We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No restrooms”

Maui Nui Botanical Gardens
Ranked #18 of 42 things to do in Kahului
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Maui Nui Botanical Gardens is a six acre botanical garden nestled in the heart of Kahului, Maui, Hawai‘i. Unlike other botanical gardens statewide, MNBG is the only botanical garden in the State of Hawai‘i that primarily features collections of Native Hawaiian and Polynesian-introduced plant species within a coastal sand dune environment. The garden showcases Hawaiian plant collections that are specific to the islands of Maui Nui (Maui, Moloka‘i, Lāna‘i, Kaho‘olawe, and Molokini) and many are endangered and/or endemic to the islands.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

After drinking too much water & coffee I needed to use the bathroom, they didn't have a public restroom. Terrible!!!

Thank NoemiCabezas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Nui B, Manager at Maui Nui Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Hi NoemiCabezas,

I'm glad that you were not getting dehydrated on Maui with our warm weather. It's important to drink well while you're in the islands. Luckily, we have public restrooms available to comfort well-hydrated people like yourself. In fact, some people have commented on how our restrooms are some of the nicest outdoor restrooms they've been in on Maui. You see, we have wonderful little gardens tucked away within the women's and men's restrooms which make it a very pleasant experience. Our restrooms can also be enjoyed by those needing special assistance or are handicapped.

So the next time you're on Maui and need a place to use the restroom in Kahului, please come and use ours. They are located near the front entrance of the garden, across from our office. We'll work on getting a restroom sign that makes it more prominent for people to see so they don't miss it the next time they need to pee!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2012

It has been years when it used to be a zoo. Gotta literally pull to the side of the road to park. Not much to see. Botanical gardens worth seeing would be upcountry or Iao Valley. No tour guide necessary. It is rundown and who wants to have a picnic here where you can do that in the park next door! I have nicer plants in my yard!

1  Thank intheraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Nui B, Manager at Maui Nui Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha intheraw,

It's refreshing to see that people who have been in the islands for many years recall when the garden used to be a zoo. For decades, the grounds were home to exotic animals like water buffalos, spider monkeys, goats, etc. The garden actually sprung up because the County caretaker of the zoo, Renee Sylva, had a passion for Native Hawaiian plants and began planting rare and endangered Hawaiian plants near the cages of these foreign animals. In the mid-90's, the zoo was closed down and the Hawaiian plants remained. It's been over 35 years since the zoo and garden first began and you can still see remnants of the zoo with the large green concrete structures that once housed exotic animals. Now, these structures are surrounded by mature Hawaiian plants.

Many residents visit our public garden regularly to enjoy the serene atmosphere surrounded by natives. There are many picnic tables and seating areas available to enjoy a meal with your family and friends. You can't get that kind of atmosphere if you go to just any park on Maui. And yes, our parking is located along Kanaloa Avenue and we have future plans of adding a small parking lot within the garden but for the mean time, we'd rather fill the space with meaningful and important Hawaiian plants rather than a parking lot since there is ample and safe parking available in the area for cars of all sizes.

This is a special place and I hope you come back soon to enjoy it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This place looks like a deserted backyard. It seems there is no one taking care of this place. Rotting fruits were lying on the grounds and on grass all over the place, plants looked sad and dying. Gardens of local hotels and restaurants were in much better shape than this so called botanical garden.

3  Thank Parnassus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Nui B, Manager at Maui Nui Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha LKO420,

In your review, you compared our garden to a deserted backyard and in some sense, you're on the right track. You see, Maui Nui Botanical Gardens is a botanical garden located on an ancient sand dune system. So all of the plants that are growing at the garden, are growing in a very sandy environment. This often gives the feeling that it is a dry place when in fact, the plants featured in the garden, are the type of plants that are well-suited to survive in desert-like environments.

Our garden is also located in an area that receives our breezy tradewinds on a regular basis. Therefore, it is only natural that leaves and fruits will fall throughout the day. Please be assured, that our staff and volunteers take great pride in the appearance of the garden and these natural materials are collected daily and composted.

With a very limited garden staff, we depend on the help of many volunteers to assist us in keeping the garden beautiful. For example, our Weed & Pot Club volunteers spend two hours a week helping to weed, rake, plant and care for the garden and our nursery areas. We may not compare to local hotels and restaurants, but we are a small non-profit organization with limited funding and resources while still serving our community and perpetuating the Hawaiian culture through the preservation of Hawaiian plants. If you'd like to see us improve, please consider financially supporting Maui Nui Botanical Gardens and making a donation toward our cause.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

I had often wondered what the botanical gardens were all about. On our last trip to Maui, my family wanted to see and try some new things. We decided to go to the botanical gardens. This tour was such a delight as we found out about all of the plants that we had seen around the island, and what the ancient Hawaiians used them for. It surely made out hikes more interesting. Our tour guide, Gloria, was amazing with her wealth of knowledge. This tour was free, with a suggested donation. If you are looking for some interesting, inexpensive entertainment, this is well worth your time.

5  Thank PineappleJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui Nui B, Manager at Maui Nui Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha PinappleJoe,

I'm so glad that you got to experience one of the best things that Maui Nui Botanical Gardens has to offer our visitors. Our docent-guided tours are a terrific way to explore the garden while having the luxury of being one-on-one with a trained volunteer docent. Yes, on our docent-guided tour, you can learn about how early Hawaiians used many natural materials to survive in life. From cordage making, to adornments, to crafts and life necessities, the tour will give you an educational glimpse of the traditional life of early Hawaiians. If you'd rather enjoy a tour at your own leisure, we also have self-guided tour nd audio-guided tours available. Just stop by our office to learn more as you enter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2016
Google Translation

Thank 博史 服
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MNBG_150, Manager at Maui Nui Botanical Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maui Nui Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Maui Nui Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing