We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip!”
Review of Geste Shrimp Truck

Geste Shrimp Truck
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Description: This is the only shrimp truck on Maui. Shrimp trucks are very popular on Oahu, so I wanted to compare/rate this business.
Restaurant details
Description: This is the only shrimp truck on Maui. Shrimp trucks are very popular on Oahu, so I wanted to compare/rate this business.
Lutz
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth the trip!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

The truck is located on the east side of Maui by the harbor on the north side. We had read about it and found it by chance when we drove around the north end of Maui. So glad we found it! The Shrimp was wonderful! We will go back for sure.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nclsun421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    47
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“As good as Oahu”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Went there with the family while in Kahului. We got two Hawaiian scampi (garlic shrimp) plates and one hot dog plate for my 5 year old (thought it was a "hot dog" with sides, but was served cut up in garlic like the shrimp plate). All were delicious - would absolutely go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Had the garlic butter shrimp and spicy pineapple shrimp - would highly recommend both! The shrimp is very fresh and of a medium-large size. Everything is cooked fresh, so there is a 10-15 min wait, assuming a shorter line. Definitely one of the better shrimp trucks I've had while in Hawaii. The location is not that scenic, though, and it would've been nice to have a place there to sit while eating (we ended up taking away to eat in the car in a parking lot down the street).

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic garlic shrimp!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Don't be turned off by the location or the truck itself. Unbelievable garlic butter shrimp. It is served with rice and a macaroni salad served in a lovely white styrofoam container. No seating, find a place to park near the shoreline and enjoy. 12 good size shrimps. Fantastic garlic taste swimming in butter.
Wonderful taste!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Broke da mouth shrimp”
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Hands down the best shrimp truck in Hawaii. I've tried many shrimp trucks on the other islands and none come close to Geste shrimp truck. They have four different styles to pick from and a meal come with rice and macaroni salad or just order the Pupu plater that come with a dozen shrimp and none of the extras. The spicy pineapple shrimp is the most popular. It's a must try if you are in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geste Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Geste Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing