We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovin the Ribs!”

Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #22 of 177 Restaurants in Kihei
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Takeout
Vancouver
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovin the Ribs!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We wanted ribs and we got ribs. and Mac N Cheese and baked potato along with a half dozen other choices.

Service was quick and the food was stupendous. So good we went twice during our week stay.

Some tips

* Avoid hight of dinner hour if you don't want to wait
* The Fat Plate is the best value
* Sampler Platter is a Carnivores dream

One Strange Thing

Because this was a barbecue smokehouse kinda joint, my clothes smelled like I had been camping for a week when I left. Not a bit deal as it was the end of the day but they were smokey.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LVToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    243
    97
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible service, didn't even get to the food!”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My family tried to eat here while on vacation in Maui and the service was so horrible that we, unfortunately didn't even get to eat. On two occasions we tried to ask questions about the menu and got rude, sarcastic answers. We ended up walking out and heading next door for dinner. Extremely rude!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CalGal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy service”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We wanted BBQ so we thought we'd give them a try. They were kinda busy, but got a table quickly, but that was it. Took forever to get our order in and the longer for our food, and it BBQ which has been cooking for hour already, so we waited and waited and waited over a half hour for our food to come out Even with the wait, the food was good, but don't be going anywhere fast if you headed in here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank richardgregg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good texas style BBQ in Hawaii.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ had great BBQ and cold beer. The staff was good. the joint was clean and right on main road.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie
Level Contributor
82 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very nice folks.”
Reviewed March 20, 2014

We had been trying to get here for dinner, but kept having other things come up. One night, we stopped in late, and they could not serve us, because they had already closed, but they were nice enough to box up some pulled pork, some beans and a slice of key lime pie. It was very considerate, of them, and the food was fantastic. We will make a point to come back for a regular dinner!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank cyndees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Fat Daddy's Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing