We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deep Fried Spam Masubi!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
Ranked #3 of 147 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay Area
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Deep Fried Spam Masubi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I love masubi and I think it's pretty genius to deep fry it.. and it's delicious! This was the best first stop coming off of the plane. We had the deep fried masubi and 2 different kinds of loco moco. Who knew the loco moco would be the size of your head. It was good but there was no way we were able to finish it. We ended up making it into fried rice later that week and it was still very good!

The wait was surprisingly short, service was good and the food came out so fast. That was perfect for hungry travelers who just want to eat good food and start exploring the island.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nricci4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    378
    77
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Level Contributor
767 reviews
505 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Wish I could eat here every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

We came here after reading other TripAdvisor reviews and sooooo glad we did! The staff here are all beautiful young women who are incredibly helpful and hard working. We were greeted immediately and they took my cell number to text us when our table was ready. Even though the place was packed (we came on a Saturday around 1 pm), we got our table within 10 minutes. Hubby ordered the Loco Moco and I had Chow Fun. Both entrees were big enough to feed 2-3 people. The wait staff all work as a team so it was like we had many waitresses. The food came out quickly. These gals know what they're doing. I would love to return an try another menu item or two.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
“Tasty local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We visited this restaurant after seeing its great reviews. After a short wait, a text to our cell phone let us know our table was ready. The servers were awesome - our order was taken soon after we were seated and in no time our food was delivered. Throughout our meal the servers we very attentive to clearing plates, reflilling drinks and bringing take out boxes. We shared the fried spam musubi appetizer which was very tasty in a crunchy deep fried crust. Our plate lunches were huge - enough for a second meal for each of us. My chicken teriyaki included 4 large chicken thighs and the option of a green salad with papaya seed dressing was very refreshing. My DH had a combo plate with pork, chicken and spam which was also very good. Plan to share a meal or take home leftovers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatdessert1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makawao
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“As local as possible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a local restaurant if you want to try local foods this is the place to eat from fried rice to poi,spam musubi to lau lau the experience in it self is exciting just eating a very freindly atmosphere and you get alot of food for the price locals go there as well as tourist its just so much fun and kid friendly too!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge servings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

This place was recommend by the rental car people. We found ourselves nearby one evening and decided to give it a try. It is a small local joint for sure. Full of locals and us. Wide variety of hawaiian specialties and a lot of things we didn't know what they were. We picked a selection based on the description. We had lumpia, very tasty. Then a chicken katsu was ordered. When it came it was the biggest serving on a plate I have ever seen. The chicken cutlet was crispy and served with tons of rice with a brown onion and mushroom gravy. Very good just doesn't describe it enough. We ate all we could hold, brought the rest home and ate twice more off the leftovers. I just wish I had more of the wonderful gravy to go over my leftovers. Reasonable prices for the large servings. A great change from the tourist places.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Topcopmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing