We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, reasonable prices, the good lunch specials”
Review of Cafe O'Lei Kihei

Cafe O'Lei Kihei
Ranked #17 of 179 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Teplice, Czech Republic
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice food, reasonable prices, the good lunch specials”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would recommend to go there for a lunch and ask for the special lunch menu. They serve a good fish lunch for about 10 USD. The food was very good for reasonable price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bronekTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,380
    871
    269
    122
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Cafe O'Lei”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

the burgers were huge. A bit pricey and greasy for our tastesl. Too many birds trying to share our meal. Only outside tables. Nice breeze, right across from beach. We missed their breakfast which is their best meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank grammyabcdefbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Meh.”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Our reservation was for 9pm, an we were seated right away. We didn't really get a chance to experience much of the menu, since the kitchens started to shut down at 9:20. Onion soup was good, ceviche was not, the one sushi roll we ordered in time was on par with most sushi experiences.

All in all, nothing special. More disappointed that we were seated and ordered apps before they told us food service was finished for the night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avonesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“So Many Choices, So Little Time...”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

With limited opportunities to try all of the items that look wonderful, this will be your biggest dilemma... Great food, great service (thanks Danielle!), and a wonderfully local atmosphere. This restaurant has a bar, a seafood bar, and a sushi bar. We started with the flatbread special of the evening that is cooked in a brick oven - exceptional. It was almost pizza size and a great value. My wife had the Zarzuella (sp) which is a seafood stew. It was chock full of seafood in a light curry broth. She claims it was very fresh and tasty. She likes her food a little spicy, so she asked and was given crushed red pepper to add. She was in heaven... I had the seafood chowder, fresh, chock full of seafood, in a rich New England style chowder. Excellent. I paired that up with a Caesar salad and I walked out stuffed. All in all a great value and great tasting food. WE WILL BE BACK!

Helpful?
2 Thank SlotF16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from resort food”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Prices are reasonable and the food is great. Both locals and tourists go there. You must try out the sushi bar at night as well.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BK2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cafe O'Lei Kihei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing