We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miiion Dollar Amazing Views From Island Surf”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kihei
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Island Surf Condominiums
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
LA County
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Miiion Dollar Amazing Views From Island Surf”
Reviewed April 6, 2009

Went to Island Surf Condos in Maui over Christmas and New Years of Dec 08 and Jan 09. It was an awesome trip, loved Kihei! The condo we stayed at was fantastic. The VIEWS were incredible and the condo was perfect in every way. My husband and I stayed on the top floor, corner unit on front of building, with two lanais on each side of the building. The unit itself was awesome, we felt we could just hang out and relax there any time of day....which we did often. Did I mention the view? Wow, we sat for hours just gazing at the beautiful ocean on our lanai, watching sunsets, surfers, canoers and calm waves. We rented a car, but ended up not needing it because everything we wanted to do and see was in walking distance....the beach, shopping, restaurants, etc. The relaxing atmosphere of the condo we stayed in can't be beat, plus it was decorated so nicely with a fully stocked kitchen that we could eat in and make some of our favorite dishes. (I am not sure about back of building, but units on front are great!!!) Easy to book, excellent references. Definitely Recommended! Forget Mexico....got to Island Surf!!!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank travelingbum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    11
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
30
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

My partner and I arrived the day after Christmas and stayed until the New Year. We loved the place. Besides being quiet and comfortable, it is close to so many things. We walked to resturants and neighborhood bars and got a feeling of being a local.

I did appreciate the full kitchen and amenities. We were able to buy food and drink but needed nothing else.

One must do!!!! Get a bottle of wine and be on the verandah at sunset. You don't want to miss even one.

Aloha

  • Liked — Close to everything
  • Disliked — had to leave
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Chicagobois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2009

I stayed at the Island Surf Condos the first week of January 2009. Having not been to Maui before, the Island Surf was a great place to stay as it is centrally located to many activities in the area, it was clean and it was definitely convenient. The unit I stayed on was on the top floor facing the ocean, so I had an amazing view and I was up high enough that I was away from the street which provided a quiet environment....which is important to me.

The ground floor of the condos had great retail including a deli, a surf school and a kayak club. It was great to wake up each day and look out at the beach right across the street and watch the surf and kayak club in the water. Truly a sight to see.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjachetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2008

Aloha Dorli
Thank you for your great condo!
We had such an amazing time in Maui and having your condo made us fell right at home.
Hopefully we’ll be able to return one day!
We were truly able to enjoy ourselves and relax.
Mahalo!

Kasey and Christian, ( Boston , MA )

  • Liked — We felt like we were locals... we werent surrounded by other tourists. It was walking distance to a ton of bars and restaurants
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KLG2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

We stayed here because of the very reasonable price. The condo itself had everything we needed, including chairs to take to the beach. The location was close to the major grocery stores, as well as many restaurants. The building was kept clean by the staff. But I would not stay here again, only because it was too noisy!
The condos are located right on a busy road, with another fairly busy road going off at an angle on one of the sides. We actually got used to the road noise, the only time it really bothered us was at those times when we were trying to watch TV in the evenings.
The worst part of the noise comes later at night, when you're trying to sleep, and comes from the back of the condos, where the bedrooms are. The block is shaped in a relaxed "L" shape, with the crook of the "L" facing a lot of restaurants a couple of blocks away. This configuration acts like an "ear" that catches all the sound.
We found when others had visitors that left, they would stand in the parking lot and talk. Normally that would not be a problem, but sound was amplified because of the "L" shape. Then at 10 pm - 2 am every night, one of the nightclubs/bars/restaurants in the vicinity would start live music. The bass was just loud enough to reverberate through your head and stop you from sleeping. If you plan on partying that late every night, then this place will be ideal for you.
A word of caution. The beach across the way is great for beginning surfers, but somewhere in that bay, and it may be a block or so to the North, there is evidently treated waste water that is expelled out in the bay. Because of this there is more algae in the cove, you can see it and smell it. If you walk a little way along to Charlie Young Cove you won't have the same problem, and that's where the 3 beautiful Kamaole beaches start.
Next time I will be prepared to pay a little more for less noise.

  • Liked — Convenient to grocery stores and restaurants.
  • Disliked — Too noisy!
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Zimby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2008

We are repeat vacation guests at Dorli's beautiful condo on the 6th floor. Without fail, everytime we enter this condo, the view is breathtaking. From panoramic ocean views to walking distance to shopping and restaurants to the high standards of this owner in assuring the comfort of guests, who could ask for more?

Dorli presents a vacation retreat complete with high quality furnishings including a king size bed, fully equipped kitchen and wi-fi availability for those of us who take our laptops along. We have stayed in her condo for several years and have never been disappointed.

We always stay in one of her condo units since we know there will be no unpleasant surprises. I'd highly recommend any of her condos for a pleasant Hawaiian holiday.

Mahalo,
Laurel

  • Liked — Location, high quality furnishings, well equipped.
  • Disliked — None.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ArizonaLaurel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2008

We stayed here in April 2008. We were pleasantly surprised by the spaciousness of this unit [1 BR/1BA – 5th Floor], as well as the great view of the ocean (and whales!) The open great room style of the kitchen/living room was nice, and the added touch of flesh flowers simply elegant. We appreciated the amenities in the kitchen and bath that were available, and the proximity to our favorite Kihei restaurants made this a fantastic rental! And the beach supplies, chairs, towels and snorkel gear, made every day an adventure!

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Mis_Playas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kihei hotels
0.5 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,114 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Hale Pau Hana
The Hale Pau Hana
#1 of 62 in Kihei
274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mana Kai Maui
Mana Kai Maui
#5 of 62 in Kihei
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Maui Oceanfront
2.7 mi away
Kohea Kai Resort Maui, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
1.1 mi away
Aston at the Maui Banyan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Surf Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Surf Condominiums

Property: Island Surf Condominiums
Address: 1993 S Kihei Rd, Kihei, Maui, HI 96753-7834
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kihei
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Kihei
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our retreat in paradise. We invite you to share our getaway in sunny, tropical southern Maui. Our newly-decorated condominiums have been furnished to provide you with every necessity to ensure your comfort. Whether your interests are golfing, snorkeling, kayaking, shopping or just pure escape, our ideally located condos will allow you to immerse yourself in all the beauty and splendor Maui has to offer without traveling long distances by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Island Surf Condominiums Hotel Kihei
Island Surf Condominiums Maui/Kihei

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing