We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and fast!”
Review of Da Kitchen Kahului

Da Kitchen Kahului
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $25
Cuisines: Asian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and fast!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I just went twice to the Da Kitchen last week and it was great. I tried the mahi mahi tempura and it was awesome, and I tried some of the food from others from my table and theirs was great too.one was a bit too greasy for me, but some of their dishes are, as they are battered and deep fried, but they also have 'healthier' things too, like i had a teriyaki salmon stir-fry which was awesome, and it still was when i had my left overs the next day. They say they have big portions sizes and they mean it! I could of shared both my meals with some one, but if you have a big appetite then you will love it.
Great atmosphere, fast service, food comes super quick and its a great price as well. Its a good mix of options on the menu too. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    831
    402
    83
    35
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting menu and tasty!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Was in the area and happened to stop in its parking lot. Also saw that it had relatively high ratings on Tripadvisor. Can see why. Locals seem to frequent. Menu has "Hawaiian" and more all over it, giving different taste buds great variety. E.g. Spam musubi, bento boxes, polynesian plates, ramen, burgers. It's casual dine so prices are reasonable. Didn't really know what it would be like when I ordered it, but the fried opakapaka with mashed potatoes was really good! Can be lineups but it seems they take reservations and also uses an iPad app system to text you to let you know your table is next. (So it the line up is really long, you can always take a detour to nearby Costco!)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BusTraveler0213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Da'kine GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Da name says it all.... some awesome local grub from a greal little place. The prices are good, the service is good, the food is incredible!!! You want LOCAL Cuisine???.... goto Da'Kitchen for your LOCAL grub!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchikan, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Big portions, be hungry. We had the Hawaiian plate, if you don't have a big appetite I'd share that one between two people.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Butch O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
241 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Excellent local food, huge portions, good service!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We Yelped the area near the airport and came upon Da Kitchen Cafe in Kahului. It is very near the airport, so you should try it after landing in Maui. This place is always busy and they don't take reservations, so be prepared to wait. They use good technology there, so when you sign in they will text you when your table is ready. There is a couple of benches out front, but it is easier to maybe sit in your car in the parking lot to wait!

First, the restaurant is in a small strip mall and not quite obvious to find. Once you get in, the service is a bit odd and a couple of reviewers mention it. You actually don't have a single server taking care of you. Every server/staff person there is walking around and will visit your table at one point during the meal - or so it seems. It is nice because you get the feeling you are always getting the service you need. The place is a bit run down, but is clean.

The iced tea is quite good - mango tea if I remember correctly. It is not sweetened, so you can sweeten to taste.

We had the fried spam musabi as a starter - you get two fried spam rolls (like sushi) in each order. One roll is good for a person, decently sized. They are really good! I am sure the health value is decidedly not, but you're on vacation right? It is highly recommended.

For dinner, we had the loco moco, beef tenderloin sandwich, Hawaiian luau plate, and the chicken katsu. The only disappointing thing was the beef tenderloin sandwich (my meal), but it wasn't because it was awful or anything, just ordinary teriyaki flavored beef, which was pretty good overall. The main thing was that it was disappointing compared to the other meals.

The luau plate was a good sized meal, with pulled pork, and another pork dish on the plate. The pork was very tender and tasty.

The loco moco was a very large meal, with a beef patty covered in a gravy and a couple of eggs over rice. Really excellent loco moco, a local dish you should try.

Finally, the chicken katsu was very good too. It is a panko crusted chicken dish served over rice. It has a really nice teriyaki sauce, and also a nicely sized portion.

The total cost of the meal was $80 for a family of four with the 2 appetizers. It's a little expensive, but on Hawaii (Maui), it is very normal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ioj27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Da Kitchen Kahului also viewed

 

Been to Da Kitchen Kahului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing