We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok!”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2006

WE stayed in Mana Kai for our honeymoon, in September 2004. Location of this hotel is absolutely AMAZIINGGGG!!! Great Beach, good snorkling in the morning and easy acsees to the restorants and stores. We had studio facing parking, so all the view we were getting is people going by our unit, so we had to keep our windows almost all the time closed. The actual room was a lot smaller then we thought it would be. Small frig and coffemaker, no microwave. Bathroom was small but pretty clean. Housekeeping was ok, we had to use our own towels. Next time we go to Maui will try something different, but one thing I can say for SURE- SUNSETS, OCEN BEACH, AND WARM WATER we will NEVER FORGET!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank otaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Mana Kai Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 533 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2006

We stayed here last minute...we were vacationing in Kihei and weren't able to fly home due to illness...the Mana Kai saved us in a pickle. We were able to get a room on Dec 26th when we called that morning we needed two nights but they were fully booked and could only offer us one night but were very helpful in trying to find us somewhere to stay the second night. The location of the hotel is awesome and the beach is top notch the 'hotel" room we got was average. King size bed with a fridge in the closet and coffee maker on top. There was a TV and the bathroom was very small and it took forever to figure out how the shower worked (pull the water spout straight down). It was clean and if we stayed here again we definately would be looking at one of their condo type rooms and not a hotel room. If you just want to stay in Kihei for a few nights with no frills then the hotel room would be fine but I don't recommend it for an extended period of time. The 5 Palms restaurant is great!! we had breakfast there and the Hawaiian French toast and/or pancakes are a must. The view from the restaurant is great overlooking the beach. We swam at this beach daily even though we weren't orginally staying at the hotel. There is public access about a block down the main road.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank srounis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
California
14
Reviewed December 31, 2005

We made a last minute trip to Maui, and this was one of the few hotels who did not require a minimum of a 3 night stay. That was nice. However, this is a solid 3 to 3 1/2 star facility. I believe each of the units is operated slightly differently, but not sure how it works. We had to pick up our keys from an office nearby (about 2 miles away) and had to go there as well to check out (slightly annoying). Also, getting wireless to work was a pain and involved several phone calls to someone in California. The room itself was clean, but had no amenities provided other than soap. There was a small fridge (in the closet) & coffee pot. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. The room did have a hair dryer and a decent TV with various movies free for viewing. It does have great access to the beach and an ok pool.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2005

We rate the hotel itself as "above average" but the location must definitely be rated "excellent!"

My 8 year old daughter and I stayed twice at the Mana Kai (total of 7 nights) during our two-week vacation 11/11/05-11/25/05. At an unbelievable rate on the intranet ($70), we reserved a "hotel room." This property actually consists of 2-bedroom condominiums with the 2nd bedroom adjoining. If the condo is rented out as a "1-bedroom condo," the 2nd bedroom is rented out as a "hotel room" which it basically is. For the rate, it was truly a steal! The first room we stayed in was very small but livable. The second room we stayed in was much larger due to the removal of a closet. More room made an extra wonderful 2nd stay. We had a sofa, larger refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker. Recommend you ASK for a room with these amenities. Otherwise, the mini fridge is in the closet with the coffee maker on the top and no micro. However, both rooms were exceptionally clean and had airconditioning.

What makes this property so great is the hotel is just feet from one of the most beautiful swimming and snorkling beaches on Maui! The hotel was obviously built many years ago when there were less restrictions on how close to the beach it could be built. The snorkling was great right in front of the hotel! Recommend swimming next to the rock jetty in the photo. Spoke to a lady who saw a turtle a little further out along the rocks. We saw huge colorful fish in just a couple of feet of water!

The hotel was being rennovated during our stay. A new deli, store and entry way will be completed 12/05/05. The bar has great pupus and were 1/2 price every day from 3-6pm. A real bargain! We ate breakfast one morning in the rest. Good food too.

I can't possibly see who could be disappointed with this hotel! The price is great and the view from every single room is to die for!

Planning our next trip already! Enjoy!

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Peggy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Jose, CA
18
Reviewed November 16, 2005

We stayed at Mana Kai #215A for our honeymoon in September, 2005 after learning about it. We had an awesome time -- you can't get a better view of the beach and ocean, not to mention the sounds of the birds in the morning. We would just walk downstairs and the beach was right there. We have been all around Maui, and this is one of the best beaches on the island. It was also far enough away from the retail areas to create a quiet atmosphere, but close enough to go to dinner, or get groceries when we needed. We would call our friends and relatives on the mainland and wave to them from the beach via the webcam outside the unit. And I was able to stay connected with the help on the high-speed internet.

We're looking forward to going back as soon as possible. Mana Kai is an excellent resort, and #215A is one of the best locations in the resort.

Stayed: September 2005
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2005

Mana kai is an outstanding vacation destination. Room #215 was down at the end away from the hustle and bustle with great views of the ocean and beach. Modern accomodations including high speed internet access helped make this spot the best in the building.

Stayed: September 2005
7  Thank kthac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 148Curry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $196 - $608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing