We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Remains a keeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Remains a keeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

(Post trip review from 2011) Da Kitchen remains a mainstay eatery whenever we are in Maui. Works in either as an late arrival meal from our flight from the mainland or a last meal prior to heading home. Wish I had the time to taste every item on their menu but the ones I have had (Kalbi ribs, Pork cutlets, Fish sandwiches, Loco moco....) did not disappoint. Local staff are friendly and accommodating. Just know it gets busy no matter what time and usually a wait but absolutely worth the wait. Wished they would open another branch closer to Lahaina so we can enjoy their meals more often. Mahalo!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    800
    386
    82
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
150 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy! Always go to this location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We went here twice during our stay in Maui. We have eaten here many times over the years and loved the food! We went here in April and had Kali ribs, Saimin soup. So good!
In May we drove back before our VIP Cash and Carry and Costco run and had a great lunch! We got the Fisherman Plate to split between us ($26.00) ! We had 4 fish pieces just huge! some prawns, and shrimp and really great French fries. We ordered another side dish of them for $2.50. We had no room for their delish....desserts! This place is my favorite place! There is quite a wait time up to 20 minutes so come early!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Discover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahlequah, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place for hungry travels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

We stopped here after we arrived at the airport. We were starving due to the time change and wanted something quick. My husband got the fish basket. It was huge!! We definetly should have split it. Everything in the basket was delicious. The Mahi cakes were okay--a little dry. The fried noodles were good too.

Helpful?
1 Thank cbc669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam
Level Contributor
284 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great Food. Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Heading to kahalui from napili for some chores I visited trip advisor looking for a dinner idea in the city. Found da Kitchen. Read the reviews and visited. We were quickly seated ( which I found out later was a bonus with usual crowds waiting). The menu is vast. The place was packed with locals and not hard to spot the few tourists that heard about the place. Beverages arrived promptly. We shared the sea basket 4 pieces of Mahi Mahi. Shrimp onion rings. French fries. It was monstrous. All the tables around us were surrounded with huge portions. A local gem great spot

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“local place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

If you are looking to eat where the locals eat, you have found it!!! Located in a strip mall, there is no scenery or view. We had a group of 12 and were not able to sit together because all the tables were full (this was a week day!). The food had generous portions and reasonably priced. I took home (back to condo) half of my sandwich.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan9101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing