We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maui Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sprecks Plantation House(Spreckelsville)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paia Inn(Paia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hale Ho'omana(Makawao)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveler rating
69
139
217
90
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
139
217
90
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclean hotelan older hotelkahului airportconvenient locationthe aloha spiritroad to hanaconveniencehaleakala
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 591 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2006

After seeing some of the horrible reviews at TripAdvisor I was expecting a horrible stay. It was better than that. First, there is a pool (I swam in it) It's on the scond floor between the restaurant and the street. It closes at 5pm so they can set up the restaurant. Second, the room was clean but worn and spartan. Good AC. Friendly staff. This is NOT a resort but an older business hotel. Since I was there on business and did not spend much time in the room, it was fine. I would go back for business or a very cheap vacation. The hotel sits on two noisy streets so ask for a room facing the inner lawn area (and you will have a view of the harbor) as it turned out I was in one of the handicapped rooms and it had a large shower. I can't comment on what a standard room has in that regard.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank bfson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

We needed a good priced hotel and this is it. You get what you pay for its not an unscale hotel but its near the airport and everything is central. The only problem is there is no pool. I don't know what happend to it. All in all Maui Beach Hotel is just perfect for a low budget stay.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CINNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Raleigh, North Carolina
121
Reviewed December 29, 2005

The only possible thing I can think after reading all these reviews is that this hotel has gone downhill fast since they were written. Even though they were a little old, we felt that there was probably enough truth to the reviews that the Maui Beach Hotel would be at least an "ok" place to stay on our pass through to the Big Island and then again on the way to Oahu. We couldn't have been more wrong. It was so un-ok that we cancelled our second night stay even though it would have been just to sleep and catch an early flight. First of all, the pictures were very misleading. Pool? What pool? If there ever was one, it was gone by the time we stayed there in October! Why would they still show it in their ads? Though the room was clean, there was a party all night long, both in the corridor and in the room next door, and it made for a very difficult night's sleep. Staff was very hesitant to break up the party, and the hotel felt unsafe enough that my husband was hesitant to stick his head out the door to ask them to quiet down. Perhaps it was the appearance of the lobby, with what looked liked drug addicts and bums loitering around that made us uncomfortable. Despite this, when my husband finally gave up on sleep, he went to the lobby to try to use his laptop and he was greeted by staff fighting with each other and screaming at each other behind the front desk. He was told that the wireless access was not for guest use, but that he could use it anyway, and then he was told by someone else ( security maybe? ) that he couldn't. Too bad security wasn't more worried about the shady characters hanging about in the halls and the lobby. Not to worry, though, because by the time our friend went looking for us in the lobby ( husband was back in the room ) the police had arrived on scene. Fantastic! We knew this would not be an upscale hotel, but regardless of the price, still would like to have felt safe and comfortable. Everything about this place, including the neighborhood, felt seedy. We would rather have driven a little farther to get to the airport than to have felt as uncomfortable as we were. We could not get out of there soon enough.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2005

Stayed at the Maui Beach Hotel for 4 nights. Overall it was an average hotel experience. No major frills but it was clean and the location was good. It's a good hotel if you just need to a home base and plan on going around the island during the day.

Positives:
- Clean
- Cheap ($100 per night)
- Close to Kahului Airport (about 5 miles). At first I was concerned that we'd be hearing airplanes all the time but didn't hear one.
- Close to some shopping centers (Safeway, drug store, Costco, fast food restaurants)
- Restaurant/bar in the hotel (though we didn't eat there)
- Convenience store in the hotel
- Free shuttle to the airport
- Enough free parking

Negatives:
- Not really the beach/resort atmosphere.
- One day we found out that there was actually a beach area behind the hotel (guess that's why they call it Maui "Beach" Hotel). One night we had nothing to do and decided to check out the beach. This was around 10pm. We asked the lady at the front desk how we could get to the beach and she directed us to a door that accesses the beach and then to our surprise said something like "It's pitch dark out there. So be careful because the neighbor is not exactly... you know..." We did dared to go out and just found that the beach was a little sandy area right on an industrial lake/harbor. We didn't get jumped and I did feel safe during my entire stay but I just felt that the hotel lady's advice was striking.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank fxdacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Kailua, HI
110
Reviewed February 12, 2005

We paid about $100 per night so the price and location where great for what we wanted but the smell was pretty harsh every time we came in the room. We think it was mold because the ventelation was pretty bad. After we opened the window for a while to get fresh air it was better but not perfect. Room was clean and the hotel services where okay but the smell....

10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews