! I am glad to hear that the staff and amenities were to your satisfaction! Thank you for making great use of the Bicycles and Shuttle Services that were included in your Resort Fee.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back sometime soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Great sized room for our family of 4. Definitely get more room for your money than Waikiki! Relaxed, friendly hotel with everything you need. Resurants are close by and things seem a bit more layed back than other 'resort' areas of the island. Easy parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Use their website to look for specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauicoast, Front Office Manager at Maui Coast Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Aloha and Mahalo for your review! I am happy to hear that you and your family found great comfort at the Maui Coast Hotel.. We would be delighted to host you once again on your next visit to Maui!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2012

A friend and I stayed at the Maui Coast Hotel for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. We loved the free hire of the bikes and rode around town every day. Its not the best location, but we don't know maui at all so were happy to hang out close to the hotel. The Pool was gorgeous, I think we must have been there out of holiday season as it was so quiet. The Pool Bar was great too with the staff bringing us our drinks. The Staff at the front desk helped us book a Luau and car hire. There was no free breakfast and the wifi was hard to get in our room but apart from that it was such a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
21.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
21.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
22.1 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
3.4 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
21.1 mi away
Westin Maui Resort And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Coast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Coast Hotel

Property: Maui Coast Hotel
Address: 2259 South Kihei Road, Across the Street From Kamaole Beach I, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-6289
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Maui Coast Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the heart of sunny Kihei, the elegant Maui Coast Hotel promises the ultimate island getaway - with a wide stretch of beautiful white sand beaches just across the street, swimming, surf and Barbeque to follow. Within walking distance to several shopping, dining and entertainment venues and just minutes away from championship golf courses and the Wailea Resort area. You'll find numerous ways to relax right here in our spacious Guest Rooms and Suites. Our friendly, attentive staff offering the true Aloha Spirit will welcome you back at the end of a fun-filled day. Offering an extensive selection of services and amenities, Maui Coast Hotel is Paradise indeed. The Best of Maui at your Doorstep! Go Ahead. Expect More. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Maui Coast Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Coast Kihei
Hotel Maui Coast
Maui Coast Hotel Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing