We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near the airport”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed January 21, 2010

As other reviewers indicate, this is a good stay when you want to be near the airport. It's very easy to find, which is helpful when you are jet-lagged. My rating reflects the "good for the purpose" criteria, not as a place for an extended stay on Maui.

Room 245 has two double beds, new-looking armoire and furniture, free internet access and parking, and good housekeeping. The beds were comfortable enough, and the wall-mounted AC uit did the job. The bedspread looks a little old and faded, as does the carpeting, but from the photos on the website, these are probably due for replacement. Spotless bathroom has a shower only, and pump-style toiletries. There is an older style TV set, but we didn't expect the latest flat screen here.

The service quality is very friendly and helpful.

We didn't try any of the on-site restaurants except for morning coffee from the combination cafe and convenience/gift store. There are other options in the area for breakfast and dinner.

Summary: neat, clean, friendly staff, seemed to have good security, good value, and not a bad place when you need to be near the aiport. However, I assume that you want a better location for beach and sites for an extended stay in Maui.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 549 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed overnight to coach a Pop-Warner football game at Maui War Memorial Stadium. The Maui Beach is about a five minute drive from the Kahului airport and very easy to find. Check-in was ultra quick and I was allowed to check-in an hour early. Parking is not only ample, but free. Upon seeing the room (#131), I was pleasantly surprised. The bathroom had been recently renovated and although the shower (no tub) and toilet are in close quarters, the sink and mirror area is very roomy. The air-conditioner was reliable and kept my room cool. There is a decent sized refrigerator and the cable T.V. had numerous channels. The beds weren't perfect, but I still slept soundly. Even though there were kids throughout the hotel, I couldn't hear any of them.
The bottom line is the Maui Beach is clean, the service friendly, and the price reasonable. Considering the fact that the airport, the Queen Kahumanu Mall, and Maui War Memorial Stadium are all within a 5 minute drive away from the hotel, it's almost a no brainer to choose the Maui Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 0puns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I stayed here with my sister for one night. The reason was that my flight was arriving in Kahului very late and it was one of the closest hotels to the airport offering budget accommodations. Overall, it was as another reviewer stated earlier, "You get what you pay for."

Check-in was quick and efficient. Because I booked through the website, I had prepaid my stay so there was no need for any additional paperwork.

I believe motel would be a more appropriate description, as the decor throughout is extremely spartan. Hotel hallways are on the interiors, but the lighting is harsh overhead fluorescent bulbs. Note that although this is a two story structure, there is no convenient elevator to speak of, so if you have a lot of luggage, you must haul it up a pretty long flight of stairs.

The room itself was basic, but comfortable. Again, motel-like with somewhat soft mattresses, cotton-poly blend sheets, and poly bed covers. The small bathroom also was simple, but recently remodeled. The tiny shower had pumps providing shower gel and combined shampoo and conditioner. Climate control was provided by a wall mounted air conditioner, which made it very difficult to adjust the room temperature (it was either too cold with it on or stuff and warm with it off). The room itself was quiet, but I think that was a factor of very few guests staying at the hotel.

The few from the room looked out over the hotel's interior courtyard and onto the adjacent Kahului Bay. There is no real beach to speak of in terms of white sands and activity access.

Overall it was as I expected: nothing wonderful, but nothing terrible. The hotel itself is very conveniently located to the main business districts of Kahului and Wailuku, so if you do have a late flight, you can stock up on supplies before heading off to further flung destinations. This was particularly convenient because I was headed for a two night stay in Hana and wanted to pick up some goods for my journey.

Also, there are plenty of great local places to eat within a mile of the hotel, places that are not the usual tourist traps like Bubba Gump's or Cheeseburger in Paradise.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

This hotel was a very big dissapointment. The FD was very rude and "PREOCCUPIED" doing nothing. No customer service at all.

The elevator smelt like a dumpster was near by and the rooms were very poor. We asked about a late-check out as our flight was not til late in the evening and with out hesitation the agent said "One-Nights Charge". She didnt even offer to store our bags. I asked about restaurants aound the area and she pointed me to ask the BELLMAN. Very sad, rude, old lady. Becuase of the service we received from the get go upon c/o we just droppped our keys into the "QUICK CHECK-OUT" slot at the FD. Now I know why they provide this service.

Only good things were the free Parking & Internet. I will not recommend this hotel, nor will I return. I highly recommend staying in Kihei or Lahaina.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EzekielStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2009

This hotel would probably be fine if you have a car. You have to ride a bus into Lahaina, which is rather inconvenient. There are two malls witinin walking distance, and several fine restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arkguy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2009

This is an old hotel with very small but clean rooms. It is not fancy, and if you are not picky, it's fine for a night. It was quiet and the beds/linens were fine. I think one of the travel books stated it best...something like "fine for a night, but you probably don't want to spend your vacation here."

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuvTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2009

Front desk was not helpful at all with a minor problem I had with the room. I would not recommend Maui Beach Hotel to anyone. Also the front hung up on me! They SUCK!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Island_boy1_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,073 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#15 of 32 in Lahaina
4,164 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
235 reviews
14.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: $138 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. Hotel pool will be closed for renovations from September 18 through October 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing