We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Excellence in the best part of Maui!”
Review of Mana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mana Kai Maui
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2011

My favorite place to stay on Maui! If you haven't been here for a few years, take note, they've redone all of the common areas. I stayed here last in 2003 and was amazed by the difference. The Mana Kai is on Keawakapu Beach, and is angled in a way that every room has a killer view. The sunsets here are to die for.

RATES - Yes, it can be a little pricy. We booked thru VRBO.com, which I highly recommend. You can select your room and often negotiate rates! We paid $200/night (total, which included cleaning, tax, etc) which I definitely felt was reasonable. This included parking and wi-fi.

ROOMS - There are "A" rooms and "B" rooms. The B rooms have NO view (they look at the hallway and parking lot) and are really not desirable. The A rooms all have amazing views and every one has a large (and private) deck! These are condos and from what I know, most, if not all have full kitchens. It was really nice to be able to use the fridge for drinks and save some money and cook dinner in a few nights. We cooked breakfast every morning and sat out on the deck enjoying the incredible view. We stayed on the 2nd floor and the view was still unbelievable.

BEACH - In my opinion, South Maui (Kihei, Wailea, Makena) have the best snorkeling AND beaches in all of Maui. And the beach right in front of the Mana Kai is amazing! The snorkeling is also incredible directly in front of the hotel with beautiful coral reefs and tons of fish... we even saw giant sea turtles. Great waves for boogie boarding too. We stayed in Kaanapali for part of this trip and I thought the snorkeling in front of the Mana Kai was far superior to the snorkeling at Black Rock in Kaanapali, which you always hear people raving about.

CONDO GROUNDS - The pool is nice and lounge chairs are always available. The lawn is expansive and chairs are ALSO always available. No need to try and get there early and throw your towel on a chair! The entire place is really clean and security is always around so you'll feel safe leaving your stuff on a chair to jump in the ocean. I also love that Zack's (the general store) is on the main level because we often bought beer and snacks there! Surprisingly, it was really well-priced, too!

DINING - The Five Palms restaurant is located here. The view is unrivaled and yes, the food is expensive. You can cook dinner in your room which has the exact same view, or I recommend hitting the bar at the Five Palms for happy hour from 3pm-7pm! Apps (sushi, spring rolls, edamame) are half off and there are some decent drink specials. Definitely enough to make a meal out of and save a little bit of cash. And if you want to splurge, try the restaurant! We did eat at the Five Palms and although pricy, the food was REALLY good. You really can't beat eating dinner outside in the warm Hawaiian air...

All in all, I highly recommend the Mana Kai! We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I highly recommend unit 204! Book thru VRBO.com and tell her Emily & Sam sent you!
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmilyandSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for Mana Kai Maui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

344 - 350 of 533 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2011

This place has the best location on Maui with the most breathtaking view of the beach! This is our second visit to Mana Kai. This time we rented a condo straight from the owner. Unit 314. We loved the unit although it does need some upgrading-otherwise, it's really nice at the quiet end of the building. This is a great place for families with children and an excellent place to stay if you are avid SUPer's as we are-we rented boards from Naish and went out every morning of our stay...easy access to the ocean with your SUP. But note, you will need to store your SUP on your car so get an SUV and locking tie-downs.

Room Tip: Get a condo at the higher ending numbers as they are at the end opposite the restaurant, Five Palms...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank konaflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Mana Kai Maui for four nights with friends in a two bedroom superior deluxe on the 8th floor. (We spent our first three nights at the Mauian Hotel.) We loved the beautiful and sweeping views of the beach from our unit, the long walkable beach, having a kitchen, the relatively affordable prices, the friendliness of the staff, great customer service, the pleasantness of the grounds (found shady spots to read with full view of the ocean) and the ease of renting paddle boards on site. We stayed there in September and while the swimming pool was closed we loved swimming in the ocean every day. (It seems the Mana Kai closes its pool for a week each September for maintenance -- a fact that they announced on their web site. We, however, had made our reservations before this was known and the staff gave us an extra discount as we had been told the pool would be available). This is not a fancy resort but the units with ocean views are fantastic for enjoying the scenery and the location is superb. Also enjoyed great sunsets most evenings.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean Side units (the hotel rooms by themselves do not offer the good views)
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rshoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

The location is great the staff was fantastic, the rooms, the beach, all great but the sunset's are jaw dropping beautiful. I Highly Recommend The Mana Kai Maui for a unbelieveable vaction.

Room Tip: all rooms have a fantastic ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wailea78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The location of the hotel is great...it's right on the beach.

But here's some things to consider when making reservations:

1) Get rooms ending in 01, so you're close to the water (practically right on top of the water). But the farther you go from 01...so 02, 03, etc., the view gets worse (the hotel is located somewhat diagonal to the beach). Also, the 1BR suites have much better views than the singles and have balconies.

2) If you are planning to get a single room, be warned that they are TINY. It turns out it's actually the 2nd bedroom in a 2BR suite. The hotel is a bunch of 2BR condos...if you actually rent the entire 2BR I've heard it's a decent size. If you want a 1BR, you get one side of this suite, with a BR, BA, living area and a kitchen, which is also decent. If you want a "hotel room" you get the 2nd BR in this suite, which is just a tiny bedroom with a bathroom. You share a hallway entrance with the 1BR suite, but from the hallway, there are 2 separate doors that lead either into the "hotel room" or the 1BR suite.

3) The windows have slats that you can't completely close (at least for the "hotel room"), so it can be noisy and you might feel like you don't have privacy because it faces the outside (literally outside) hallway. This is another reason to choose the 01 units...these are the end units and don't have the hallway in front of the window.

4) The condos are individually owned so they're all slightly different...so the first hotel room we got had a queen bed, but the second one had a king and felt cleaner and newer.

5) There is no one at the front desk before 8am and after 8pm.

6) The guy at the front desk (forgot his name) was great. When we wanted to switch rooms (because we had a queen and the view wasn't great and we didn't have much privacy), he was very accommodating and gave us several options to look at and choose from. He said it would only be a $15 cost/night to upgrade to the 01 rooms. Well, on the day we checked out, we had to leave really early in the morning so we couldn't officially check out face-to-face. I called him later that day to explain what happened, and he decided to just waive the upgrade fee! So we got a nicer room with a much nicer view and more privacy, for free!

I would stay here again but would only get an "01" room. And I think I'd shell out some more money for the 1BR suites instead of the single "hotel room."

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with another couple and couldn't have asked for better accommodations. We were able to save some cash by making breakfasts and got a beach view while eating eggs and bacon on the lanai. We had two separate rooms, one of which opened up to create a great living space. It was the perfect marriage of privacy and party. The beach is just downstairs and is very beautiful as well as great for mild snorkeling and paddle boarding. The pool is also nice and cleaned daily. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

4 of us stayed in the 2 bedroom unit, adults, grandparents & kids. Nice amount of space & privacy for extended family. The lanai was excellent, over-looking the beach & pool. Building is designed so all units are on the shady side of the building & protected from the wind meaning you can sit on the lanai even in the middle of the afternoon. Uncrowded amazing sandy beach is steps away, great snorkling right in front of the building. Highly recommend this building couples, families & extended families.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kihei
1.3 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
1.2 mi away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maui Kamaole
Maui Kamaole
#3 of 62 in Kihei
687 reviews
0.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mana Kai Maui

Address: 2960 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Price Range: $195 - $609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mana Kai Maui 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Keawapaku Beach, one of Maui’s most beautiful swimming beaches. The Mana Kai Maui, home of the on site rental management program, manages 48 two bedroom condominiums. The resort offers one and two bedroom beachfront condos with a private lanai that overlooked the southern end of the island and hotel style units. Daily maid service and pool towel exchange is included in the rate. Free parking, free WIFI, no resort fees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mana Kai Maui Kihei
Maui Mana Kai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing