We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 206”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Mana Kai is a great place to stay. Superior location right on the beach, nice pool available also. We stayed in room 206 (both rooms). The unit was very nice, we didn't have any problems and everything needed was included in the unit. Although we didn't cook while there it was nice to have a kitchen for a quick bite, drinks, etc. Housekeeping does and excellent job cleaning the rooms each day and maintenance is always busy keeping the grounds nice. This resort has a small store on the ground floor, rental gear store, activity desk and the 5 Palms. There is also a laundry facility on each floor, not that anyone wants to do laundry on vacation. If you are bothered by noise, room 206 may not be for you. It can get a little noisy with the restaurant and bar right downstairs but they do close fairly early. They also begin cleaning the pool fairly early also, neither of these were an issue for us but I can see how it could be for others. The hotel room alone is nice and has big windows to look out and see the ocean but it still feels like a hotel room (picture of condo represent the hotel room, same decor/furnishing ). Definitely recommend getting the condo. The view and extra space is worth it. Terry at the front desk was excellent, we arrived late at night and called to receive instructions to get into the room. We were on the 7th floor. In the morning this turned out to be an issue due to the height of the lanai. I spoke with Terry and she willing moved us to room 206. Turned out this was a much better room too (the other one felt dirty but looked clean). Our flight on the last day of our vacation didn't leave until 10:30pm and I didn't think to book the room an extra day, Terry graciously allowed us to use the hotel portion of our room until 6pm at no additional charge. The staff at Mana Kai are exceptional and we will be returning for a future vacation. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ironhrse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 543 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

We just returned from a 2 week stay at Mana Kai. The location is just perfect. We had the most beautiful view from our lanai and ended up eating all of our meals out there. The beach is long and sandy. The water is warm and very calm in the morning. By afternoon the wind picks up and the waves appear which is nice for the boogie boarders and body surfers.
The pool was cleaned every morning. There were plenty of chairs both at the pool and on the very green and soft lawn which boarders the beach. Walking barefoot was no problem anywhere at this resort.
The unit we stayed in was a standard unit. It had not been upgraded but was clean and had the same beautiful view!
Loved it and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank 32369Terry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

A friend and i were stranded in Maui (what a great place to be stuck!) due to the cancellation of our flight during the storm "Flossie" scare. Our hotel in Kaaanapali to the north of the island was overbooked and we needed to find an affordable room for 4 extra nights. Frantic, we went online and found to our dismay that most available hotel rooms were 300$ +. Mana Kai Maui was the only hotel that would not have bust our budget (under 125 $ , twin sharing, per night.) and we seized upon it immediately, though the pictures of the site didn't look all that great, but at that time we were only concentrating on the bottom line.

What a wonderful surprise the hotel turned out to be. The staff were really helpful; Terry at the reception changed our room to one with a view, so we woke up in the morning to beautiful vistas and had unobstructed views of the famed Hawaii sunsets. The day we were to check out, the receptionist on duty willingly gave us a late check out at noon (Terry had her day off) allowed us to store our luggage and use the facilities till we finally departed around 5 p.m. The security staff were always courteous yet firm. Having our last Mai tais at the bar we were touched when the friendly bar tender (another Terry) gave us drinks on the house!

The lawns & beach were clean and pretty; there were always plenty of sun loungers available & happy hour extended from 3 p.m. to 11 p.m.! (We usually succumbed around 5 p.m.) The Five Palms Bar & Grill at the hotel has an awesome happy hour snack menu and their sushi, ribs and lobster dip were outstanding. The mai tais were pretty good too.

The area around Kihei has several beautiful public beach parks, so one is not restricted to the hotel beach alone. There are some fine restaurants a few kms down the road and plenty of shopping too. Just south of Kihei is Wailea, where the rich and famous, including Oprah, own magnificent properties & is worth a look around, if only just to see how the other half live.

When visiting Maui, its advisable to rent a car so one can move around freely and explore the entire island, which is not hard to do, considering its size. We are glad we did.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dipademotwane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We took a last minute trip and couldn't get a suite. While I do not recommend what is referred to as a hotel room it was OK for a bind.The suites are the way to go.
I would give the staff at least a very good.
One poster put it as a casual resort without the pretentious vibe,Well put,and exactly my sentiment.
The restaurant is excellent.
The location is fantastic.
The beach,none better.
Finally,we will be booking a Mana Kai Maui condo for Jan or Feb 2014.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tuck328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at a nearby hotel with an unknowledgeable receptionist. We came over and spoke to Tracey and she helped us readily. It looks like a really nice condo complex, has a pool, and is right on the beach. I would want to stay there if I returned to Maui

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 33Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family stayed 5 nights in the Mana Kai Maui condos Rm 709A&B in July 2013. Two of the children slept in the room with twin beds, the 3rd slept on the hide-a-bed in the living room. This can be separated from the master bed by a sliding screen so it affords some (but not much) privacy. Each room has its own full bathroom. Our rooms had a beautiful ocean view, directly above the hotel pool. The twin bedroom has A/C, but the larger room does not. We found with the three ceiling fans and the screened lanai, we were very comfortable without A/C. The kitchen is well-equipped and we were able to save money stocking the fridge by using the discount coupon provided for hotel guests for the Foodland in Kihei. There are laundry facilities on each floor $3 wash, $3 dry.

The Mana Kai is on Keawakapu beach, which is beautiful, and you can rent snorkel, paddle board, boogie board (possibly surf board?) right there. There are outdoor showers for rinsing off sand, and a beautiful grassy lawn if you prefer to avoid the sand altogether. The 5 Palms Grill has a nice happy hour, with 1/2 price drinks and appetizers and a friendly bar staff.

This is not like most hotels in the sense of having full-time front desk staff. There is full-time security, but the desk staff is only there until sunset. During the day they will allow you to print boarding passes from the front desk laptop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jk_in_kc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We have stayed at the Mana Kai Maui and have had a wonderful vacation every time. We love the location on the beach and the beach views. There is a large grassy area for Lounge chairs and a nice pool. This is a great place for a family fun as the large grassy area offers a nice spot for children activities, We enjoy he beach, sand and sunsets here. The staff is very nice and we like daily maid service available if you book through the front desk.

Room Tip: Only the front units have beach views, the hotel rooms do not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,185 reviews
23.1 mi away
Aston Kaanapali Shores
Aston Kaanapali Shores
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
2,636 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $209 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing