We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice

Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Kahului
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Fast Food, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All Shave Ice is Not Created Equal... We specialize in and are passionate about serving the BEST shave ice! Now open for 5 years, we have rapidly become recognized as the top shave ice shop in Maui and one of the top 3 shave ice shops in ALL of Hawaii! We are known for the softest ice (comparable to Waiola's on Oahu), the best tasting flavors (we make 100% of our flavors using premium fruit purees, fresh fruits (when available), extracts, and concentrates from Hawaii and all across the United States), and warm friendly service with true ALOHA spirit! We specialize in our tropical fruit flavors. Our mango, coconut, pineapple, lilikoi (passion fruit), and guava taste like biting into the fresh fruit itself. From the filtered water to the premium gourmet Roselani's Ice Cream to the homemade mochi and azuki add-ons, we have thought through every detail of the shave ice to provide the BEST tasting shave ice possible! Get rid of any preconceived notions of what a shave ice or snow cone is like.....this takes shave ice beyond the highest level imaginable!
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OH MY GOODNESS!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Seriously.....nothing to discuss here....you need to go! I have never had shaved ice, I thought it might have a sickly sweet taste kinda like a freezie..not at all!!!! I had one with a sweet cream and the local flavor of ice cream in the middle, and then you shake this red powder of goodness that is on the ledge by the straws, it's salty and sweet...YUMNESS!

Never have I been so pleasantly surprised:)

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Caraly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    22
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Tell Me If You Want More Syrup"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

You know that's good shave ice when they make sure you have enough sugar with your sugar. The quality of the shave is perfect. After a full day of sunny beach and salty water, Ululani's shave ice is the refreshment of choice. Just remember, the "small" is gigantic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TalkingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houghton, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OMG They Opened a Ululani's on Uwapo Rd in Kihei!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

No Ka O'i-- the very best! Ask for the card and get it punched toward the free shave ice after 10 punches. The girls who work there are very pretty and filled with aloha spirit. Ululani's in Kihei is just across the street from the Kihei Canoe Club. So many flavors!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyFlightInstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mana from Heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Ululani's was recommended to us by our Hotel concierge. It was a bit of a drive from where we were staying but it was well worth the drive to North Kihei. Without a doubt the best shaved ice on the island, quite possibly in all of America.

We got there just before closing and the two female staffers were super friendly and patient. Being our first time there, it took us awhile to choose. They helped us narrow down our choices and showed us the different sizes. In the end we each got our shaved ice and it was the most delectable food we had in our week long stay on Maui.

I highly recommend the Haleakale with a scoop of macademia nut ice cream. Trust me your taste buds will thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Travell8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The finest shaving of Ice on the island, with a multitude of tasty & colorful flavours to choose from”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile


We heard about this place from a number of locals who seem to like it as much as the tourists. The chap that served us was quite friendly, finds out where you're from and then talks sports to you about your local teams as though they were genuinely his favourite too - that alone was impressive given he could talk about the CFL and the NHLs Cagary Flames :o) While we sat there I heard him take the same approach with others. It was that kind of interaction that had his tip jar filled to the brim - nothing like a little hometown sports while away to make the day even better :o)

The shaved ice here was the finest (almost powder like) that we had tasted. We thought we could handle a large but it was almost a touch too much .., tackle the medium and then graduate :o) You're able to mix up to 3 flavours together, but you'll want to choose wisely as some flavours will give you a mouth full of sweet that's overwhelming. If you're not sure consider one of their recommended mixes , I had the coconut, mango and passion fruit ( called something else) and it was outstanding !! If you're in a group and plan to go back again, get a frequent buyer card. Heck even if you're not going back, pick one up and 'pay it forward' to someone else in line :o) Enjoy !!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauder_Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ululani's Hawaiian Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing