We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So wonderful!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Mn
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“So wonderful!!”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed in condo 601 and it was the most wonderful 10 days of our lives. The condo was comfortable and clean, the view was amazing. We loved how convenient it was- the pool was right outside the door which was a 20 second walk from the beach...which was a perfect beach for snorkeling and swimming. I could go on and on about the location. Dreamy!!

The on-site restaurant is very good and the convenience store was reasonable and well-stocked. We saw about 50 whales from our balcony and watched the sunset every night. It could not have been more perfect.

The owner of our unit was so generous and courteous! He called and checked in a couple of times, asking us if we were happy and comfortable, and encouraged us to make ourselves at home. The kitchen had every utensil and gadget one would ever need and plenty of dish ware. They even had cups with tops for our young son.

I hesitate to even write this because I want that condo for myself should we decide to go again in the next few months, but I feel the need to clue you all in. This is the place to stay IMO. Doesn't get better or more relaxing!

Room Tip: 601 was fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank willia_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    163
    38
    18
    19
See reviews for
166
188
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

This please is the most comfortable, clean, casual spot next to the be BEST beach on Maui and I've been to most of them. When I first attended the Maui Writers Conference we stayed at one of the best resorts, but I live the Mana Kai more, because I don't have to wear shoes. The staff is great, people are friendly, everyone is casual and fun. There's a great bar, restaurant and deli. It is my home away from home with the true Aloha spirit.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are around 200 sf, perfect for one person, for two people go for the 1 bedroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Authorspurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

First: please be careful not to confuse it with the “HANA Kai Maui”—which is a reasonably-priced, good property--but in HANA.)

The hotel is ON (see photo) a sweeping, wide, picturesque and very clean beach and water. The hotel is renovated but basic (there may be no room service and no outside phones in the room.) If you rent from the hotel, you will be on the "hotel" side (more modest rooms) than the "condo" side. I rented a studio--a "fresh clean" feel. It is in a quiet landscaped setting at the border of Wailea but near Kihei. The hotel has a great happy hour--1/2 off excellent appetizers—and a helpful staff and activities desk, as well as friendly guests. It has an oceanfront restaurant, nice rooms and a few amenities. So if you want comfortable lodging and Maui for the air, ocean, beauty, and to get out and visit with the sea creatures, discovery and friendly Hawaiian people, it's fine. If you want a Super Symbiotic Soporific Sophomoric Sybaritic Synergistic Swiss Seaweed Sauna at $200 a pop – try elsewhere.

There are other helpful reviews, but let me add the importance of the setting and location of this hotel because it can affect your overall enjoyment and whether it's what you want. It’s not typical bustling Kihei. You can come from the airport with little traffic and avoid going through Lahaina. You are almost next door at world-class Sansei Sushi and get a BIG discount if you go when they open. Just up the street you can reasonably rent snorkel gear and an underwater camera and a download of your photos on a disc at Boss Frog’s. .

You’re not far from all the southern beaches, including the turtle "feeding station"; if you like a beach and hear it has good snorkeling, jump in with your gear. But be sure to first ask (not a tourist) about rocks, and the currents that day. Stay close in--always. The location is also near the resorts at Wailea to take a peek, feel like an ant, and flee. You’re not far the awe-inspiring Maui Ocean Center on the coast at Ma'alaea.

The hotel (basic-plus), and its lovely beach, relative seclusion, location and value combine to make a very fulfilling package. I liked it. It fit just right for me.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LittleBiffOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
255 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Mana Kai in September 2003 for my sister´s wedding.

The building was located a walk away from the beach, and the wedding also took place by the ocean.

It was an unforgettable experience, and the wedding couple could not have picked better venue for the most important day of their lives.

We spent a lot of time by the pool and at the beach. The room was very large and had a kitchenette with stunning views! The hotel was also very clean...

Overall, we were very happy with what the Mana Kai had to offer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazpacho16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We've been to Maui 5 or 6 times, and have stayed at the Mana Kai Maui #314 for the last two. I will never stay anywhere else! Unit #314 is beautiful and has a fabulous view! This is the first time we've visited during the winter, and we were able to do whale-watching from our lanai! We took advantage of the kayak and paddle board rentals. What fun that was! Every morning started with a stroll along the beautiful beach and snorkeling right at the condo. We've tried several locations... and the snorkeling off this beach is one of the best! We saw two turtles during our stay and dolphins swimming right off the beach, too! The owners of #314 are so easy to work with. I found this condo through VRBO.com after reading the rave reviews on Trip Advisor. Stay here! You will not regret it!

Room Tip: #314 was away from the noise of the restaurant, but still had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

I stayed at Mana Kai in 2010 and was very impressed with the accommodations. We had a 1 bedroom superior deluxe room. The professional photos on the site were accurate according to the room we stayed in. I travelled with my mother and her friend so I was on the pull out couch in the room, it was decent for a pull out. The master bed was comfy. The condo's have balconies and the view from this side of the building is over the beach. The hotel side views would be over the parking lot, with no balcony. A quick note about the hotel rooms, we did not go in one but we could see that they are very small and we are happy we upgraded to a 1 bdr suite.

Our room was clean, the maid was very friendly. The only issue we had during our stay was we ran out of toilet paper and around 8pm in the evening and there was no one around that had access to any. We had to take some from the bathroom by the pool until we saw the maid the next day.

The restaurant on site is a bit expensive, but they do have a half off appetizer sale in the bar part of the restaurant around 4pm in the afternoon.

Mana Kai is great cause it is located on a beautiful beach, you can wake up and go for a snorkel in the little reef out front, or swim in the sandy area. A rental car would be good if you stay here so you can easily get to other beaches or restaurants on South Kihei Rd. You can easily take the bus, however they do not always come by often.

Room Tip: Go with a 1 bedroom suite (or 2bdr). Hotel rooms are small with no balcony. The suites also have a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewfAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Arrived around noon. Receptionist asked if we were aware that check-in time was 3pm (which we weren't)- she wasn't very friendly or helpful but was happy to hold our bags until 3pm and gave us a discount coupon for the 5 Palms restaurant at the hotel (food was amazing). Hotel is on a lovely long beach so perfect for long walks along the beach towards Wilea and for whale watching in the distance. You probably want a car if you stay here as the hotel is far away from shops and other restaurants so we went to the 5 Palms 2 more times during our stay (the 5 PM Happy Hour with 1/2 price sushi at the bar is very popular). Marie at the excusion desk was fabulous. She got us arranged with a $30 2 for 1 sunset Whale Watching tour which was great (yes, we did see whales!) and also got us set up with a decently priced rental car at Kihei car rental. She also helped us plan out a bus route to get to the Whale Watching before we decided to rent a car. Room was comfortable with mini fridge (could have done with defrosting), and microwave, coffee maker but there is no cutlery or plates. The convenience store in the hotel is very convenient and has lots of variety but is pricey so if you can get to the Foodland, stock up there. Our room wasn't ocean view so it overlooked the parking lot and at 6am and 5:30pm there is a ton of activity and noise from the minor birds that flock to/from/between the trees in the parking lot. It was like something from a sci-fi movie! The room was quite noisy (walls/windows are thin) so you can hear everything from anyone walking by on your floor, and we were consious of not saying/doing anything private!
Oddly they didn't allow the beach chairs to be taken off the grass onto the beach. It didn't really feel like you were staying at a resort, but more staying in an apt. building which is really what is it.
Overall, it was OK but I wouldn't stay there again mostly because of being so far away from everything.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or like privacy take an ocean view room at the end of the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank JennX24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,082 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
22.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Property: Mana Kai Maui
Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-9697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Vacatia, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing