We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Hawaii right near the airport”
Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Carmichael, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of Hawaii right near the airport”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Two words... Big. Portions. My wife and I shared a Hawaiian platter. It included lomi salmon, laulau, kahlua pig, chicken long rice and potato/macaroni salad. We both ate as much as we could and we didn't come very close to finishing it. The laulau was my favorite dish. Server staff was friendly and the room clean and orderly. We would eat there again but I would definitely order a smaller meal.

It's a simple place in a strip mall but if you've got a big appetite it's worth checking out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    842
    406
    84
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haiku, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Island Food”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stop on your way to and from the airport. Da Kitchen is much better than those plate lunch places that are well advertised. The portions are huge and a great value for your money. The Kalua Pork plate is humungous and oh soooo yummy. The teriyaki chicken plate comes with 4 pieces of all natural, hormone free chicken, 2 large scoops of rice & a scoop of mac/potato salad. Not everything on the menu is great but overall the food is delicious. The service is great and food comes out pretty fast for always being packed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SpiritWildflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Da Kitchen -Da Big Plate”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Da Kitchen , great place for local flavor . Value for money , will walk away full . Plate lunch , bento Box , and Mocos ( meat , 2 eggs , gravy and mac salad ) .Be sure to check out the specials board , service a bit hurried , aways crowded , wait time .Huge portions -fairly priced .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It's all about the moco!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Possibly the best tasty-for-value restaurant in North America! Great service. Moco's are a must - You haven't really had the Da Kitchen experience unless you've had a moco. Special mention to the Katsu Moco.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanbeemerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Rental car agent insisted we try this local favorite. It was packed and the menu was lengthy. Thumbs up on the fast & friendly service. Food was average at best. Don't order shumai or Korean chicken or saimin. Not impressed. Go Zippy's instead.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwbwbwbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing