We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value & Great Location!”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Value & Great Location!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stay here every year when we attend the Maui Invitational Basketball Tournament. Although it is about 40 minutes from Lahaina it is a great location. Right on the beach and a beautiful pool right off the beach. Wailea with all it's restaurant and shops is only 5 minutes away. Compared to the prices for beachfront condo's in this area - what a steal!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank SD K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Mahalo for your review. Yes, the Maui Invitational Tournament is a special event and to be able to attend it every year and spend it with us is awesome. Thank you for staying with us each year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    163
    40
    18
    19
See reviews for
169
192
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salome, Arizona
Level Contributor
111 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Earlier this month we visited Maui for a week and stayed at Mana Kai Maui "Resort". It was a nice "hotel", right on the beach, but if you were a hotel guest you were given low priority for parking. They advertise free parking. When we checked in we were told hotel parking was all the spaces on the outer edge of the parking lot, which would have been more than adequate for hotel guests. Unfortunately the valet staff for the restaurant also parked cars in these spaces so at the end of the day when returning for the night these spaces were all full. At the end of the paved lot there was a dirt lot (usually mud and occassionaly with lakes) where the valet staff told us we could park. Again the restaurant valet staff also parked cars in this lot so it was often full at the end of the day. There was also a public parking dirt lot next door which sometimes had available parking but not on Friday nights or on the weekend or when the hotel restaurant had a wedding party.
If the hotel would pave the dirt lot or at least gravel and paint parking space lines it provide more parking if cars would only take up one space.
In the middle of the paved parking lot are about 80 parking spaces that are numbered and reserved for condo residents. About half of these were empty the week we were there. The hotel could used these empty condo spaces for restaurant valet parking. They would just have to notify part time condo residents that when their parking space was not in use valet parking might use it. Those condo residents could just let the hotel know when they were going to be there or just ask valet to move a car out of their space.
We went to Maui to relax and enjoy ourselves. Having to be upset every night over the lack of parking or just knowing the ordeal that waited for us at the end of the day took a lot of the fun and relaxation out of our vacation.

Room Tip: If you have a rental car find a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Aloha and mahalo for your review. It is true when occupancy is very high and the restaurant is busy too, parking can be a challenge. The gravel parking lot mention is owned by the State and leased to the homeowners association. Efforts to pave that lot have been raised to the State before and 41 years later, it still sits as a gravel, unpaved, lot. Since we do not mange all the units, we also cannot use parking stalls for those units. Guests could have valet park their cars for them, let guests know where they parked it and get their keys from valet before they go off shift.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The pool is great.
Laundry is expensive to do ($6.oo per load -wash and dry).
Location is beautiful.
View is Amazing.
Condo is basic but you spend more time outside anyway.
The restaurant downstairs has a beautiful view, great service, and wonderful food.
Plenty of lawn chairs for everyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelle197722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Mahalo for your review and thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hope to see you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Alberta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We only stayed one night at this property as we waited for a condo unit elsewhere, but it was good for the one night. We were half an hour early for check in and our room was not ready but the very pleasant front desk attendant gave us an upgrade to a 'ready to go' ocean view suite. Big props for that! The room was tastefully appointed and well equipped with kitchen and such, but still a few whiskers around the bathroom taps from previous guests leave a lingering thought on housekeeping...

Excellent beach right out the front doors. We did not eat at the on site restaurant as it didn't really suit my 4 year old in terms of offerings or price. Later in the evening we were returning to our room and ran into another guest who was carrying a pizza box into the elevator and wasted no time telling us anything would be better than eating here. ?!? This guest was obviously not pleased with other parts of his stay but I cannot say exactly why; other than I agree with his very vocal complaint about the shortage of hotel parking. Unless you have a reserved stall - and I did not look into how you would get one - there were very few parking stalls in the main lots and even the reserve gravel lot was overflowing. The guest I mentioned had to park (and carry his pizza, ha ha) in the neighboring property's lot.

Anyway, that's my experience from less than 24 hours on location.

Oh, and be sure you read the fine print on the change/cancellation policy before booking. I booked through Expedia and they stated that any changes or cancellations after a given date were subject to a 2 night penalty. Thankfully this was a recorded call and when I called back to change my reservation before the given date, Expedia honoured what the agent told me and waived the penalty for me. The actual policy stated any changes or cancellations after the given date were subject to the 2 night penalty. A second line also said that any changes or cancellations BEFORE the given date were ALSO subject to a 2 night penalty. Seemed stupid to me too, but anyway, thankfully all went as I hoped after Expedia stepped up.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HurtnAlbertan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manakai73, General Manager at Mana Kai Maui, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Mahalo for your review. Sorry you could only stay one night with us, but I understand you were in between places. The restaurant, like our on-site rental company is operation by another vendor as we are all separate operations. The menu may not appeal to everyone. There are many other options to dine in close proximity of our property. Thanks for for staying with us, we hope the next visit will be longer so you can get a better feel for the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This used to be frequented by celebrities but now we get it to ourselves. We actually only came here for the restaurant which has great views of the beach and ocean. Get a reservation ahead of time but if you don't then just put your name in and walk around on the property until your table is ready.

Room Tip: Go for the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the "hotel" room which we knew was not ocean view and had no lanai but what they don't tell you is that it faces 100% hallway and then parking lot behind that with no tree covering. I could have put up with the parking lot view if the windows looked right at it but instead they look onto the hallway everyone walks down so you can't even open your drapes to get sun without passerby seeing you. Location is good for being close to Wailea and the restaurant one site is good but expensive. The hotel/condo is right on the beach which is nice so opt for the ocean view condos that have no hallway obstruction and have a kitchen. Room we stayed at was dated especially the bathroom. They didn't provide me with instructions on how to switch the water in the the tub to shower mode so make sure you ask about that first, it's the tap you have to pull down on.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JKLuvHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We reserved our condo unit through the 'hotel', rather than from an individual owner. Our two bedroom unit was functional and clean. While not fancy, it was a very comfortable space, with ample room for a family of four, and fantastic beach view from the lanai. From the Mana Kai, it is only a few minutes drive to restaurants and shops in either Kihei or Wailea.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katevan2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,104 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 South Kihei Road, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing