We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older but very clean!”
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
GrassValley
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Older but very clean!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

After our flight was cancelled by GO Airlines we were stuck in Maui. Never book a flight on Go Airlines! Never called us to let us know our flight was cancelled and missed our flight home and had to book BIG price last minute airline tickets at the last minute. Anyway we stayed the night at the Maui Beach Hotel. The staff was great! The rooms were very clean and the price was right. Shopping mall across the street with resturant etc. The Buffet was pricely $33.00 for dinner and the food was okay but average. They do have a shuttle to and from the airport and if the driver is not busy he will drive you and pick you up for short distances. In all it was a good experience due to our awful experince with Go Airlines.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PumphreyGrassValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaire. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    121
    201
    83
    66
See reviews for
106
224
47
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room was comfortable and clean, and there is the convenience of a hotel airport shuttle, so you don't need to waste money for an extra day on a rental car. However, don't expect extras. There is no complimentary breakfast or complimentary coffee. When asked about places to eat, we were directed to a nearby mall. Not finding what we wanted, we walked past the Maui Beach Hotel in the other direction. It turns out that the Maui Seaside Hotel is on the other side of the parking lot and has a very nice restaurant connected to it.
Not really where you want to stay if you want to see the real Maui, but definitely worth it if you arrive late or have to catch an early morning flight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaire. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Thank you agai for your commets and we look forward to servicing you again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is the second Aqua hotel I've stayed in. Happily, it's absolutely immaculate. Although it is not new, it is regularly refurbished. Location really requires a car, but then unless you're a resort freak, to enjoy Maui a car is necessary. Extremely limited, average food service, over-priced. The breakfast buffet runs $13. The Saturday dinner buffet also expensive. And that's it. No coffee-maker in the room; the other option is a go-cup of coffee, $1.50 per, no free refills. A number of us guests popped into the nearby Whole Foods market and bought food to keep in the room fridge. Other amenities good. But...all else is fine, service good and staff friendly. Expedia has an excellent lobby concierge desk.

Room Tip: Sorry, no spa or fitness center, but access to a nearby fitness center is offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nanotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfactio is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Thank you,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I thought this was a nice "motel" and very convenient after a long flight. I called the hotel for a ride from airport and returned the next day for my rental car (why rent a car one more day when you don't need it??). I thought all we needed was a quiet, clean, comfy night's sleep for a reasonable price. The day has passed so why waste a day staying at in our case a Kaanapali Beach location timeshare. The next morning you will wake early anyway so up and onward. Not one thing to complain about. Breakfast buffet can be had in the morning. First time I tried this (not going directly to car and timeshare) and it was a good idea I would repeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aloha124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha,

Customer satisfaction is very important for us, and we are pleased to hear about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We hope to see you again very shortly.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Average hotel. Convenient location to everything. Mall right across street - be sure to eat at Ruby's Diner. Restaurant and bar not open during week. Breakfast buffet expensive and should be included in hotel cost expecially with so many other options nearby. Room was clean and view was great (we were on ocean side). Shuttle service and personnel excellent. Will most likely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onenadozn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaire. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

When traveling to Maui to visit family, I told my husband I wanted to stay here. I've been here before growing up for their buffets, never as a guest. My logic is, as long as there is a bed, shower and ac we are fine. I told him if rather spend the $1000 a piece we are saving and spend the money on the experiences around the island. I also wanted to be closer to family (they live in Kula and Pukalani). The staff is friendly and the rooms are a great deal. We upgraded to have a little bit more space in the room. Well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaire. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl Dicenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My rating is based on the fact this is a budget hotel. So, for a budget hotel it was good. Although, I wouldn't call this a hotel but more closer to a motel of sorts, but nicer than a motel. We stayed for two nights and I really wouldn't want to stay for longer than that. It's centrally located in Kahului so the location was good. Our stay was fine but don't expect much more than the very basics as this is a budget oriented hotel. If you keep that in mind you won't be disappointed. The staff were quite nice and the parking was free. They also offer a shuttle to and from the airport which was nice. There is a fridge which was helpful but no coffeemaker. There is a microwave you can use in the laundry room which was handy. And it was kept nice and clean. They actually do have a "beach" it's tiny but it's there. We found the beds to be comfortable and the rooms were clean. The wifi was very slow and sometimes just didn't work. There is internet connection in the rooms. If you wanted to use their computers for internet connection there was a fee for it in the lobby. For toiletries there was liquid soap and shampoo and conditioner (from a dispenser, I think the shampoo was the same as the body wash) No body lotion. There was lots of counter space in the bathroom which we liked. Across the street is the Queen K mall so you can walk there and there are food courts there. Maui Mall is also down the street. It was walking distance, I think we walked for about 15-20 mins and there are restaurants there also. Costco and Kmart were about a 7 mins drive away and the airport a little over 10 mins or so. The AC didn't seem to work too well, our room was either freezing or hot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PoohBearRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We always enjoy hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. It is our hope you will once again choose the Maui Beach Hotel as your lodging host.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,058 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,126 reviews
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
Kaanapali Ocean Inn
#30 of 32 in Lahaina
229 reviews
14.5 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#26 of 32 in Lahaina
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and internet access. On-site amenities include an outdoor pool, fitness room access, and airport shuttle service. Located in the heart of Kahului, Maui Beach Hotel is within short walking distance to Queen Kaahumanu Center with many shopping and dining options. Value and convenience keep guests coming back. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing