We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Surprised!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maui Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Maui Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book With Us and Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Gig Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Surprised!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a last minute opportunity to go to Maui high season and this hotel was available. At the price I was a little concerned but pleasantly surprised. The location is central, easy access to shopping and restaurants, clean rooms, friendly staff, a win win.
Stay away from the breakfast. Not worth the price and the quality of food poor.
I would go back to the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we are very happy to read your comments. It is our goal to give the best service possible. We look forward to servicing you in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    104
    171
    72
    56
See reviews for
88
186
44
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

My family stayed here for one night. The room was spacious and comfortable for a night's stay. Having flown from Australia this was perfect to rest, walk on the beach and visit the shops/ restaurants across the road and then proceed to the west coast. The staff were friendly and helpful. The only downside was the noisy air conditioner.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PerthBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about us. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments and ratings are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Clean, easy check in/out. Shuttle convenient and reliable. Nothing fancy but perfect for an overnighter near the airport. Mall within walking distance (macys, foodland, ross etc.). Stayed because connecting home. Would definitly stay again in this situation.

Room Tip: Close to elevator for easy exit?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azarbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important for us, and we are happy to read your comments. We also appreciate you for taking the time to write about us. We look forward to seeing you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is pretty close to the Airport. And they had Free Parking!!!! Our hotel room was facing the dumpsters. Wasn't bad because we were on the 2nd floor so you had to stand up to see them. They didn't smell so thats a plus!. When you are sitting on the small beds all you can see is palm trees. The window was small and the rooms were not that clean. AND this was the UPGRADED room. HOWEVER.. If this was a review on the staff, I do have to say they were Really nice and would get a 4 from me.
We didn't stay in the room but to sleep, we were in Hawaii to explore, we weren't there to hang out at the hotel so it was fine. If you are looking to hang out at the hotel, this would NOT be the hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tootsweetmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to fill out our questionnaires. We do appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a colleague for a conference that I was attending on Maui. Unfortunately, this hotel has several issues that need addressing by the management. First, the rooms are small and do not include coffee makers or soaps/lotions. Second, the general appearance of the hotel indicates that some attention to detail, painting, etc., is required. Third, the fitness room is sparse with one treadmill (that does not accelerate beyond 4 mph, despite indicating otherwise), a broken elliptical trainer, a stationary bike, and some weights. The hotel does have a lounge and dining room, but the dining room is only open twice a week. I guess the moral of the story is always check a place out despite a recommendation.

Room Tip: It's probably not possible to get a good room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drpaulh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Customer satisfaction is very important to us, and we sincerely regret your recent experience here. We highly value your matter and appreciate your comments as we discuss options to find better solutions. It is our hope you will once again choose the Maui Beach Hotel as your lodging host, as our mission at the Maui Beach Hotel is to provide excellent service and comfort at reasonable price.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kahului hotels

bc canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We arrived late January 31,2013. The hotel is convenient to the airport, so we decided to stay there overnight and head out to Costco then our condo the next day. Check in was quick and friendly, the room was clean with comfortable beds and free internet.. Yes, it could use updated decor but I care more about comfort and cleanliness. There was a breakfast buffet available in the morning for $13.50 but while it looked ok, we decided to go to IHOP down the street and enjoyed a really good breakfast for about the same price or even slightly cheaper with more variety available. I would suggest this hotel for overnight airport stays but not for the whole vacation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canucknurse66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay here. We appreciate hearing from our customers, as their comments are very important for us to continue improving our accommodations. Customer satisfaction is our number one and we hope to service you once again in the future.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at Maui Beach Hotel for 3 nights. After a horrific night at a hostel for nearly the same price, this place was a godsend at the last minute. We stayed in a clean, bright, fresh, standard, basic room on the 2nd floor overlooking the beautiful courtyard. The room had a comfortable bed, refrigerator, and desk. There was a large closet with a door, and ironing board. A flat screen TV, remote controlled air conditioner, screened sliding patio doors leading to a private balcony with chairs and a table, and screened windows were pleasant surprises. The bathroom had a hairdryer, and soap dispenser. There was a rainfall type shower-head in a stall with a functional door that actually kept the water in the shower, also with orange scented soap and shampoo dispensers. One night, there was some noise from a gathering in the courtyard below our window, so we could not keep the door and windows open, but overall this is a quiet hotel. The ice machine and drink vending machine are in a smaller room with a door that isolates potential noise. The pool is on the second floor and closes at 5 PM. Our room was adjacent to the courtyard in view of the lobby which allowed us to access wifi from the room. You will have to ask at the front desk for the password. We were surprised that our room key cards required renewing before noon every day of our stay, or they wouldn't work. It would have been helpful if the staff had informed us. This was mildly inconvenient when attempting to enter the side door entrance near our room with armfuls of stuff, only to find the door key didn't work, and we had to walk all the way around to the lobby. This is not a luxury resort, but it is clean and comfortable, and a good value on Maui. It's in a very convenient location to the mall, grocery stores, shops, the airport, and a central location for home base to explore the island. We did not go to Hawaii to spend our time in the hotel room, so this place did a fabulous job of meeting our needs for a clean, comfortable, quiet place to sleep. We would stay again if the rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizyx211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheryl D, Front Office Manager at Maui Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
We wold like to thank you for your feedback as it will help us provide better services. The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our management. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to service you once again.

Mahalo,

Cheryl DiCenzo
Front Office Manager

Suzuko Arashiro
GS Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahului
0.2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
3.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,914 reviews
1.5 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 stars 3,392 reviews
14.5 mi away
Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas
13.2 mi away
Lahaina Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Beach Hotel

Property: Maui Beach Hotel
Address: 170 Kaahumanu Ave., Kahului, Maui, HI 96732
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kahului
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kahului
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Maui Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui Beach Hotel offers oceanfront accommodations in the heart of beautiful Kahului, without the oceanfront price. Our clean, comfortable hotel rooms and suites feature soothing tropical decor and free internet access, airport shuttle service, and fitness room access. Come stay in paradise! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Otel, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maui Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Beach Kahului
Hotel Maui Beach
Maui Beach Hotel Kahului

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing