We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food for the buck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe O'Lei Kihei

Cafe O'Lei Kihei
Ranked #19 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good food for the buck!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Never miss a great bargain in Kihei and Cafe O'Lei is the place to check out. Affordable, good food and friendly service. Sometimes a bit crowdy and noisy, but worth waiting and chill out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Beat J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,306
    827
    263
    120
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very good food at a good price. The sushi bar was awesome. Also have an excellent menu of fresh seafood.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rogerkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Maui can be an expensive place to eat out so finding a restaurant with good prices was a bonus. Cafe O'Lei is on the second floor of a strip mall - not all that attention grabbing from the outside but very nicely decorated on the inside. There is enough space between tables that you don't feel crowded. The service was great - friendly and knowledgeable. The bartender made me a lillikoi (passion fruit) martini that was absolutely fabulous. We loved the food. Our son in law is a chef so knows his food and restaurants. He loved the short ribs and was impressed with the way our meals were done. We were all pleased with our dinners. Kona coffee creme brulee for dessert was a great finish to a lovely meal. We would definitely go there again and would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JarsBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sorry, but!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had lunch here on our vacation. It was recommended by the condo owners where we were staying. Nice place but our food was mediocre. I had a Caesar salad with fish and the lettuce was very wilted. Sad, food 101, crisp lettuce! No it was not from the hot fish, granddaughter also had salad and it was wilted lettuce. It would have been so convenient for us had their food been better as we were staying right across the street!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LilGeneral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal yet on Maui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2014

We never would have stopped at this place based on the outside appearance but once reading others reviews we new we had to try it out. This was our best meal yet on Maui! We had crab cakes to start, I had the mango mauihito to drink. Then my husband had the ahi ahi and I had the pork roast. The food was amazing, we couldn't stop talking about it, the service was great. Our server was friendly, prompt and answered all our questions. Overall a great atmosphere and wonderful food. We want to go back and try more on the menu after seeing what went to other tables like the Maui onion soup that came out of the woodburning pizza oven. I say, go!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe O'Lei Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing