We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun trip, Faith Yanagi Rocks!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maui Downhill

Maui Downhill
Book In Advance
More Info
$147.00*
and up
Maui Downhill Bike Ride
Ranked #1 of 2 Food & Drink in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: We invented Downhill guided biking in 1982. Unlock the rush of gliding down Mount Haleakala Volcano from 6500 feet after seeing the famous Haleakala sunrise at 10,023 feet from the edge of Haleakala's 3,000 foot deep Volcanic crater. See the night stars right next to the World Famous Star Observatories before your biking adventure evens starts. Choose from over 10 different Guided Bike Tours. Ride with us, we invented Downhill.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Stroller parking, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Fun trip, Faith Yanagi Rocks!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Maui Downhill was a great choice for a half day tour. We were picked up at 7:30 am which was convenient. Robb Cherry and Tony were fun tour guides. Beautiful clear day at the top, spectacular views. Thanks for singing the "Faith Yanagi" song twice! It was hilarious and we all loved it. Thanks again. We even got back home in time to go to the beach in the afternoon.
.....The gang from Flagstaff, Arizona

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank FlagstaffKendalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    60
    29
    21
    42
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“So Glad We Booked This Excursion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our whole group consisted of cruise passengers so the pick-up and drop-off was quick and easy at the port and they needed two vans to accommodate all of us. Once we were outfitted with helmets and the bike trailer was hitched up - we were off to the 6500 ft elevation of Mount Haleakala. This is a fairly gentle glide down the switchbacks of the volcano - NOT a race down at breakneck speed so if that's what you are looking for don't bother. There are several stops for photo ops and we stopped at a lavender farm, as well. RC was a lot of fun and it was clear that safety is the #1 priority of the guides and driver. We actually skipped this tour last time we were in Maui because so many people thought is was "dangerous" to be out on the road with the cars but seriously it is so well done that it is not an issue and we had a great time!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TNGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Haleakala summit bike tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

What a great company & fun tour! As part of our first (1st) trip to Maui, we selected the Summit Tour that included sunrise at the summit of Haleakala & biking down to the base (I compared several companies before selecting Maui Downhill).
From the purchase to rectifying a scheduling misunderstanding, Nicole was very helpful & friendly. All staff associated with the tour itself were also very friendly and helpful, from Milton, to Shane & Trevon (sp?).
I definitely recommend Maui Downhill as a tour provider!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KBriscoe71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godfrey, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Maui Downhill Volcano Rides - Guided Bike Adventures”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Maui Downhill provided a really great experience for us on the Guided Bike Tour down the Haleakalā volcano. Our guide RC (Rob Cherry) was fun and informative and made the day very enjoyable. Our driver, Billy, was also pleasant and ready to answer any questions that our group posed.

The day consisted of a visit to the highest point in Maui, the summit of Haleakalā. This is where we experienced a drawback; the lookout was completely socked in - zero visibility due to the weather. Obviously, Maui Downhill cannot be held responsible for the weather but, nevertheless, it was a huge disappointment not to be able to see the sights that we expected to see from that vantage point.

That said, the biking was awesome, if not a little slow for those of us who crave speed. The guide on our biking tour down Waimea Canyon on Kauai mitigated that problem by asking the riders if they liked “speed”. The 4 or 5 of us who raised our hands were allowed to move to the front of the group where we followed the guide in a thrilling downhill in the last 3 or 4 miles of the tour. In my opinion, the grade is similar on both tours – at least on a few 3 to 4 mile stretches. Maybe Maui Downhill will consider it in the future.

With those items noted, I want to again say that we had a wonderful time. Once below the clouds the tour was beautiful, the biking was fun and our crew was really cool. We participated in six activities while we were in the Islands and we highly recommend this tour. Additionally, in comparison with some of our other activities, the Guided Bike Tour down the Haleakalā volcano was a terrific value!!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lincoln2douglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Review of the attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a trip you must make time for. The guides are very informative and funny and provide great information for the time you are with them. Robb Cherry was our guide and did a great job. You will love the opportunity to go to the top of the volcano and ride the bikes back down. have a great time with this event.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Downhill also viewed

 
Haleakala National Park, Maui
 

Been to Maui Downhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing