We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging, yet fair”

The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course
Attraction details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Challenging, yet fair”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I read a few reviews for The Dunes at Maui Lani, some good and some bad, before deciding to part ways with a few of my hard earned dollars. For those that wrote a bad review, get a life.... This is not a resort course so if you want a GPS for your cart, I suggest you download one of the many golf GPS apps ( swing by swing golf is a great free app) for your smart phone and that problem will be solved. For those expecting to get a dog and a beer at the turn, good luck... They are a links style course, so if you had any knowledge of golf, you would know that a links style course goes out at 1 and comes back at 18, henceforth no dog and a beer at the turn since there isn't one. Plan accordingly. As for the price of the beer and food items on the cart, they are right on track with all the other Maui courses.

As for the course itself, I found the staff to be exceptional. Right on par with Kapalua and Wailea, if not better. The starter pair me up with a group of guys named Josh, D, and Ryan. All locals and a great group of guys to play with. I found the course to be in excellent shape, all the tee boxes where perfect, the fairways are cut tight, but most links style courses are cut this way, yet they were still very playable. The elevation changes can be a challenge, especially on number 10. The many bunkers require a well placed tee shot and the bunkers beyond that require a well placed approach. There are many blind shots, but a little scouting while waiting for your playing partners to hit can help. The greens are large and receptive and some are tricked out with some tiering, ridges, saddles and false fronts. The greens were slow on the day I played, but faster isn't always better either. If you play from the appropriate set of tees, one should have a very enjoyable round.

All in all, I found The Dunes at Maui Lani to be one of the best courses I played, both in price and conditioning. It is definitely, hands down, the best value for Maui Golf and a must play for anyone looking to play a quality course without breaking the bank.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelinggolfer757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    11
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Golf at The Dunes”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Got a great deal through Golfnow.com The staff is courteous and the golf course is well maintained. The rental clubs are quality Nike equipment. The only thing missing was GPS on the power carts. The course is designed and maintained as a links style course so beware there are plenty of bunkers and the fairways are cut very short.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Waste of Time and Money!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a disappointment... This course is incredibly overpriced at $112 per round and even at the $79 special rate in the afternoon. Poor design, poor condition, poor amenities, (no gps, no refreshments, no cleaners or ice chests on the carts) and, of course, S-L-O-W with no management on the course whatsoever. Greens are hacked... T boxes are nothing but mud, fairways are brown with three different grasses trying to grow to no avail. We never once saw a greenskeeper the entire day. I have played just about all of the courses on the island and this one is easily the worst. If you are looking for a course in the same area, try Kahili, King K, or Elleair as they are all much better than this one and two of them are far less costly. I will never play here again and am peeved about the false positive reviews on this site that are obviously manufactured and dishonest. Any true golfer would rate this course very low. Don't waste your very valuable and limited Maui time on this one!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ambyclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great golf - good value”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nicest course and best value of the four courses we played during our recent vacation on Maui. Pretty and quiet, interesting course with good variety.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You shouldn't have to deal with Frustration on a Hawaii vacation”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

What a waste. We played three other golf courses in Maui. This was our last for the week. Wish we had never played. No yardage book or GPS to help you determine where to hit. Too many blind tee shots. Can't take beer or drinks onto the course from bar. We expected more for the price. It was the most expensive of the four courses we played and we would have rather played any of the other three than this Disney land course. Enjoy Maui.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 505Golfdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to The Dunes at Maui Lani Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing