We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
Reviewed January 19, 2009

My husband and I stayed 10 nights and found the hotel to be equivalent to most three star hotels we've stayed at. I saw no worn or shabby areas and there were no bad smells or dirty areas. We had almost cancelled reading the negative reviews but found them to be untrue. We used the reastaurant and bar and found all the staff were especially nice and the food excellent. Both the buffets and the bar pupu platters were always good. We didn't care about the pool so it's odd location by the dining room didn't bother us. Our room had a stainless hand held shower an unusual and very nice feature. The only negative was that this hotel doesn't offer complimentary (Or for sale) coffee --a first for us. Judy G. from Wisconsin

  • Liked — The value for the price and the most convenient location on the island
  • Disliked — We had to go to Mc Donalds for coffee at 6 AM
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JudyWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    120
    196
    81
    64
See reviews for
102
217
46
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We didn't enjoy our stay at Maui Beach hotel; first we requested the lobby for a *calm* room. When arriving to the room, it was very noisy due to the road quite close and the poor sound insulation. So we changed for a room at $150. This one was acceptable for the noise. However it was a very simple room you can expect at a very lowest price (~$70) : furniture are very simple and room small. No charm, no envy to extend our stay here.
The only interest is that this hotel is close to the beach and the airport.
I guess this is one hotel among thousands relying on these two weak interests to attract tourists that choose simplicity.

  • Liked — Close to the airport
  • Disliked — No charm, very simple rooms and almost noisy
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JeanMars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2008

~Despite our late arrival, our room was not ready for us.
~When we were eventually given a room, we were somewhat surprised to discover that the bathroom had no door on it. Not only was there no door, but the toilet was fully visible from the outside door to the room. We didn't realize what a inconvenience this would be until I left the room for ice and had to wait until my husband had finished using the bathroom to re-enter the room.
~After one use of the toilet, it backed up and despite our calls to the front desk for maintenance, it remained unusable for the duration of our stay.
~The carpeting in the room was filthy -- sticky to the touch and I was disgusted to find the bottoms of my feet were blackened after walking across the floor just enough to move our suitcases from near the door to a location nearer the bed. Needless to say, I, my husband, and my son wore our shoes for the remainder of our stay.
~Our room was described as having a queen-sized bed. Since our bed at home is queen-sized, we were unpleasantly surprised to discover that my husband was unable to stretch out on the bed without his feet dangling off the end. At 6"1", a standard queen sized bed should be more than adequate in length to support him comfortably while sleeping.
~Our frustrations and criticisms of the room upon check-out were met with a response of "Well, that's your opinion."
~All in all, a thoroughly unpleasant experience. We certainly would not stay there again, nor would we recommend it to anyone else.

  • Disliked — Cleanliness and level of service.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s_sandn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2008

We spent our first night at the Maui Beach Hotel because it was close to the airport (we arrived that day) and it was a good jumping-off spot for the Hana Highway. The staff was friendly enough (actually, most of the staff was REALLY chatty and friendly) and the common areas are open, airy, and quite pleasant. However, our room was small, warn, dark, and sort of unpleasant. (It did have internet access though.) The web site indicates it is/has been remodeled, but they clearly hadn't gotten to our room yet. We paid $117, which was way too much for what we got.

There isn't much in the neighborhood either, but we did find the Manana Garage right there, so there was good food available within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ExplorationVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2008

Arriving in the early evening in Maui, as most planes do, we wanted a place to stay near the airport. We were pleasantly surprised by the Seaside. It was reasonable (for Maui standards in February, $185), it was clean, it was comfortable. Folks at the front desk are a bit stingy with a smile at first, but work them a bit and they loosen up.

By the time you arrive and check in you'll probably be pretty tired, so check out a restaurant called Mañana Garage which is just across the street from the Seaside, serves great blended margaritas and TexMex-inspired food. They were very friendly to us tired travellers.

  • Liked — Location close to Kahalui Airport
  • Disliked — Somewhat dorm room feel to it
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2008

Our group of two adults and two children stayed at the Maui Beach Hotel from Dec. 27-29, 2007. This hotel has a very friendly staff and I heard it's a place where Hawaii residents often stay. It isn't a 5-star hotel but it's clean and comfortable, and we had very good service. We had trouble with our car rental and the bell desk clerk was nice enough to offer to drive us to the airport to get the problem fixed. When we requested extra towels, they arrived within 5 minutes. We were always greeted with smiles and friendly hellos when passing by staff members. We were warned not to swim at the beach that the hotel is on because the cruise ship docks nearby so the water is not clean enough to swim in. They do have a decent sized pool on the 2nd floor, but you need to bring towels from your room. It is very conveniently located 10 minutes from Kahului airport, and is also convenient as a starting point for sightseeing around the island. The rooms are not very big, but we had enough space to plop our two large suitcases without tripping over them. The laundromat downstairs has 3 washers and 3 dryers, and a detergent dispenser - don't forget to bring quarters. My only complaint would be that once after flushing the toilet, the tank didn't fill up so it ran for about 10 minutes before we realized it. Just a jiggle of the handle fixed the problem, so it was a minor detail, but it could've meant a big water loss if we had left the room without noticing it. But that was the only thing that concerned me during our stay. It was a nice place to rest our heads, and we would recommend the Maui Beach Hotel highly.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Dottybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2007

This is not the worst hotel we've ever stayed in, but it had quite a few problems. First of all, it is nowhere near the beach. This was not a problem for us because we'd rented a car, but anyone staying here should realize that a car rental is a must. The hotel is located on a highway in an industrial/retail area. The staff was not helpful when we asked them for suggestions of where to visit, so I will mention here that the charming plantation town of Pa'ai is a 15 minute drive, back past the airport. Just before Pa'ai is the Baldwin State Beach, a lifeguarded swimming beach with exciting (i.e., rough) surf. Hookipa Beach, a famous windsurfing beach, is a bit further down the road. The northern Maui beaches, near the bigger resorts, are accessible to the public. You need to drive about 45 minutes and find on-street parking, but this was also not a problem with a decent map.

As for the hotel itself, when we arrived their key card machine was broken, so we needed to be escorted to our rooms every time we wanted to enter. A day later the machine was fixed. You need a card to access the hotel rooms-- yet the back door to the hotel was continually propped open to the parking lot with an orange traffic cone! Our room was clean enough, but some others in our party had complaints about the cleanliness of linens . The hotel has a pool, but it is only open from 9-5 because, apparently, you need to walk through the restaurant to get to the pool. Because we were gone all day we never saw the restaurant or the pool. There is no coffee machine in the room and the lobby coffee shop/snack bar opens at the peculiar hour of 9 AM, so we drove elsewhere for coffee and breakfast.

If we return to Maui we will take a wide berth around this hotel. True, it is close to the airport, but the island is so small that it does not seem to be a particular advantage to stay close to the airport.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank WhatKindOfDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,027 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#29 of 32 in Lahaina
214 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
3,874 reviews
14.4 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing