We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great budget hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maui Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a great budget hotel. I stayed here for a week and was quite pleased with it. The price was very low, the room was clean, the staff was polite, the breakfast was fair. I stayed in a room that had two double beds. It was kind of small, but I didn't mind seeing as it was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is $12.95, but it is a buffet so it's a good deal if you eat large portions. Maybe not such a great value if you eat small meals as you may be better off going to Whole Foods right down the street for less money. Speaking of right down the street, the hotel is in a great location. It is close to the airport, but not so close that you have planes flying over head all the time. I don't remember hearing any at all. It's close to Whole Foods, Foodland, Queen Ka'ahumanu Mall, and Long's Drugs. It is easy to access all areas of the island from here. Parking at this hotel is free, but the lot can get pretty full in the evenings. There will surely be an open spot, but you might end up at the far end of the lot. The hotel is right on the beach. It's not the prettiest beach on Maui, as you can see the freight harbor that's right down the road, but it's a beach none the less and can still be enjoyable. My room was on the second floor and right next to a busy road which was quite loud until about 11pm Hawai'i time. It was a little annoying at times, but not awful. I still slept fine. My biggest complaint about this hotel is that they do not have wifi in the rooms. Only in the dining room upstairs, the lobby downstairs, and the courtyard outside. There is wired internet access in every room though if that's okay with you. This might be a funny statement to make, but throughout my entire week stay there was not one cockroach in my room. I have traveled to Hawai'i many times and cockroaches are a very common sight on the islands so I was pleasantly surprised to have had no -unwanted guests- in my room. The fitness center in the hotel is sparse. It has two treadmills, and elliptical machine, a bench, and a rack of dumbbells going up to 50 bounds if I remember correctly. I wish more was offered in the fitness center, but it's enough to suffice a traveler.

Room Tip: Rooms on the eastern portion of the hotel are quieter as they are not next to the busy road I mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We always strive to make your stay at our establishment the best possible. We hope to see you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    106
    182
    73
    57
See reviews for
93
192
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is a need of a major upgrade. We booked in here from Priceline because it was the cheapest place we could find and we were only staying the night.

at $119.00 a night plus tax apparently this is a deal in Maui.

anyway the resort is rundown and old so be prepared for what you are getting for your money.

we knew we were getting old so we were not suprised.

it is not like the pictures so do not let that fool you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFEARN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

If this is your vacation I would stay somewhere else. If you just need an overnight before the airport it is fine. It seemed to be a hotel where a lot of young surfer types share a room. I stayed there for 4 nights on a Road Scholar tour of Hawaii. They use this Hotel a lot because of the pricing. You had to sit in your room every night because of the terrible location. The "beach" is really a seaport and we were warned not to go in the water (pollution). It is on a busy highway near a shopping mall and not anywhere near the beautiful attractions of Maui. With so many beautiful hotels and locations in Maui I would definitely consider other locations if I were on vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
182 reviews
182 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel I was originally going to stay at was booked fully for one of the nights I wanted to stay there. I found this hotel as an alternative. The hotel was good for 1 night and the only thing I did was slept there. I checked in late and checked out early.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had the ocean front suite and it was most likely the best room and location in this hotel. It was roomy with lrg bathroom and lots of closet space. The view was looking straight out into the harbor and ocean and mountains beyond. Beds were comfy.
This hotel is not in you typical area you would expect to stay in.The area was safe, but it was not Hawaiian paradise.The hotel is a little expensive and $12 breakfast was defiantly too much. Save your money go down the street and shopat Wholefoods.
The hotel is very close to the airport. It is a nice location for day trips to Hana, Haleakala and the North Shore. There are shopping malls across the street
Wholefood Market is great for stocking up for day trips or stopping for a bite to eat all sorts of prepared meals and goodies. Costco is close and has the the cheapest gas on island very convenient for filling up rental car before returning car.
A little more on the rooms most look to be very basic. The room we stayed in was the ocean front suite. Had we stayed in any of the regular rooms my ratings would have been a bit lower. This hotel is nothing like the big hotels or resorts on the south shore. It is well kept up, but if you want Hawaiian paradise head elsewhere.

Room Tip: The hotel is 2 story with lobby in middle and to wings heading towards the harbor(ocean). Each wing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_N_S123_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are vital for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Maui Beach Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Following a 6 hour flight from Los Angeles we needed to stay near the airport as the condo we had booked was not available until the following day.
The hotel shuttle picked us up at the airport and the driver was helpful and suggested some places we may like to eat including a buffet at the hotel.
The hotel was ok and the staff cordial but I felt expensive for the quality of accommodation,we booked with Hotwire at a discounted rate and I certainly would not have paid the rack rate.
I am sure the buffet provided would have been fine but we did not want a large all you could eat type meal so we just went to another place in the mall.
We needed to leave early so did not bother with breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoff h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This was one f the most affordable places we could find to stay a night closer to Lahaina as most hotels were sold out. The staff upon check in wasn't very friendly and when we wished them a great day they replied with "sure". Lol. The room was small with a view of the busy street. The hotel seems a bit run down but it served its purpose. The cost of the rooms seem a bit high for what you get, but then again it's maui.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bodmodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Maui Beach Hotel. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 stars 920 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,488 reviews
14.6 mi away
Aston at Papakea Resort
Aston at Papakea Resort
#25 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 985 reviews
14.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing