We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well wort the time. Bring more than an iPhone”
Review of Air Maui

Air Maui
Book In Advance
More Info
$281.25*
and up
Hana and Haleakala Maui Helicopter Tour with Cliffside Landing
More Info
$220.00*
and up
West Maui and Molokai Exclusive 45-Minute Helicopter Tour
More Info
$295.00*
and up
Doors-Off West Maui and Molokai Helicopter Tour
Ranked #1 of 34 Tours in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Air Maui Experience begins long before you board a helicopter. When you first step into our terminal at Kahului Heliport, you know you're among friends. Our welcoming and professional staff greet every passenger and personally assist with check-in. As your flight is prepared, relax in our comfortable terminal or browse through our retail shop, which features genuine Air Maui clothing and souvenirs.Our pilots are experienced professionals with thousands of hours of flight time, and are trained to the high demanding standards of owner Steve Egger. Being the best is just the first step; our pilots must also excel at being your personal guide, entertaining and informing you about Maui's history, geology, flora and fauna as you soar above fantastic landscapes.In aviation, quality and safety are paramount. At Air Maui, the proof is in our record: over 20 years of perfect safety. That's not luck - it's the combined commitment of professional pilots and top-notch aircraft maintenance.
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Great tour and wonderful views. Pilot made it a point for everyone to get a good view of the whales and other sights. Bring a decent camera and not just your cell phone.

Thank MKochek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,247 of 2,422 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Great crew, they were all very friendly and nice, actually interested in hearing about the rest of our and the other guests' vacations. They offered us a free upgrade to switch times, which was awesome. Our pilot Jannette was very very knowledgeable and friendly, a great experience overall.

Thank AP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife, 15 year old daughter and I did this on a whim. I wish we had done it years ago. I sat behind the pilot and did not miss a thing. Dylan, our pilot, was fantastic on his narration. The vistas were superb of Molakai and he added about 15 minutes to our trip to see a fantastic waterfall in west Maui. Can't wait to do it again.. All of Air Maui's staff were awesome. Thanks for topping off a supreme trip. Mahalo!

1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Office staff were very friendly.
Pilot was very good and friendly (Rich)!
Paid $200.00 per person and everything you wanted to see was on the left side for Tour Package #1. Would not pay $200.00 each again to sit on right side.
Was very difficult to see, take any photos or video from the right side as people on the left are also filming.
Fron seats are the best!

3  Thank Gobetrotter532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirMaui_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Air Maui, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Aloha,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the customer service from the office staff and Rich our pilot. We are disappointed to see you did not enjoy your views from where you were seated.
All seating is done by an FAA required weight and balance. And normally the #1 tour returns the same way it came so that the other side can have the same views as the left did.The only reason the pilot would not be able to do that route is if there were some unforeseen weather. If you could please give your name and the day you flew i'd be happy to further research this matter.
We do appreciate all feedback here at Air Maui, and we appreciate your business.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

1. Our Human error- we confused our tip with another trip we booked with outlet adventures, when we were phoned that we missed our flight, Ashley didn't seem to care that we lost 400+ dollars and didn't seem to be sympathetic at all, NEVER called us back to get us on any flight
2. third parties Human error-Outlet adventures told us our 2 yr old son was free, when that turned out not to be the case, again NO ONE tried to give ANY customer service, Then outlet adventures "tried" to get me to pay for my sons seat although we never took the flight....I'm not kidding
Everyone got their money and we had a disappointed 2 yr old, by the way, the only reason why we booked this flight in the first place.


No customer service, poor communication

5  Thank Gigalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirMaui_2013, Guest Relations Manager at Air Maui, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Aloha,
I am sorry that things didn’t work out due to the confusion about your flight. We do call the day before to remind guest and had left you a message reminding you of your flight time. Unfortunately as you mentioned you had confused your trips and therefore missed your flight. Seeing your situation and knowing we all make mistakes s we did extend a space available flight that we normally don’t offer. You explained that you left the next day therefore only had one day available to still fly and unfortunately we didn’t have any open seats the next day. Being that we only seat 6 passengers per flight those seats do fill up quickly.
As for the confusion about your son we truly apologize about that. You had booked through an activity company and most agents and concierge know that we are required to follow the same FAA regulations as the airlines- once a child has their 2nd birthday they must be seated in their own seat. We had your reservation made for 3 seats for this very reason. Why the agent didn’t tell you that is unknown. We have since spoke to the agent who booked you as well as his manager and made sure to explain this policy VERY clear to him so this doesn’t happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Maui also viewed

 

Been to Air Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing