We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveler rating
14
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews serenity suite sunken tub daily breakfast walk in shower beautiful pool each morning lila hosts wailea beaches sunset maui
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 14 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2017

After staying in a few disappointing AirBnB's that contained cockroaches and other large insects, Sojourn Maui was a complete breath of fresh air. All three rooms are upstairs and the home has been newly renovated so it's very clean and presentable.

James and Lila welcomed us warmly and we quickly felt at home. We appreciated all the little touches of detail. The soft linens, the amazing coffee an hour before breakfast every morning, and the local fruits (avocado's, mango's and papaya) from their yard.

We stayed in the Harmony room and found it was very adequate with a comfortable Queen bed and nice view of the ocean. We had a chance to see the other rooms too and they were both lovely. There is tasteful and relevant art work throughout the house, a cozy living room with well stocked library to browse on a rainy day and an amazing back deck with pool overlooking the ocean - great sunsets.

Their breakfast table happens to be a regulation sized ping-pong table. After breakfast one day, James and I struck up an excellent match which was a tonne of fun. We also took James and Lila up a a bunch of restaurant recommendations are were not disappointed. Our favourites were Millhouse and Merriman's.

Overall a fantastic B&B. We stayed 6 nights and don't have any complaints.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jessedavidweeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017

Waking up to the bird song was a favorite part of our stay. There were amazing, diverse tropical birds living in the lush plants surrounding us on the hillside. We stayed in the Serenity Suite which has a wall of windows with a fantastic view of the bay and a really nice private balcony. The large bath includes a walk in shower and a lovely sunken tub.

James and Lila are terrific hosts, providing great ideas for activities and restaurants and locally sourced, delicious breakfasts. Some of the fruits actually came from their own garden. We loved the excellent Sleepy Monk coffee provided right outside our door each morning. We also enjoyed the lanai, pool, and relaxing atmosphere at Sojourn. Sojourn is close to Kihei and Wailea, and yet away from the crowds, making it a great place for those looking for a peaceful get-away. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 0ceanDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017 via mobile

Legend couple Lila and James!!
Great hospitality.
Thanks for the tea during arrival.. breakfast was AMAZING. That was the highlight during our stay.
Room was super clean, smells good, nice pillows & sheet.
Super quiet at night. You dont need aircon at all during day and night time.

Thanks guys, we wont forget u both!

Charlie & Daniel

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank elzyech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017

Lila & James were fantastic hosts. They could not be any nicer or accommodating. Their house is also spotless and lovely. It's much more of a modern property than a quaint/historic house that you sometimes find with B&Bs. The location was also very convenient. There are lots of good restaurants within a 5-10 min drive and the location is away from the Maui tourist madness that is the Lahaina/NW coastal area. If you are looking for a peaceful home base with extremely gracious hosts, this place is for you.

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Stayed with my wife for a couple of nights. The breakfast was the meal of the day. So much efforts were put in the breakfast to make every morning different and individually good. Loved it. The hosts are so wonderful and inspiring. We got so many secret tips for maui. Totally recommend this place.

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dakoe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews