We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, but good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe O'Lei Kihei

Cafe O'Lei Kihei
Ranked #17 of 176 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Budapest
Level Contributor
185 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Simple, but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Following the good reviews on TA we had lunch in Café O’Lei – and a good one too. It’s not a fancy restaurant, but the food is good and the service is friendly, albeit a little slow. The Jumbo Tiger Shrimp Salad was fresh, the Crab Cakes tasty, the Ahi Tuna Sandwich good and the Tempura Mahi excellent. The chocolate Brownie Sundae was delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robicsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,287
    819
    260
    118
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good foodi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

The lunch specials was great and dinner was good also. Everyone was friendly and the cafe is near the beach.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jezell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We recently visited Cafe O'Lei in Kihei, and we were not disappointed. Cafe O'Lei actually catered our wedding last year, & since everyone was so pleased with our meal then we figured we should try out the restaurant. The macadamia nut crusted chicken breast was one of the best meals I have had - it came with a starter salad, potatoes & broccoli which was very reasonably priced ($20). Good portion sizes. I also tried some of the short rib & pork that family members ordered, and they were also really good! The short rib was so tender, fell off the bone. The atmosphere was nice in the restaurant. Will definitely recommend to friends/family & go back when we visit Maui again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank k115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best value on the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

No matter what you select from the menu or special be assured it will be good.
The Crab Club is my lunch favorite so I cant vouch for any thing else. But friends and family have always liked what they order too.
For some reason they don't have the lamb shank for dinner any more, Boo Hoo.
Any fish with the lemon caper sauce is going to be divine. The Ceaser salad that comes with the lunch is really good. No need to substitute. In all the years they have been in business in various places island wide, they have remained consistent in good service, food and value. Lunch or dinner you cant go wrong. I suggest reservations for either lunch or dinner. There isn't a view of the ocean at the Kihei location, but when the food is this good it doesn't matter. I suggest when going to the Maui Lani location for dinner you sit inside. The chairs outside don't have anything to abate the noise when scraping on the flagstone lanai. And the acoustics were so bad that my friend and I could barely hear each other due to the noise coming from the other tables.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dinining Kihei”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

This one of 2 or 3 restaurants owned and operated by the same family and they are doing a fantastic job of providing an upscale dining experience. We are locals and have dined there many times with enjoyable results. The food and service are top quality as evidenced by the fact that it is always full but it is fast paced and wait times are minimal. The atmosphere is noisy but in a pleasant, unannoying manner because customers are just enjoying their experience!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Warlord5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe O'Lei Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing