We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Mexican food places in Maui.”

Las Pinatas of Maui
Ranked #14 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
1 review
“One of the best Mexican food places in Maui.”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Food was good. Diner style decor and it is clean. A little trouble when I requested the food to be gluten free (I have Celiac condition). After a little fix the server took care of the plate I ordered. Overall very good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TerryinMaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    39
    26
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cinco De Mayo experience”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were dropping our daughters off to fly home and had some time to kill and since it was Cinco De Mayo we decided to eat Mexican. I have to admit I was a little surprised there were only10 or 12 patrons when we walked in and maybe this should have been a sign to keep searching for dinner. We waited in line to order and after placing our order found a dirty table to eat at and waited for our food to be completed. While waiting we cleaned our table and realized the dining room was very dirty. I attempted to focus on other things and have conversations with my family, but even my children were commenting on how dirty it was. When food was called 12 minutes later we picked it up, returned to our table, and then consumed it. It was average on quality and below average from a value standpoint. I would never return and would not even mention it as an option to anyone who asked.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanagan Valley
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican food”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

A local put us on to this restaurant and we ended up going several times. It is casual, you order at the counter, eat off paper plates with plastic cutlery, but the food is very good quality, good size portions, very tasty and reasonably priced. As long as you are not looking for ambiance you can do very well here. The fish tacos were particularly good; also the fajitas. Everything others ordered looked and smelled very good. It is in "downtown" Kahalui, close to the airport. We went there before boarding our flight home since our airline does not do meals.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragondiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
155 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Food on Maui”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Coming from Southern California, I know good Mexican food and Las Pinatas is the real thing. The food is excellent and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeF592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wailuku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best mexican food places on the island”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I come from California, where Mexican food is plentiful and really good. This is one of the best I have come across in my 10 years on Maui. I really enjoy their Loco Loco Moco - it's their take on a local favorite. They put a chorizo patty on top of a bed of spanish rice and then top it with a fried egg and some red enchilada sauce - very amazing. But, be prepared to be in a major food coma after that. The rest of the menu is just as good. Their burritos are a great value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank HAHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Pinatas of Maui also viewed

 

Been to Las Pinatas of Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing