We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals in town!”
Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
203 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“One of the best meals in town!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stopped in here for a take-out lunch after several recommendations from locals.

I'll start off with saying it's packed/busy because it's really good. Key is to order take-out as you only wait about 10 minutes.

Our meals filled huge styrofoam containers and was one of the best meals on our trip. You get huge bang for the buck here, so come hungry.

Worth at least one stop here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElementTent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    829
    401
    83
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
195 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Good food, quick service”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We were late getting to the airport for our flight and thought we didn't have time for Da Kitchen. We scored a table fast and they were super fast on the service, even as we ordered specials. The grilled mahi was amazing, my wife enjoyed it. I had a special with Korean fried chicken, fried mahi, and teriyaki beef. They were all amazing, but the Korean chicken was my favorite. The beef was very tender and moist. The grilled mahi was $17 and was the most expensive thing we ordered.

I really liked that most in the place were locals.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bez71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Local Gem near the airport”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a 4 hour layover in Maui, so I dragged the fam out to explore a little bit & kill time. The old guy at the cab stand recommended this place. Five minutes later we were there. It had just opened and we were the first ones in. Within minutes, the place was full and there were people waiting outside. And for good reason. The food is down home Hawaiian goodness. The menu is varied, with something for everyone, and includes many local specialties. Everything was great, from apps to desert; portions were large, and service fast and friendly. We were some of the only tourists in there. Can't wait to go back and try the Moco.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tamarindo07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yes Go”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We followed the advice on TripAdvisor and stopped for lunch the other day. Huge portions, great service, great atmosphere and very busy. All good signs. We ordered the Hawaiian plate lunch and a kimchee crab cake pupu. The crab cake was OK. The Hawaiian plate was great. A nice sampling of several local dishes. Try it, you need to experience these foods.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarJanEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
276 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Mass Quantities of Food”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Had seen this place on one of the Food shows on TV so we made a note that we had to try during our next Maui visit. We hit it on the tail end of the busy lunch hour - and it was busy. We didn't wait long which was great. We tried the Spam Musabi for grins - was fine, actually not a strong spam flavor. For our main dishes we all ordered something different including the traditional plate lunch. It was all good. Clearly the locals frequent this place so you know that it is dependable and affordable.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ljtraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing