We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Broadly Superior”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oritsu Ramen

Oritsu Ramen
Ranked #95 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Soups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maui
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Broadly Superior”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Most of the better noodle shops we've found in Hawaii are on Oahu. This happy exception is located a stone's throw from the cruise ship dock in Kahului Maui. First, let's talk about the stock. Two are offered. Our favorite is the Tam Tam which is a pork broth created by simmering meat and bones for long hours and near total skimming off of fat. Combined with a splash of chili oil for spice and you've got great flavor in a bowl. The other is Shoyu where housemade chicken broth is flavored with soy sauce to create a rich dashe. Add an ample serving of fresh ramen noodles, your choice of meat and vegetables and you're off to the races. We particularly like the Japanese style char sui and tonkatsu along with their take on seafood ramen. Plate versions are also offered along with ala carte servings of the star attractions for really hungry diners.

KulaBob

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KulaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    12
    11
    0
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawai'i
Level Contributor
331 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Getting better with time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

1.20.13
The place is finally open! Taking the place of the former Maui Mixed Plate (which I'll miss for their chicken katsu, kalbi ribs, BBQ chicken and mac salad,) they're the same owners/family. We got greeted and seated within 5 minutes at 12 noon on a Sunday, which surprised me.

Atmosphere:
Contemporary Asian decor. Table seating and hopefully in the near future, counter seating. Menus are homemade, printed on the home desktop and bound with Office Max plastic covers & binder spine sliders. There's an odd gadget on each table which holds the soup spoons (unprotected from the elements,) chopsticks and dipping bowls.

Food:
Char siu shoyu ramen - Broth was dark and truly shoyu-based (unlike Ramen Ya's lighter miso-colored shoyu) and a tad too salty but definitely not inedible. If you're not into salt, DON'T get the shoyu ramens. Topped with fresh spinach and 3 chunky slices of succulent char siu. Noodles were cooked perfectly and there was A LOT of them. I was super full! Definitely would get this dish again.

Service:
They've been open for only 5 days as of this review, so naturally they're working out the kinks. We were checked on twice throughout our meal. Our waters weren't replenished. But they are obviously not coordinated as the wait staff, owner/cashier and trainer are all bussing, delivering food, playing host and cashier. There needs to be assignments done and stuck to, then things would flow smoother. There was also an issue with their computer/printer so only cash was accepted as payment (for now?) When it came time to pay the bill is what took the longest of our experience. The guy who cashed me out wasn't even our server but was so gracious and apologetic for the wait and confusion. I told him "No worries!!" I know how it is to open up a place, so please people, give them some time!

Overall:
I'm glad Maui has another option for the ramen fan. I'd definitely go back again and try the odd-colored tan tan ramen, which is my fave at Goma Tei in Honolulu.

************************************************************************************************************************
Update 5.11.133.5 stars.
I normally wouldn't update a review so soon but I felt that this place deserves it with the amount of negative reviews. This is only my second visit here and definitely won't be my last. This was my other half's first try and it was very positive!

Arrived at 8:15pm on a Thursday night and was seated immediately. They were pretty slow. Ordered within 5 minutes and both ramen dishes were on our table in another 5 minutes, piping hot.

Food:
Char siu tan tan ramen - Despite not being traditional in color and taste, I liked it. Noodles were cooked perfect. The broth is similar in color to Campbell's chicken noodle soup, and the flavor is a medium-salty broth. It isn't rich so it doesn't fill you up like many tan tan broths do. Dish is topped with 3 huge pieces of char siu and fresh spinach. The portion is very generous.

Gyoza - 6 pieces pan-grilled. Not oily and good flavor. The gyoza sauce they use for dipping is too vinegary, but I just used the shoyu in place of it.

Service:
Way better than last time. We were checked on twice and waters refilled.

Overall:
Nice alternative to Ramen Ya, especially with the different styles of ramen available which Ramen Ya doesn't offer. We were able to pay with a credit card this time as the computer kinks were worked out.

Wishlist:
More veggie toppings would be awesome, like bean sprouts!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Hmm guess it is different strokes for different folks. On our last day we wandered around the Maui Mall. First we went into a sushi place that had a conveyor belt. After observing the revolving sushi, we said our goodbyes as it did not look fresh to us. Next door was this little ramen restaurant. We saw there were a lot of people in there so thought we would check it out. My only experience of ramen was thru the packaged ichiban noodles and watching Britainy Murphy in Ramen Girl.
It was full of local people, which I took to be a good sign. We ordered the shoyu and tan tan dish after the waitress explained what this meant. My husband enjoys spicy, so he had shoyu. These great big huge bowls came to the table loaded with flavour. We left full and satisfied, and found the owner and staff to be very friendly and instructive.
I will bow to the wisdom of the "experts" as to how well this little place compares to others in the ramen universe. We, however, enjoyed our quick meal very much.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CanadaBeecharmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Food wad awfull”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Seriously eat at mcdonalds over this place. Wow bad. Ate the vege ramen and friend had the pork. We used the whole botte of shoyu and a lot of cgili paste and there still wasnt much taste. What the heck how do you ruin ramen?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank meownit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst experience of the trip!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here this evening and it was absolutely horrible. Food wasn't edible. And the service was even worse. We waited to have our order taken, waited for our food. Two people on our party didn't even get their food. The waitstaff was unattentive and rude. Avoid this place!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Weathercon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oritsu Ramen also viewed

 

Been to Oritsu Ramen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing