We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #9 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Poipu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Best Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

The prices here are quite reasonable for what you're getting. We stayed in one of the "Hotel Rooms". It was smallish, but well appointed and in good shape. Much, much better (for the same price) than the Days Inn next door. The overall location is great, on the south end of Kihei - bordering upscale Wailea. However, the real draw is the beach, and the Mana Kai sits right on the best beach in Kihei - and one of the best beaches in all Maui. We would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: For optimal privacy, ask for a room at either extreme end of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Davarua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    159
    37
    17
    19
See reviews for
159
179
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

When I read some reviews I was concerned, totaly unfounded, what a spot, beach walks, swimming, food and relax value was excellent. no noise at night (luck of the draw ?)
Greg & Ruth
Australia.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank GREG S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
353 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

This is our fifth time here, and we love it. An amazing location right on the beach at a very reasonable cost. The units are individually owned, but most of them are managed by the resort, which does a great job. We plan to keep coming back. The only thing that I would add to the information in the reviews is advice not to rent a car at the airport. Kihei Car Rental will pick you up, shuttle you to Kihei and rent you a car for about a quarter of the cost in the time it takes to get through the lines at the airport.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
10 Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Mana Kai was an amazing place to stay! We recently got married here and enjoyed our stay tremendously! We stayed on the 4th floor - ocean side balcony room. I highly recommend this room for a little more money. The doors fully open up - you can fall alseep and wake up to the sounds of the ocean - see the activities below. Great place to have morning coffee. Fullly equpped kitchens made our stay even more cost effective. I can't wait to go back. Great hotel with all the hoopla of a 5 star resort. At least here you can be RIGHT on the ocean with yourown private beach. The only way to go!

Room Tip: Its worth the money to have an ocean side balcony room. Glorious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mana Kai resort is very well looked after, in a top location right on the beach, all facilities on site excellent & easy including a mini-mart, Watersports hire on site, loved the Iyengar yoga with Kim to start the day...we took a great deal of care in trying to choose a recently renovated apartment and rented 306 through VRBO. It is exactly as per the photos, very nicely done with quality throughout. Owner Scott was really helpful with suggestions for restaurants etc. Electronic keyless entry handy-no keys to lose & kids could come & go. It's important to note the master bed is part of the living space with panels easily sliding across for privacy if required however we left it open to enjoy the full width of the unit. Brilliant view from living/bed/lanai. We loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank natlauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I'm writing this review from my lounge chair, listening to the ocean waves and enjoying the view!

I definitely recommend staying here if you want to enjoy the beach! If you're a strictly sit by pool person, this may not be the place for you.

Good snorkeling right from shore here. Happy hour food and drinks at the bar from 3 to 7.

Rooms: we are a party of 8 and are staying in 602 A & B and 603 A & B. The beds are pillowtop, with nice pillows. The B rooms have air conditioning, which is nice for getting ready or blocking out sound, but not really necessary. The A rooms are attached to the living room and kitchen and overlooks the balcony/ocean. The rooms are fully stocked with coffee maker, blender, pots, pans, cups, etc. You can get fresh beach towels whenever you want.

All in all, Mana Kai is great place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamiePerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I love this place, but it appears that our owners are cheap. the bathroom door (a pocket door slider) doesn't close fully. no problem, except when we have guests on Sunday. Mentioned to front desk yesterday, but no action. Yeah, I know, island time ... I don't care, fix it. pretty sure it's an owner issue, since the place is kind of rental quality. crappy dishes and cutlery, no napkins, tin foil, saran wrap, cooking oil, spices, etc. we chose this place for the location AND the kitchen; to find it basically filled with the crappiest base stuff tells me the owners never live here.

So, tomorrow i'm talking to management about the bathroom door. if it get's fixed, great. if not, then be warned that this is what happens when you rent a condo owned by a committee and managed locally for owners who only care about assessments and net income. it's all in the details, and they have some work to do.

Room Tip: ask them what extras are provided - cooking stuff, etc. only after an email did I realize that i nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doug k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,584 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.5 mi away
Kamaole Sands
Kamaole Sands
#13 of 62 in Kihei
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing