We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner buffet”
Review of Hideaway Cary & Eddie's - CLOSED

Hideaway Cary & Eddie's
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Mission, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great dinner buffet”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great selection of salad and hot food for dinner buffet. The ambiance is amazing. It is by the Kahului harbor. You can enjoy the view of people canoeing from your seat. Great breeze fom the water while having dinner. A bit outdated but service is excellent from the staff. A great dinner

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PalanggaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    36
    16
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Another of my favorites in Maui was the Hideaway. The variety of food and drink were excellent and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. The food was excellent and they have a daily buffet which is wonderful! Nice price and friendly atmosphere. I will certainnly stop again on my next visit!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were staying at the dreadful Maui Beach Hotel along the road. We asked the concierge where any good local restaurants were to be found. She told us a few, but not about the Hideaway. We found it ourselves on a beach walk.
What a find it was. It saved us from bailing from Kahului, staying in a place which didn't even have a kettle. We could pop along the road for breakfast, lunch or dinner ( Sounds like that is all we did but no we went to Lahaina and other places on the Western side)
The food is great, reasonably priced and served by friendly helpful staff.
The Margaritas are very good. They enhance the view and the sunset looking out over the bay.
Cary is a great hostess.
Try the stuffed jalapeños, served with salsa. I would go back just for them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Found by accident”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

On our way to the airport in Maui, We were looking for a restaurant recommended by a friend. Found it but it was closed.
Looked up restaurants on my cell phone and found Cary and Eddie's Hideaway. We had a great late lunch. the view was beautiful and the service was great. One of the owners (Cary?) was extremely pleasant and helpful. the food was very good and the lunch portion was ample. If we ever get back to Maui we will be sure to visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Odd location”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had lunch here after reading about it on "Maui Revealed". Easy to miss this place - tucked in right before the big dock yard. The atmosphere is sad and depressing. Dirty things everywhere: carpets, walls, dishes, windows, too many little bugs in the air and so on. However the food is basic and reasonably priced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank VOgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hideaway Cary & Eddie's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing