We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel.”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Reviewed July 21, 2014

This Maui Beach Hotel is a charming hotel of yesteryear. It is centrally located in Kahului and easy to reach from the airport. Right in Kahului town and easy access to every part of the island.
Across the street is Queen Kaahumanu Shopping Center and located within that complex are restaurants and a grocery store for supplies. Also nearby is a CVS store. And lastly not too far, a Whole Foods grocery for everything organic.
The rooms are priced right for the budget minded. We stayed on the second floor facing the courtyard. As you are about to enter the hallway towards our room. There is a security door that needs your room key to enter. We liked that.
Our room was small, just comfortable enough for one person or two adults like we were. And it was completely refreshed. Very CLEAN! Painted, recarpeted and bathroom redone. Water pressure was low, but that is understandable as Maui is very Eco-minded on water usage and many other issues. Bedding was beautiful on a Queen sized bed. Bed was comfortable. Nice sized tv and room safe with ironing board and iron with hairdryer and small refrigerator that worked great. No coffee maker but that was stated only oceanview rooms got that. It didn't matter to us. Starbucks was a couple of blocks away by car. Or you could walk to the grocery across the street to get some.
So we were very happy with the room.
We did not spend any daylight time in the room. But in the evening we enjoyed the tiny balcony for two by eating our dinner, sharing drinks and enjoying the hotel courtyard views.
The front staff was very accomodating and very nice to us. And they were very helpful with our requests.
Oh yes, the Wifi was great!
There is a buffet on Saturday nights and we think that there is breakfast served every morning. We didn't get to experience those because of our time constraints. I think there was a pool but I am not sure.
All in all you can pay triple the amount and spend time in the Lahaina/Kaanapali area. But if you are budget minded and want a centrally located hotel to points everywhere Maui. The Maui Beach is it! We hope to book another reservation someday.

Room Tip: Oceanviews are best otherwise request a room with a balcony facing the courtyard. We liked the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RamonaP769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 554 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

I've stayed here many times in past 9 years on business. Finally in past year we are no longer required to stay here. We had too many unhappy stays, front desk staff can be rude and cold. We had unclean rooms at times. Also school children stay here for excursions as well as construction workers. Can be noisy. Good place if u r on a tight budget. I would pay more & stay at a nicer place with nicer staff.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pattyhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Our school band went on a trip to Maui and some of the rooms had this awful smell coming through the vents. Finally switched to another room but the damage was done to our clothing in our suitcases. Yikes! Will never stay here again. Some of the reviews previously have mentioned this so the hotel must be old and not cleaning or renovating the rooms/property. Beware if you stay here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chocokiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Close to beach, pool, poolbar, friendly staff, free bikes, free shuttle, close to towncenter, great rooms.
Restaurant on site, open early for breakfast.
First morning perfect info about all excursions possible at Maui.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnekeBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I would describe it as a “very nice motel”. It is close to the airport, right in Kahului. It is directly on the water and you can get to the water, but there is no real beach access from the hotel.
There is a motel-style pool. It is not necessarily a nice pool but it does the trick if you just want to cool off. The room had a mini-fridge. Unfortunately, the air-conditioner was noisy. The room was clean but certainly not recently updated. We stayed there one night in transit and it certainly did the trick! If you are considering your options, I will say that this place seemed nicer than the other ones around it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mep23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We arrived here late at night after a long flight and basically just fell asleep. However, the price seemed a bit much for what we got - a somewhat large room that obviously needed some updating. You can tell it used to be really nice but that they just haven't done any updates. We left at 6AM the next morning and I wouldn't have wanted to stay around much longer. The staff were were very nice however and the airport shuttle was great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank prairiegirl1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for about 7 hours before a late flight home from Maui. It was precisely what we needed to just relax, have a swim and do some shopping.
I found the room to be very clean, and free WIFI. It did have a small fridge which was handy. It is located almost directly across from the big shopping mall and very close to many restaurants and the airport.
The staff was very friendly, although it was not busy when we were there.
The cons are, very small pool, no real restaurant or bar. I believe they serve breakfast and dinner on Sat. nights. Can't comment on breakfast as we checked in later and checked out that evening.
The location although convenient is by no means scenic, faces a major road. The rooms are on the small side and the room we had was window A/C which can be loud.
That being said, for about $100 the value is there, especially if you are doing a short stay, or not spending much time at the hotel. Perfect for the airport layover or late flight, or if you are the type to rise early, eat and take off all day.
Also, I don't believe we paid for parking officially, but nice it is included in the price.
I would recommend it with the above caveats.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room that faces the inside or back of the the hotel. Ours was facing the road, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grimsbygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,084 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
238 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,215 reviews
13.4 mi away
Lahaina Inn
Lahaina Inn
#31 of 32 in Lahaina
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range: $151 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. Hotel pool will be closed for renovations from September 18 through October 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing