We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed 7/19-30th, Great Ocean Front Condo!”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Stayed 7/19-30th, Great Ocean Front Condo!”
Reviewed July 31, 2007

We just returned from an 11 night stay at the Mana Kai Maui and can't say enough about what a great condo it was! We were on the 6th floor, Deluxe-Ocean Front View and boy what a view it was! Please don't worry about the no A/C - you leave the huge sliding glass doors open 24/7 and the Ocean breeze keeps it just perfect - not only that you can hear the waves continuously all night long!

The maid service was great - they were there every day and even cleaned up our dishes when we did leave them. We had no trouble with any locals, the resort has hired security which maintains a visible presence near the pool and on the grounds and they are constantly watching for locals. The front desk was always friendly and available when we needed them (we arrived late afternoon) and didn't have to leave till late at night as well. One nice suprise was the day we left - they kept our luggage for us and let us use the facilities that whole day (we had a 9 pm flight) and they even let us clean up and shower so we wouldn't have to get on the plane all sticky and sandy!

Zacks was a great little convenience - and yes some items were pricey - but the necessities were the same prices as any local convenience store. Their coffee was always hot and fresh, anytime of day!

This was our 5th trip to Hawaii (our 2nd to Maui) and we have always stayed in condos - but the location and service of this resort / for the price you pay - has beat out all the others for us. We have two teenage boys that went with us and in the past we have spent a lot of time driving them around to find a good beach with good snorkeling and boogie boarding. Not this time! They were content (and even asked to stay there and not go anywhere else for the last 4 days) to stay at the condo and beach for the majority of the time.

The snorkeling over the reefs just to the right of the beach was exceptional. Some of the best we've seen, especially early in the morning when the waves were calm. We had a couple really great boogie boarding days as well right there.

Yes they were working on the elevators all during our stay - I have to agree with the rest of the reviews - it was a nuscience however - hey you're on Maui - it was worth a little inconvenience, and they are scheduled to be completely done with the elevator work in early September. It looked like most of the other remodeling in the hallways had been complete, the ones we ventured to anyways. They were working on a couple of the rooms but to me it's always good to see a place working to improve. Two missing things - which are not necessities, but nice to have - bar-b-que grills and free wi-fi. We didn't mess with the internet (even though the teenagers wanted it), you had to call a number and give them a credit card, and the teens survived. As far as the bar-b-que grill - we headed over the Kamole Beach 3 for an evening picnic and used the grills there, which made for a nice change - just not as convenient if we could have grilled right there.

Overall - it was a top-notch stay and we are definitely planning on returning, and would recommend this resort to any of our friends and family!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No free internet/no bar-b-que grills
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank sdm23669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    163
    39
    18
    19
See reviews for
169
191
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

We stayed for a week at the Mana Kai as part of a two week honeymoon in Hawaii, the other week being on the Big Island. We stayed in a hotel room with a view of the carpark as well as the ocean, but we barely spent any time there so it didn't matter and was a complete bargain as a result and quiet as we were on the 7th floor. The room had a coffee maker and the bathroom was clean. It was quite small but it did the job and the rest of the hotel made up for it. The hotel has a great shop that sells just about everything as well as a restaurant that served breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food was amazing but it wasn't cheap so we only ate there a couple of times, but were glad when we did. The best part about the hotel is the proximity to an amazing beach, with great snorkeling and some useful shady areas. We did without a car for half the week and didn't find it restricting. You need a car to visit other towns and sights such as the Hana Road and the Haleakala volcano, but for the beach days it just wasn't necessary we just walked into Kihei for dinner and walked to Wailea for a change of seen. We would come back to this hotel for its value for money and great beach.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — The smallness of the hotel room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vicky0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2007

My husband and I stayed here July 16-18. The Mana Kai Maui is a combination condo/hotel, so there are "regulars" and "hotel guests." We booked our stay through Travelocity and received a corner room on the 8th floor, which was the top floor with a fabulous view of the ocean. There are exterior corridors to access the rooms on one side of the hotel, allowing for balconies on the other side of the building. Our room did not have a balcony, but we could watch the sunset from the corridor outside our room. Our room was slightly smaller than an average hotel room with a bathroom and small refrigerator. We didn't mind - we were in Maui for the beach, not the room.

The grounds are nice with a large lawn with beach chairs and a decent size pool. The soft sand beach is just steps from the hotel with decent snorkeling off the rocks, but watch the rough waves. There are a number of tidepools that form in the rocks that we found fun to explore. We ate lunch in the on-site restaurant, which was pretty good. We received coupons for the restaurant when we checked in. There was also a "happy hour" at the bar everyday with half-priced sushi. We enjoyed talking with the bartender and sushi chefs.

The Mana Kai Maui is in a great location, a bit removed from the touristy feel of South Kihei Street, but close enough to explore that part of Maui. We also caught our early morning snorkeling tour of Molokini from the Maui Prince Hotel, which wasn't too far down the road. (Snokeling Molokini okay - we had the best Maui snorkeling in Kaanapali at Black Rock in front of the Sheraton).

Two downsides to our stay - First, they are installing new elavators, so only one of the two was working during our stay. It takes a bit longer and you have to share with staff and their carts. Second, I don't think they have 24-staff at the main office. We had an early flight the morning we checked out and even though our paperwork said the office opened at 7am, no one was there and no one answered the numbers left at the courtesy phone. We saw another group of people in the same position who found a staff member and we left our keys with her since she said the office wouldn't open untilo 8am. Other than those issues, we had a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Location and beach
  • Disliked — Elevator repair
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kkic04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2007

We had a great time at the Mana Kai! My husband and I stayed there from May 25-30, 2007 with another couple. This property is a great value and this beach is second to none! Somehow this beach never seemed crowded - it felt very secluded and the snorkeling was great. We decided to forget the $100/person trip to Molokini b/c we saw all the fish we needed for free! We also went to Akihi Cove one day, which I also recommend.

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo and it completely suited our needs. We were never hot, but were rarely there during the day. If you are in Maui, why would you want to spend your time inside?? There's so much to do and so much to see - our highlights - Road to Hana, snorkeling galore, great restaurants, Paia, watching windsurfers at Hookipa Beach....

Overall, we really enjoyed the Mana Kai. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank STL29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2007

My husband, my parents & I just returned from staying at the Mana Kai in Kihei. It was great. My husband & I started out the trip in one of the "deluxe" hotel rooms. It was a corner unit and it did have a very good view. But compared to the room my parents had, which was a 1 bdrm unit, we felt pretty shabby. The room is very small but it is air conditioned. We thought it wouldn't matter because we didn't plan on spending that much time in our room. But it did matter. Book the 1 bdrm it is so worth the extra cost. We upgraded to an 8th floor, 1 bdrm condo. The views are amazing. I loved sitting out on my balcony in the morning and having my coffee. The room is stocked well with all the appliances you might need and plenty of glasses etc. We thought of three things that would have really made a difference to us; a BBQ (snuck next door and used theirs), ice machine and free internet access. But that's all we could think of! The beach is wonderful. Great snorkeling. Did I mention how good the snorkeling is? Saw an eel but no turtles! The grounds are very well kept. Every morning they are raked, swept and hosed down. Yes they did use a blower too but the sound never bothered us. They are renovating some rooms are already done some are not. Most areas looked very good. The elevator really needs a makeover and the walk ways outside the rooms need attention too. But these things didn't affect our enjoyment. We didn't eat at the restaurant but we did go to the deli a few times. It is expensive. The hot dogs are good and the price was OK. I had the daily special for lunch and it was very tasty. All and all a great experience, enjoyed our stay and hope to return again soon.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — parking lot
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank cjamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2007

We just arrived back from our 7 night stay at the Mana Kai Maui. The Mana Kai is located in a great spot. It is at the edge of Kehei (the more economical area) and Wailea (the more upscale area) of Maui. The Mana Kai gives easy access to both.

At first I was sceptical since there is no a/c in the ocean front units. But I was assured by others that it would not be a problem. We arrived and were able to check into our room very quickly. The lobby is nice and the front desk staff were very helpful. You can rent A units (ocean front) or B units (back of building) or both together to get a 2 bedroom condo. We only rented unit A-305A. The B units have a/c. In the A unites, the whole front wall is one big sliding glass door with a screen, and the tradewinds keep the units cool, as long as you kept the door open (and our unit had 3 ceiling fans.) Our view was fabulous! There is a series of 4 sliding doors that create a wall between the living room and the bedroom. For more space, we kept the doors pushed open, but for privacy one could just close the doors. The unit was very clean and well maintained. The maid service was good. Each day they made our bed and put dishes in dishwasher, as well as the other usual duties. It was well stocked with kitchen necessities, dish soap, paper towels, etc. Our unit had every utensil one could possibly need! The pool is on the small side but beautiful, and the grounds are very well kept. The activities desk staff were very friendly, and great at finding you any info that you may need.

We did not dine at the restaurant on site, however, there is a great little general store on site that was well stocked with just about a little of everything. They have a deli, and so much more. They also have a beach towel exchange service, and laundry facilities on each floor. This condo is located on Keawakapu beach, a BEAUTIFUL beach with tons of lava rocks to one side (good for snorkeling), and nice, clean, soft sand covering the rest. The water was so clear and calm. This is one of the Islands nicest beaches, and was never crowded. The parking was ample and each unit has an assigned parking spot. The mana kai is very family friendly and accomodating. This condo is not a full service hotel. Although there is a restaurant, general store and hair salon on site, you will not find alot of the amenities that you might find at a hotel, such as waitresses at the pool, or room service. There is a small lounge/bar on site that serves great sushi and many drinks.

Other reviews mentioned that a lot of locals hang out here, but we did not see or hear anyone who seemed to fit that description. They recently did a $4 million rennovation to the building, and became more stict with the locals, so this is no longer a problem. I hear that the rooms will all be rennovated in the next year.

During our stay, one elevator was being rennovated which did create slower elevator service at times, but hey, you're in Maui-who cares!

My one complaint--I was woken up early by lawn movers and leaf blowers at 7:30 AM (this happens on Tuesdays) and since A units don't have a/c, we didn't really have the option to close the sliding glass doors. It was a bit disruptive to our sleep on 2 ocassions. However, every night we slept to the sounds of the ocean waves-ahh!

I would definately return to Maui and to the Mana Kai!

  • Liked — Location, beach, great ocean view, and a good price
  • Disliked — No A/C in A units, therefore, you had to keep the door open to the deck
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ExplorinGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2007

The Mana Kai is right on a beautiful white sand beach. The Five Palms
Restaurant attached to the Hotel was gourmet/delicious. Zack's Deli (also attached) was great...everything you need when away from home plus souvenirs and snacks.

The Hotel lobby is very tastefully decorated. There is an average size pool.

We stayed in a one bedroom room with king size bed. The rooms were very average (small with old furniture). The walls are paper thin. We did not spend much time in the room anyway.

The Hotel staff were nice and accomodating.

The Hotel is right near a main highway, so access to the rest of the Island is easy. Plan for 45 min to Lahaina and 1.5-2 hrs to summit of Haleakala and beginning of road to Hana.

Overall, we would stay there again and had a fabulous wedding anniversary.

  • Liked — access to beach
  • Disliked — small, old rooms with paper thin walls
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sguptill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing