We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Martinis and Fish Special Plate”
Review of Cafe O'Lei Kihei

Cafe O'Lei Kihei
Ranked #17 of 178 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Martinis and Fish Special Plate”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The food and service was fantastic. The meal was perfectly portioned for the great price and the Ono was so good. Highly recommend.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danielle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,600 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,332
    839
    263
    121
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Food ok, service appalling”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We tried this place based on the glowing recommendation of our tour guide from the excellent Aloha Kayak Co.

A staff member came up and said that she would take our drinks order, and then she would send over a waitress to take our food order. She disappeared for a little while and then came back looking flustered and said, "I guess I'll have to be your waitress too."

Okaaay... She then asked us what we wanted to drink, and when we specified non-alcoholic drinks, her face actually fell. This person had a very bad attitude, and we wondered if she was having a bad day, or hated her job.

My daughter had pasta with cream sauce, which was exceedingly mediocre. Her dad had the papaya salad, which wasn't bad.

We decided not to come back, since there are so many better choices in Kihei.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank krispian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great dinner”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is the second time I have had dinner at this great restaurant. We attended with family, 8 of us. The food and service was excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant. Reasonably priced as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank proppup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing and delicious lunch”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch on January 3rd. Onion soup was very good. Crab cake sandwich was fantastic. Caesar salad that accompanied it was a bit dry. Service was friendly and attentive. Overall lunch experience was relaxing and most satisfying for my group and me.

Helpful?
Thank MaxStL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great salad, fish just okay.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Salad and service were great. Tuna was not cut well and sinewy. Special fish of the day - snapper - underwhelming. While more moderately priced, I'd rather spend more for better quality of fish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe O'Lei Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing